We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Lion

$$ - $$$, British,
35 Warmingham Road | Coppenhall, Crewe CW1 4PS, England
+44 1270 584707
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (25 reviews)
“cheesecake” (7 reviews)
“fish cakes” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Healthy, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35 Warmingham Road | Coppenhall, Crewe CW1 4PS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a couple with a dog we were looking for late lunch/early evening meal at 4pm, we had a table by the fire, excellent attentive, welcoming service from staff, the food was lovely (light bites cottage pie - plenty even if it hadn’t been light...More

Thank Paula P
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your glowing review of a 'typical' visit to the White Lion Warmingham Road

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

This was such a good find! After visiting some family around the area we decided to go out for Sunday lunch. We were a party of 6 & rang the White Lion 30 minutes before to check they could fit us in, although the pleasant...More

Thank lovescake55
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

What a smashing description of a typical visit to the White Lion, thank you

Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

I organised a dinner for some new friends.... Looked at 8 different types of eateries in and around crewe... I also visited them.... Trust me some way better than others.... The white lion was and is amazing.... On my first visit to check it out......More

Thank angekate185
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hopefully see you again soon.

Reviewed 27 November 2017

Called with a large party on the off chance they could accommodate us, after a little wait and alot of organizing by the lovely staff we were seated. The service was second to none,we had various starters all went down a treat, the mains followed...More

3  Thank purposebuilt1
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for such a glowing review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit so much.

Reviewed 3 November 2017

A lovely pub spoiled by a horrible landlord. We have visited this pub on many occasions both for lunch and dinner and for evening drinks with a friend. But we have decided not to visit again as we witnessed an appalling drunken outburst by the...More

6  Thank Bikerinasuit
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

No one who works, lives, eats or drinks here knows what you are talking about ???? You have failed to respond to my message asking you when you claim this took place ??? Read the other reviews - and continue to visit wherever you now...More

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Needed a stop for lunch on a drive home, so used trip advisor for guidance. Fab little country family run pub, food was great. It’s a dated pub, which appealed rather than one of these modern gastro places. Had to sit in the bar as...More

1  Thank Caroline J
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for trying us - it is pleasing that our "highly positive" reviews far outnumber the mainly spurious negatives. Businesses at the top of the rankings are usually there for a reason. Glad you enjoyed it, please call again soon.

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Good food and a decent beer selection and good staff always polite and professional. Also a large beer garden for those sunny days.

1  Thank Alison221
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Yep, that sums it up nicely, thank you.

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Great menu and offers on different nights! They also serve a decent pint and have a large field with a little play area outside for the kids and offer plenty of parking.

1  Thank Steve1980S
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Yes all true, thank you for, reviewing us. See you again soon.

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Been here a few times recently, the food is excellent along with the service. Most recent visit was just for drinks as it was in between serving times, we were looking forward to eating here again but we missed out. We wish you served all...More

1  Thank sharbes
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hello sorry you missed service, but our hard-working staff need breaks, and we are unsure whether mid- week all day opening for food would be profitable/sustainable ?? Anyway, our opening times are displayed outside the pub and on our website so hopefully you can make...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017

We only stayed one night but were very impressed with the food and the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you.More

1  Thank Kate B
Kevin H, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

"You only stayed one night" ??? Although the review sounds like our staff and food, I am pretty sure I would have noticed if you stayed over in our pub !! I am guessing you stayed at the White Lion HOTEL at Weston. You are...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Crewe
The Hunters Lodge
304 reviews
2.86 km away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
365 reviews
3.36 km away
The Waverley Hotel
237 reviews
3.44 km away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
382 reviews
3.51 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cod'N'All Fish & Chips
29 reviews
1.33 km away
Greenway Fish Bar
5 reviews
1.31 km away
Goodies
13 reviews
1.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crewe Lyceum Theatre
243 reviews
2.46 km away
The Bear's Paw
86 reviews
2.87 km away
Offbeat Brewery
17 reviews
2.41 km away
Grand Junction Retail Park
34 reviews
2.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mutrix
29 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kevin H |
Yes, we are open until 11pm although we usually stop serving food at 7pm
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 Warmingham Road | Coppenhall, Crewe CW1 4PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Crewe
  • Phone Number: +44 1270 584707
  • E-mail
Description
Beautiful country pub and restaurant in an old Victorian coaching inn on what was the main route to London, with large beer garden with country views across the cow field and play area for the summer or log fires when it gets cold. Every week day from 12noon to 2pm AND 6pm to 9pm we serve GREAT food (from 3 course meal to bar snack),quality cask ales, lagers, wines, specialist premium gins, vodkas and malt whiskies, a wide range of other spirits, soft drinks and coffees. Saturday's food is from 12noon to 9pm and 12noon to 7pm every Sunday. SKY & BT SPORTS for ALL THE BIG MATCHES. Every Wednesday there is hugely popular 2-4-1 STEAK NIGHT - booking recommended to avoid disappointment. Dogs and children welcome, but please keep children on a lead !
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing