We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Tavern

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 25/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Hotel Tavern
Updated 25/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
The Tavern is an exciting restaurant and bar located in West Jefferson, NC. The warm and comfortable atmosphere at The Tavern gives the guests a sense of community while taking casual fare, including burgers, pizzas, sandwiches, salads, pasta, steaks and more, to a new level of creativity and quality. Whether enjoying a meal in one of our dining rooms, having a drink at our full service bar or celebrating great weather on our outdoor patio, we look forward to providing you a memorable experience.Our teams experience and commitment to service complements our attitude of providing a friendly, attentive and knowledgeable wait staff. From a quick business lunch, a fun family meal or watching a game
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
American, Bar
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Reservations, Live Music, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
217
99
44
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
217
99
44
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch salad short ribs homemade chips burger chicken in town outdoor seating an appetizer ashe county downtown west appetizers patrons dressing
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Based on reviews from several different sources, we decided to take our out of state family here for lunch. Understated interior, which doesn’t matter if the food is good. It was not good. Average at best. The price for lunch, 4 people, all sandwiches and...2 beers was $87.00. Service was decent, friendly. Would not recommend except for maybe a drink at the bar.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was good and all 7 of us had something different meals. I can't say too much for the service. It was very slow and when the food did start to come 6 of us got our meals. Then another table was served and...I had to go up to the waitress and ask where our last meal was. About that time our last meal same out. Then one of us was supposed to have lobster bisque and after everyone had their meals, the waitress came and said there wasn't any left and did he want broccoli cheddar soup. We had to ask for more coffee and then had to ask for the check. Not sure if we'll visit here again unless the restaurant can get some training for their waitstaff.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 July 2022 via mobile

I so wish I could give this place a better review. But the customer service experience was poor at best. Food was bland and definitely not worth the $. We did dinner first. Because it was busy we sat at the bar. The bar tender...didn't even acknowledge us. Then finally his greeting was, "What do you want? " it was apparent he had virtually no training or bar tending experience. We had Crab dip as an appetizer... think cream cheese with Crab flavor, not chunks of Crab. My husband got the trout and said it was decent, but bland. But our experience for brunch was terrible. Our waiter was in the weeds, short- almost rude. From the front door to the check, the staff seemed almost disinterested in what they were doing. It almost seemed there was an overall moral issue. This time though was beyond terrible. They only have scrambled eggs. I order the breakfast platter: scrambled eggs, toast and sausage. I could have gotten a breakfast sandwich from a fast food place, disassembled it, put it on a plate and it would have been better. It's sad, because the building, outdoor seating and overall ambiance is beautiful. But the food and customer service is terrible.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 June 2022 via mobile

Food was good. The wait for a table seemed unnecessarily long, the order was wrong, the bill wrong, everything really slow.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 June 2022

Went with a friend who highly recommend it. We went with a party of 5 and was sat down by a young dark-headed man who told us he was fairly new. Our friends were already sat and had ordered appetizers. 20 min later we waited...and hadn't gotten our drinks or appetizers, even though we asked. 4 of the 5 parties got their drinks, I was waiting on a beer I had ordered, and has asked, finally arrived after the appetizers and during the entrees. We had specifically asked for the side salad upcharge for $2 and had said we didn't want the veggies that came with it. This is important later... 5 min after we got the appetizer -here comes SOME of the food, no beer yet, no one came to check on us and we finally got all the food, the veggies were on the plates without the salad - we asked for, and pointed out to the server who said no worries - they are working on it. 10 min later - we asked again- no beer yet STILL. finally got the beer after we got the salads which came out 10 min and we were almost done eating the entrees. Finally got the bill, we were charged more than the menu prices, just asked the server to take the salads off since we hadn't gotten them until late - and he left and came back and said that because we had gotten the veggies (which we didnt order or eat) and was charged more for the ribeye $36 instead of $35 (he refused to change that as well)- he refused to change anything, I mean I have never had service as bad as this. Asked to see the manager- ignored. We finally got up and paid. The food we got was great, but in fairness, noone got their food at the same time, we were overcharged and told too bad when we just wanted it to be corrected. I have the receipt if you the manager wants to see it. I have never left a review like this, and our friends who live there were so embarrassed at the experience they apologized profusely of how it went. All in all I would say to the manager, if you are there, come around and ask, as your server we got that day could have cared less about what we were trying to explain that you got wrong, and just brought our drinks and food and charged us what you said it was, didn't ignore us to the point we kept asking where things were. Even when I asked to see the manager he said they weren't here, and ignored it. I was embarrassed for our friends. I know things are busy, but this was absolutely the worst service I have ever gotten. The food was good, but the service made it suck. If you want to hear our thoughts, feel free to respond with your number. We have the receipt. We didn't stay in town long, but I hope this doesn't happen to anyone else againMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert G, Owner at The Hotel Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Wow, we are sincerely sorry you such a bad experience - we obviously dropped the ball. I want to assure you that this is not a normal experience for our guest and we want to make it right.  We ALWAYS have a Manager or Owner on...More

Reviewed 19 April 2022

The best burgers in the county, maybe all of the High Country. When you specify how you want it cooked, it will be done that way. Overall a good menu. The only downside here is that they don't take reservations and seem to have a...problem managing seating. It's not unusual to see several parties waiting to be seated, and there are multiple empty booths/tables available. During tourist season, you can expect a long wait to be seated. Some times they quote you a wait time of 45 minutes and there are clearly empty tables.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 February 2022

We have been visiting this restaurant since it was in the old W.J. Hotel building. I used to love their French Dips. We ate lunch here Friday, 2/11/2022 and got there when it opened.; still had to wait 10 minutes though there were plenty of...tables for four. No problem though. Two of our party of four are locals and love this restaurant. My husband and I were visiting and we are more disappointed with each visit to West Jefferson. One cousin always orders the chicken and bacon sandwich. The remaining three of us ordered French Dips. It was all I could do to eat one half of mine. The au jus was the saving grace---I couldn't dip the sandwich enough to get rid of the meat taste. (IF I had read my 2016 review before going back, I would have known not to order the Dip). My cousin and my husband ate their Dips. There is 'something' about the taste of this meat that I just do not like. Also, there was hardly any cheese on our sandwiches! I thought about ordering Fish & Chips since it was Friday; however, we ordered that last autumn when we were there and they left a lot to be desired. Our server even said that the majority of their customers say they are "hit & miss" with the Fish & Chips. The manager and employees are nice and friendly. However, I just think the food was better at the first location. I do not think we will be going back next time we are in town. Nothing else on the menu appealed to me. Their dessert prices are terribly expensive! Good Grief! WHO can afford a piece of cheesecake there?More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 January 2022 via mobile

Really Disappointed..Lasagna was Burnt on the bottom and my sister in law said it tasted like it was Pre-Made Frozen Chef boyrdee $14.95 came with No Salad but had 2 rolls that looked uncooked not even brown .. French Dips tasted good but really thin...and tiny not worth the money and cold hard fries. They were $10.95 . The macaroni and cheese was extra $2.00 and party said was not good at all it went to waste… I had the Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo $17.95 and no salad or anything came with it , the chicken was tiny slivers on top.. They did take the lasagna off but it should of never been served that way. Really Honestly Disappointed wasted money on eating here. Part of party already talking about needing to stop and eat after being here.. Sadly first impressions are what counts and don’t think ever will return. money wise Way over Priced and Salads really need to be given with the meals .. I was also charged extra for small side Parmesan cheese for my Alfredo Linguine..More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert G, Owner at The Hotel Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. We always look for constructive comments and take them to heart. I do not know If you were aware, but an owner is there to also see to your experience. I wish you had...More

Reviewed 15 January 2022

We drove about an hour to spend the day in West Jefferson for my birthday....and chose to eat at The Tavern based on their website, menu and previous positive experience from many years ago. We have very mixed feelings about this recent visit. Pros: very...nice environment (the location we went to before is under construction). It was our server's first day but he did an alright/decent job given the circumstances, despite having to go find out the answers to all our questions (baptism by fire). Drinks were great (not watered down). Most of the food was good. My steak was good (not $35 good, but it was good) as were the green beans and spinach ($2 up-charge). Cons: menu prices on the menu do not match what they are charging!!! See attached receipt compared to the screenshots of the menu. The ribeye is listed for $26 on website but it is $35 when you go there. That is a 25% increase and an easy fix to a website! It says you can substitute a side salad for a regular side (mixed greens with all sorts of toppings) for an up-charge of $2. My husband asked if he could just get iceberg lettuce (with nothing on it) and Italian dressing. Since they have a Wedge Salad (with blue cheese, bacon, etc) we didn't think this was a big ask, especially considering we ordered TWO of the ribeyes (the most expensive item on the menu). The manager said no, that he would have to order the $9 Wedge Salad if he wanted just iceberg lettuce (even though he wanted it plain). We were happy to pay the $2 up-charge, but we thought $9 for iceberg lettuce and Italian dressing was a bit much. So he moved on and ordered 2 baked potatoes instead as his 2 sides. Well, that wasn't acceptable either. Evidently you can't get 2 "potato sides." So there was going to be an up-charge for that. Nevermind then...can we order chips without being charged extra (even though that is a "potato side"???) Apparently, yes, but not a baked potato. By the time they brought butter, the potato had cooled down so much that the butter didn't melt. Unfortunately, hubby's ribeye was VERY fatty with lots of gristle. He was unable to eat 1/2 of it (again, a $35 steak!). He was very disappointed, but since it was my birthday, he did not want to ask for the manager, who had already shown to be uncooperative with the salad. We also ordered Coconut Shrimp as an appetizer and asked for the dipping sauce to be divided into a 2nd ramekin so we weren't double dipping in the same container. Or just bring a a saucer so we can dip some out. Well, instead, they charged us for "extra sauce", which we didn't even eat it because it was too spicy (not orange marmalade dressing that we were expecting and menu didn't specify). So all of this combined was very aggravating and frustrating. Happy birthday to me! We still tipped our server over 20% as none of this was his doing. Although by the end, we were ready to get out of there after having witnessed all of the servers adjust their face masks about 100 times as they were hustling around the restaurant but then immediately touching food plates. I'm not sure we will have the desire to go back. It is quite a drive already. I hope this review is helpful to the public.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert G, Owner at The Hotel Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Thanks for the constructive comments and know we take them to heart. We will be using this for training purposes. Also there is always an owner there so if you return be sure to let us know.

Reviewed 29 December 2021

The proper name is now The Tavern (drop the hotel) as they have moved out of the old hotel. The food and service are good, but unless you're prepared to wait 30-45 minutes to be seated, you ought to try elsewhere. This is one of...the few downtown restaurants with parking and attracts a lot of tourists. We are locals and used to be regulars here, but since the Covid problem waits are simply too long. It's not clear to us why the waits are that long while you can see empty tables and booths inside.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert G, Owner at The Hotel Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Lewis, thanks for the review and we depend on our Ashe county friends. To the question of why the wait ,when there are open booths and table. It depends on two things wait staffing and kitchen staffing. If either one of those are short, then...More

Reviewed 17 December 2021 via mobile

I love this place and eat here often. Best burgers ever! Best homemade chips with ranch dip ever! Nice tap beer selection and good wine selections. Be sure to check out “Wine Down Wednesday” for great discounts on wine by glass and bottle. They will...cork and you can take it out if you don’t finish it. Great service at bar and table.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Robert G, Owner at The Hotel Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Cathy we really appreciate your review. 5 bubbles are what we shoot for. It is customers like you that drive us to excell. Thanks.

Reviewed 3 December 2021 via mobile

Wife & I had dinner here on a Friday evening. They were super busy, but we found a place at the bar and ate there. I had a superb ribeye steak and a local beer. Wife had a thick juicy pork chop and a tasty...Bloody Mary. Food was delicious and served within minutes of ordering. We’ll be back!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 November 2021

We were visiting from out of town for a show at the civic center. Typically when there's a long wait at a restaurant and we ask to sit at the bar, we have to awkwardly ask other guests if seats next to them are taken....Not here. When we asked about bar seating (after learning the wait for a table was an hour and a half) the host immediately went to check, and then escorted us to two seats together at the bar. The attention to service was great throughout, and we were pleasantly surprised when one of the owners came by to ask about our experience. Coming from another touristy town in NC, this was a delightful and refreshing experience.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Our party of four went there on a busy Saturday night. Everyone loved the items they got and the desserts were crazy good. The homemade chips were impossible to stop eating and my burger was made to perfection. The staff was top notch and that...is the only place I would visit when I go back to west jefferson to eat.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHotelTavern, Owner at The Hotel Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Wow Kenneth, Thanks so much for 5 bubble review. I will share your comments with the staff. We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed 7 October 2021

We visited this wonderful restaurant located in downtown West Jefferson. I was impressed at how caring the staff is of their customers. All wore masks and the amazing ventilation system made out visit feel safe. The food is superb. We had the hand crafted burgers....The meat and addition were fresh and delicious. Being that it was my wife’s birthday, we had the molten chocolate cake. Served warm with tasteful whipping cream. The beer selection is quite extensive, both draft and bottled. It will be our favorite Ashe County restaurant. Thanks to Sherman, Beth, Andy and Pam for creating such an enjoyable eating place!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHotelTavern, Owner at The Hotel Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

WOW! Jim, thanks so much for the excellent review. We always love seeing such great comments. Kathy,Frank Hijek and Jerry Oliver also deserve credit as part of the ownership team. We look forward to serving you again.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson, an IHG Hotel
114 reviews
2.11 km away
Nation's Inn
128 reviews
2.63 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham West Jefferson
339 reviews
3.73 km away
The Gathering Place On The Blue Ridge
4 reviews
12.09 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sweet & Savory
195 reviews
.23 km away
Bobby D's Restaurant
68 reviews
1.44 km away
Boondocks Brewing
647 reviews
.29 km away
Smoky Mountain Barbecue
268 reviews
1.40 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
CatchLight Gallery
15 reviews
.19 km away
Antiques On Main
29 reviews
1.13 km away
Quilt Square Girls
8 reviews
.19 km away
Honey Hole
100 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hotel Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Hotel Tavern, West Jefferson - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel Tavern

Yes, The Hotel Tavern offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Hotel Tavern is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Hotel Tavern is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5