We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

Penn Road | Knotty Green, Beaconsfield HP9 2TN, England
+44 1494 670690
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“monkfish” (3 reviews)
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Penn Road | Knotty Green, Beaconsfield HP9 2TN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

I've dropped in here on a few occasions for a couple of early evening beers and have always been made to feel welcome,even though this is a pub that appears to be largely frequented by locals. No gimmicks just a regualr good pub.. and the...More

Thank Markin53
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very enjoyable family lunch today for 5 people - we had grilled lemon sole from the specials which was lovely, Egyptian Hake which was judged very tasty, adults cod and chips and children's cod and chips. All were very tasty and nothing...More

Thank Steven8915
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Red Lion for Sunday lunch having been recommended by a friend and they were right!! The pub has a wonderful feel to it, not least due to the landlord and landlady. They both made us feel very welcome and nothing was too...More

1  Thank evil_edna
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We live locally and thought we would give this pub another try! The décor has not changed and is still pretty dire - 'dull, dark and depressing' - the whole place looks unloved and not particularly clean. However, the worst part of our experience was...More

Thank alysonpet
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I have eaten here a number of times but only just got round to reviewing! Always an excellent meal and a friendly atmosphere. Yes it's true the decor needs updating but the quality of the food more than makes up for it.

1  Thank LondonGipsy
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Be aware July 14th 2017 Steve the barman, can be very moody, he drinks halves whilst working behind the bar, and adds up the bill in his head ". After few drinks the amount is hit and miss! " .... we were overcharged and he...More

Thank anon1234562017
panny50, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear anon1234562017, We are very upset to hear you had such a disturbing visit to our pub on 14th July and that you were overcharged, the error was certainly unintentional. Unfortunately the décor is beyond our control as Punch taverns will spend no money on...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

The landlord couldnt even wait for me to park up and get in the pub before he started being rude to me. Plenty of other pubs for people like you he said. Actually there was.More

Thank Kev H
panny50, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Kev H, I am sorry you were so disappointed with our Pub, especially as you never actually entered it. In fact you parked your car not in our car park but on the hardstanding outside the front, which is very dangerous to exit from...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

I have eaten here a few times and it just gets better and better. The fish is always wonderful especially the fish and chips, you can't get it any better. I would definitely recommend. The decor is tired but you need to look past that...More

3  Thank bouchee6
Reviewed 12 June 2017

My husband and I live locally so following an article in a local magazine we decided to give it a try .The landlord was very unwelcoming on arrival , did not engage with us whatsoever .It was very quiet inside so we would have expected...More

8  Thank anonT7033MX
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

I have lived in bucks all my life, driven past this pub hundreds of times but never gone in. We went yesterday with friends for dinner. The outside looks nice, the inside is decidedly shabby but as we where told keeps escaping being demolished so...More

4  Thank juju212016
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Standard of England
962 reviews
1.06 km away
The Cape
465 reviews
1.40 km away
China Diner
240 reviews
1.46 km away
Revolution Beaconsfield
150 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bekonscot Model Village
1,011 reviews
1.14 km away
Amersham Museum
57 reviews
5.57 km away
Odds Farm Park
541 reviews
4.71 km away
The Retreat Beaconsfield
245 reviews
4.95 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$28
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Penn Road | Knotty Green, Beaconsfield HP9 2TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Beaconsfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1494 670690
  • E-mail
Description
The Red Lion is a traditional English pub serving good ale, wine and exceptional food. We pride ourselves in using fresh, locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. Having run a fish restaurant for over fifteen years, fish stands prominently on the menu. We are open every day for food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing