We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Cockatoo Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4 Gympie Rd, Tin Can Bay, Queensland 4580, Australia
+61 7 5486 4222
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 07:30 - 15:00
Wed 10:00 - 22:00
Thu - Fri 09:00 - 22:00
Sat 07:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is really pleasing to go to a restaurant that has an original menu. There was a range of interesting looking dishes including, seafood, pasta and Thai style dishes. We chose homemade fishcakes and the special of the day, which was a red Thai fish curry. Both dishes were excellent. The service provided by Hanneke and Dean was great. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChristineZUK
Banksia Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just called in for coffee and found the stop worth it. The café offers a relaxing area and seating is well positioned for outlook.

Helpful?
Thank robertmH1838UF
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wasn't going to write a review on this restaurant but after seeing the owners response to the other members of our party who had, it seems apparent that this restaurant owner does not understand that by saying that we were after a free meal is not only insulting but defamatory and our food was bad. At no stage did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rodney L
Dean B, Owner at The Black Cockatoo Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks, we love our pancake too. The way the bacon fat is cooked into the pancake is just so American. We thought maybe we would post a picture on Trip Advisor for all you fans out there. Thanks for your support. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us called in for breakfast and coffee. Three ordered American pancakes with bacon. Not sure of anyone else's take is on this but we expected fluffy pancakes with a side of bacon - out came one huge flat looking thing with the bacon cooked into it. Looked and tasted terrible and wasn't cooked through, all this after only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine L
Dean B, Owner at The Black Cockatoo Cafe, responded to this review

Three bad reviews for the one dining experience, it's starting to look like cyber bullying... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the black cockatoo cafe for breakfast and were severely disappointed with the food, coffee and service. The coffee was weak and had a bitter taste, when raised with the waitress she said the issue was they just had a trainee on and no exchange offered or to remove from the bill leaving 4 coffees that were not... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dean B, Owner at The Black Cockatoo Cafe, responded to this review

One of the most challenging jobs in a restaurant is dealing with difficult people. When customers complain about everything they have ordered and are rude to to service staff then want the bill for free. We checked everything that came off your table and it was fine though we still gave you a large discount of your bill. You did... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017

It was Easter Sunday and surprisingly not that many people at dinner. Chef and staff were friendly. We ordered a seafood platter, steak, and some pasta and they were all amazing. The seafood tasted so fresh and I've had the best scallops I've ever had. Food was pricey but the quality makes the money worth. 10/10 would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Choy Yin C
Dean B, Owner at The Black Cockatoo Cafe, responded to this review

I am humbled by your comment. Thank you. ☺ Good Asian seafood dishes are amungst the best fish tastes in the world. The Scallops you had are from our Sicilian pasta seafood medley and the Sicilian’s Lunch (our signature meals). Kind Regards Dean More 

Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

vraiment un chouette resto tenu par un couple jeune et sympa ! café excellent ! a great coffee is waiting for you and food also ! :-)

Helpful?
Thank Pascal P
Yattendon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We stopped in at the Black Cockatoo for breakfast after the children watched the dolphins being fed at Tin Can Bay. The service was lovely and the food was very good. The coffee was gorgeous. My wife and I had skim flat whites brewed so well we went back for seconds. If you go down to take the children to... More 

Helpful?
Thank D-Ellie W
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Quiet friendly cafe. Across the road from the park. Staff are very friendly. Great coffee. Wife and I came up from Brisbane and didn't regret having lunch here. I had the mince burger and salad with hand cut chips. And the wife had the ham and cheese sandwich. Both were great and priced well. Look forward to coming back again.

Helpful?
Thank Darryl W
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Very taster lunch for two served quickly and with personal service. The previous owners would be proud of the new owners.

Helpful?
Thank John M

Travellers who viewed The Black Cockatoo Cafe also viewed

Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
 
Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
 

Been to The Black Cockatoo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Chinese, Seafood, Thai, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Street Parking, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 15:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
07:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Gympie Rd, Tin Can Bay, Queensland 4580, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Fraser Coast  >  Gympie Region  >  Tin Can Bay
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5486 4222
Description
The Black Cockatoo Cafe + Bar, is located in Tin Can Bay on the Cooloola Coast situated between Noosa and World Heritage listed Fraser Island. The restaurant has a contemporary decor and is located on the main road with sea views. The restaurant sources the best local seafood available straight from the trawlers, together with freshest and quality local produce. They use herbs from their own courtyard garden and experienced baristas using Genovese coffee

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Cockatoo Cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Black Cockatoo Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?