We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant

Main Road | Derbyshire, Higham DE55 6EH, England
+44 1773 833812
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (13 reviews)
“couscous” (2 reviews)
“scallops” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Steakhouse, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road | Derbyshire, Higham DE55 6EH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

had afternoon tea, first off the place is set a wonderful part of the country, amazing surroundings. greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. lots of little rooms well furnished and decorated n a way to compliment such a beautiful building. we have had many...More

Thank lennymottram
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

The views from this hotel are amazing. Our room was big and spacious hot tub bathtub was great also the price was decent for the size room... it is a little dated and could do with a little male over but we enjoyed our stay...More

Thank challam
SantosHighamFarm, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi challam, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Santo's. Your feedback is important to us and has been duly noted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Booked this from Booking.com for a night away with my partner. Upon arrival we were greeted with a very friendly welcome by the receptionist and then given the key to our room. We were in the 'Mandela Suite', I had booked a 'superior double room',...More

Thank Gary H
SantosHighamFarm, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Gary H, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Santo's. All of our rooms are actually different and the superiors are internationally themed. Mandela's has been furnished with furniture that has been made from railways sleepers in Rhodesia and the...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Just had a fabulous stay at the hotel . Accomodation superb, food superb,staff very helpful 5 stars all round thankyou.More

Thank Chris R
SantosHighamFarm, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Chris R Thank you for your amazing review. We pride ourselves on our amazing staff, and our motto has always been fresh good quality produce. Even the bread is made every morning by the chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back at Santo's...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017

great service. we all agreed the food was cooked well but had no flavour. it wasn't even seasoned; it's rare to see a room full of people pouring salt on their food in the 21st century.

Thank freqfly2013
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We all had fillet steak. It was very expensive and each steak was tiny 4oz when it should be 8oz so disappointed. The very long wait to get served was more disappointing as we had booked for 6pm but order taken at 7.15pm. So did...More

3  Thank Selwyn C
SantosHighamFarm, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Selwyn C, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here at Santo's. I do however have to correct you that the fillet steaks are not 8oz they are actually 6oz and we have an award winning butcher for our...More

Reviewed 3 April 2017

We stayed for one night in order to meet up with some friends from Kent. (We live in N Yorks) We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be excellent. The service from all the staff from start to finish of our stay...More

Thank Alistair M
SantosHighamFarm, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hi Alistair M, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back here at Santo's in the near future.

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

The most amazing time had by all! Santo and his staff are second to non. My sisters wedding was made so special by all. The attention to detail the kindness , friendless and care , the views , the rooms , and well EVERYTHING was...More

Thank Lissa S
SantosHighamFarm, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hi Lissa S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Santo and the team do work so hard to ensure that the day goes smoothly and that the bride and groom can just enjoy their day. I will certainly pass on to the team...More

Reviewed 7 February 2017

We went there as a couple to eat and did not stay in the hotel. The food is is of a very high standard and from start to finish we were both impressed. We had great service,the staff were attentive and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed...More

1  Thank craig e
SantosHighamFarm, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hi Craig e, Wow what a wonderful review. Our head chef prides him self that all the food is baked and cooked daily even down to the bread rolls, and that the produce is locally sourced. You will have to come and check out our...More

Reviewed 2 February 2017

Just a typical hotel in need of some work. Rooms a bit hot and the bed quality is poor. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. The restaurant ain't bad to be fair. An amazing view over the valley from the car park. Just a little...More

1  Thank MULCASTER2
SantosHighamFarm, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hi Mulcaster2, Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay here at Santo's. I am sorry to hear that you felt that our beds are of poor quality, this I do have to disagree with as they are all actually top quality beds, some actually...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough Inn at Brackenfield
293 reviews
3.00 km away
The White Horse at Woolley Moor
297 reviews
3.48 km away
Greyhound
455 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wingfield Manor
13 reviews
3.88 km away
The White Hart Inn
36 reviews
3.95 km away
Chuckles
9 reviews
4.81 km away
Scotland Nurseries Garden Centre Gift Shop
87 reviews
5.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
icklelisa32
7 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 989manib | Reviewed this property |
When I was there, there was non. People were all dressed casually.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$52
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking
Good for
View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road | Derbyshire, Higham DE55 6EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Higham
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 833812
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing