We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Folly

London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
+44 1327 354031
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“hash” (17 reviews)
“dessert platter” (13 reviews)
“guinea fowl” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited for an early evening meal for my wife’s birthday. The staff had done a lovely job with flowers and table arrangements. We had 3 well behaved children with us between 2 and 8 and admittedly a couple of times we had to remind them...More

Thank M H
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello and thank you for your great comments about our food and service. We always go out of our way to make a special effort to look after the children who visit us and I am so pleased that you experienced that. Unfortunately though we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place came on my radar after the food and drink awards where they won restaurant of the year and great service award. When I saw an offer for a free dessert with every main course I was definitely going to travel the extra and...More

Thank Sarah M
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much Sarah for your wonderful in depth review. I am so pleased that you were so impressed by all aspects of your visit. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Robert, David & team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went during December and whilst the food was good and service good, the ambiance was lacking. It was not a pub where you wanted to bed in for the afternoon and while a way the time with a nice drink and good company.More

Thank Fuchs
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello and thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. I am very pleased to hear that you were impressed with the food and service. I am however a little perplexed over your comments on the ambience. The Folly is not a pub but...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food and service are of an exceptional high standard ! I highly recommend this establishment. You will not be disappointed !

Thank Ticky54321
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your excellent review. Very best wishes, Robert, David & team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Hadn't been to The Folly for some time but, encouraged by rave reports from friends we booked a table at the end of November and we certainly weren't disappointed. In fact, we both agreed that this was the best meal out we had enjoyed in...More

Thank Duplicarius
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic five star review. Great to hear that you were so impressed with the whole experience. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Robert, David & team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful meal at The Folly (again) and couldn't fault anything. Despite being busy, we received fantastic service and the food was delicious. My Dad had the Wild Mushroom and Madeira soup, and said it was the best soup he had ever eaten!...More

Thank Fluffster68
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your fabulous review following your Boxing Day visit. I am very pleased that you and your party so thoroughly enjoyed the food and experience. We very much hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Robert, David & team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely choice of food. Well cooked and well presented. Many thanks to all at the Folly. It was so good we have booked for next Christmas Day.

Thank Susan H
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Susan and thank you so much for your great review for our Christmas Day Lunch. We very much look forward to seeing you again next year!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One would assume that on ordering a vegetarian main course, the ingredients would not be too difficult to be included. The chestnuts were not delivered with the main and the menu was requested to check that there wasn't a mistake in my choice. "Are you...More

3  Thank Elaine B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow wow as per usual a fantastic meaal. Starters my friend had prawn cocktail I had black pudding and poached egg. Delicious. Main was Gloucester old spot pork belly. I had the turkey. Just so good. My friend had sticky toffee pudding ( he's coeliac...More

Thank Salliet
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Salliet, thank you so much for your amazing review. We lopk forward to welcoming you again on your next visit. Kind regards, Robert, David & team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A traditional building with great food on the A5 and not far from the A43 - but book as it is popular especially at the weekends

Thank V14RMP
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to post your 5 star review. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Robert, David & team.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Towcester Hotels
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
1,327 reviews
16.63 km away
Premier Inn Northampton Town Centre Hotel
299 reviews
13.64 km away
Mercure Milton Keynes
973 reviews
14.48 km away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
1,493 reviews
17.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough, Towcester
158 reviews
1.29 km away
Dilraj Indian
290 reviews
1.12 km away
The Ganges
267 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whittlebury Park - Golf Course
24 reviews
4.56 km away
The Canal Museum
166 reviews
4.64 km away
Catanger Llamas
461 reviews
5.30 km away
Silverstone Circuit
1,020 reviews
5.72 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
supercritic2015
31 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Robert J | Property representative |
We are around 4 miles away - still close enough to hear the roar of the engines on race days!
0
Votes
Jacqui P
30 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Robert J | Property representative |
As explained many times in these reviews we are a RESTAURANT and diners take priority. When we are busy we simply do not have the space for guests looking for a quiet drink as EVERY table is booked. We are not a pub - that... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$27 - US$55
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 7:15 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Towcester
  • Phone Number: +44 1327 354031
  • E-mail
Description
The Folly is situated in a beautiful location surrounded by rolling countryside on the A5 opposite Towcester racecourse. The original building dates back to the mid 1700's and is the quintessential thatched English inn, full of character and understated style. The Folly is a destination venue for those looking for exceptionally good and innovative cuisine. Head chef David Horak sources local ingredients where possible and uses them in imaginative dishes based on great British classics with a contemporary twist. All food is cooked to order from fresh ingredients in our own kitchens. To the rear of the building the garden offers a secluded and safe area away from the main road. An ideal space for families and those with their four legged companions! On fine days al fresco dining is available here. Easy to find, ample car parking for up to thirty vehicles and easy access makes The Folly is an ideal place to meet up and dine with friends, family and colleagues.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing