We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Folly Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road | Towcester, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
+44 1327 354031
Website
Today
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 19:15
Tue - Thu 18:00 - 21:00
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Fri - Sat 18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

860 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 858: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We have been here quite a few times and have always had excellent, friendly service. The food is beautiful - both in terms of quality and presentation. Would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Lynstacey
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Another visit for my husband's birthday. Can only repeat what I've said before - service, atmosphere and food faultless. Happily recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank adeleMK19
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

Dear Adele Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review. Great to hear too that you have never been disappointed.......we aim to impress! Hope to see you again soon. Very best wishes, Robert, David & team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

WOW! The starter of Pulled pork and black pudding hash, crispy panko breaded poached egg, HP jus, apple purée was fantastic and this dish alone is reason enough to visit this restaurant. Everything else was top notch with great service and very reasonable prices. We used it as a Brit Stop and in terms of hospitality I would highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bizhop L
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

Hello Iain. Thank you so much for your very generous 5 star review which is very much appreciated by all! Our pulled pork and black pudding hash with crispy poached egg and crackling is always a great hit here at The Folly. I am so pleased that you were so very impressed with all aspects and we very much hope... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a family meal. Mum, dad, me and my 5yr old. Pleasantly surprised that they have a child menu with crayons! He had macaroni cheese with bacon which he enjoyed. I had the duo of beef which was beautiful. Mum had the slow roast pork which was divine and dad had the sirloin. (I finished it for him and... More 

Helpful?
Thank knokeys
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Great to hear that you 5 year old was happy too! Hope to see you all again soon. Bets wishes, Robert, David & team More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my partner here for his birthday. The service was superb and the food was sublime. My only regret was I wwas too fullup to have dessert! Next time I will starve for the day before coming! The pork belly was perfection.

Helpful?
Thank weatherwax152016
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank your so much for your excellent review. I really hope that you manage to get to desserts next time as these are also all made in house by our team of chefs and are absolutely superb! Very best wishes, Robert, David & team. More 

Mahon, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us met up here today. Two had Cottage pie, two the slow roast lamb. Beautiful setting, excellent service, really enjoyed the meal. May be it's worth mentioning, however, that the portions of veg could have been better: both larger and more creative. Nothing green came with the lamb, which would have been good. Everything else good, except the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much Geoff for your positive review and very useful feedback. I will discuss your points with our head chef as we are always looking for ways to improve our offering. Kind regards. Robert, David & team. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic evening, a warm welcome from friendly staff. The food was wonderful the whitebait was tasty, the steak was the best my husband had eaten in a long time and my surf and turf had great flavours. We shared a cheeseboard and all the cheeses had a lovely tang. Overall a great dining experience slightly more expensive than other pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarieBurnies
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

Hello Marie and thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you chose to celebrate your husband's birthday with us and very much hope that we see you again soon. Veryy best wishes, Robert, David & team. More 

Towcester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us had an enjoyable early evening meal at The Folly. There's a good range of food on offer; interesting starters and some excellent main course options too. All of our meals were well cooked.The staff are pleasant and efficient (but could relax and chat a bit more). If anything the service was a bit quick for us as... More 

Helpful?
Thank PoppyTowcester
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

Hi Poppy Thank you very much for your great feedback. As it happens, next month will see a program of refurbishment begin on the restaurant. So hopefully on your next visit you will se fresh, lighter more contemporary decor. Very best wishes, Robert, David & team More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this establishment for lunch this afternoon before attending Towcester race course. We arrived sat down ordered drinks and our meals, there was a bit of a wait on food. After finishing our meals we asked for the bill and said we were off to the races, upon returning to the car we had a snotty notice on windscreen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mkmojitomob
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you felt that this matter was not handled as you saw fit. The reason the note was put on your car was because you did not make us aware that you had left it before leaving the restaurant. On race days we often get punters leaving their cars even though they haven't dined with... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We'd seen the pub as we drove south and decided to stop for lunch on the return journey. A welcoming gastro pub with a warm greeting from the hosts as we stepped through the door. We both chose the beer battered haddock fillet with double cooked chips and home made tartar sauce. The food was freshly cooked with a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichardSmith03
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you kindly for your excellent review. Our freshly cooked "fish'n chips" is always a big hit on our lunch menu. We use only the freshest fish and use our secret recipe for the crunchiest and lightest batter in town! Kind regards. Robert, David & team More 

Travellers who viewed The Folly Inn also viewed

Shutlanger, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Whittlebury, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Grafton Regis, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Folly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19 - US$38
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:15
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Towcester, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Towcester
  • Phone Number: +44 1327 354031
Description
The Folly Inn is situated in a beautiful location surrounded by rolling countryside on the A5 opposite Towcester racecourse. The original building dates back to the mid 1700's and is the quintessential thatched English inn, full of character and understated style.

The Folly is a destination venue for those looking for exceptionally good and innovative cuisine. Head chef David Horak sources local ingredients where possible and uses them in imaginative dishes based on great British classics with a contemporary twist. All food is cooked to order from fresh ingredients in our own kitchens.

To the rear of the building the garden offers a secluded and safe area away from the main road. An ideal space for families and those with their four legged companions! On fine days al fresco dining is available here.

Easy to find, ample car parking for up to thirty vehicles and easy access makes The Folly Inn is an ideal place to meet up and dine with friends, family and colleagues.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Folly Inn and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Folly Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?