We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge

$$ - $$$
Bar, Canadian, American
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4268 | Highway 16, Smithers, British Columbia voj2n0, Canada
+1 250-847-4672
Website
Today
06:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 06:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 06:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I come here often for dinner or even for breakfast or just a tea! The menu is good and the staff always super friendly and carrying! Awesome atmosphere in there!

Helpful?
Thank Anja S
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant side has your average restaurant feel. Nothing fancy but good service and great food. The lounge side is intricately decorated has a rustic feel and the alcohol selection is surprisingly plentiful. The breakfast (restaurant side) is pretty good but supper (on the lounge side) is where you want to be. It is the same kitchen manning both, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarinaSanchez01
Vanderhoof, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday February 4 and 5. The food and service were absolutely fantastic! For breakfast on Sunday we came with a large group and the service was very prompt and the food excellent. Portions are very generous. We had breakfast there again today and it was a little different. Service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank pj6975
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Great service, nice children's breakfast options. Delicious skillets with gluten free choices available.

Helpful?
Thank fshgrl
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We had breakfast there and it was good, except for the eggs, I asked for scrambled eggs and they were dry and weird looking! Besides that the food was good to start the day. Good price too!

Helpful?
Thank Camila F
Level Contributor
308 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Food and beer within walking distance from my hotel (aspen) Sat at the bar and service was great! Had the brats wrapped in bacon. What can I say it's wrapped in bacon it rocked!! I know I will drop in again. And so should you!

Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Hazelton, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

My family went for dinner at this restaurant and met with disappointment. The waitress seemed very new, did not know what a martini was, she then brought a red wine when the order was for a white. The sirloin burger was recommended and was not good, it was very greasy. We were four people each disappointed in some way with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roy Henry V
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Roy Henry V Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy our Prime Rib Burger as it is one of our top sellers at The Riverhouse. I will be discussing the issues you have mentioned with the waitress that served you. If you would like to discuss this with myself my email... More 

Terrace, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Without a doubt the worst service I have ever had. Servers rude and unhelpful. Blamed the kitchen staff for all the delay. Over an hour for breakfast to show up.

Helpful?
Thank Ripthepow
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Ripthepow. We have checked the bill time on this order and from the time the drinks were punched in to the time the bill was paid was 38 minutes. The server did acknowledge there was a delay at the beginning due to some late joiners at the Terrace Minor Hockey Kids table. having kids myself I can understand that... More 

Telkwa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

The Lounge is the place to be to socialize with the locals! The food is excellent. The selection is on a smaller scale with a versatile menu. The Aspen Motel is next door to meet your overnight stay!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine D
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

There weren't many restaurants open Sunday afternoon so we ended up here and were pleasantly surprised by the rustic decor and great view of Hudson Bay Mountain. The Beef Dip sandwich was generous and the meat was tender and moist. However, the Minestrone soup tasted like a dry soup mix combined with yesterday's noodles and was inedible. Nevertheless, we'd probably... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grammyplamla
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Grammyplamia. Thank you for your review. We will be addressing the Music levels with our staff and we will discuss the Minestrone soup with our Chef. We are happy to hear that the Beef Dip hit the spot. Thank you again for your feedback, all feedback is valuable. More 

Travellers who viewed Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 
Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 

Been to Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, Canadian, American
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 22:00
Monday
06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 22:00
Thursday
06:00 - 22:00
Friday
06:00 - 23:00
Saturday
06:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4268 | Highway 16, Smithers, British Columbia voj2n0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Smithers
  • Phone Number: +1 250-847-4672
Description
An Exceptional dining experience. Enjoy a wonderful meal or meet friend for a drink. Experience the fireplace, waterfall, and local antiquities in a unique and entertaining setting showcasing the history of Smithers and British Columbia.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Riverhouse Restaurant and Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?