We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Western Gateway Motel Restaurant

) #10 of 37 Restaurants in Emerald $$ - $$$
Cnr Hospital Rd Theresa St, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
+61 7 4980 0500
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good38%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“breakfast” (4 reviews)
“seafood” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Australian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr Hospital Rd Theresa St, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Myself and some friends had Friday night tapas and drinks, it was delicious, relaxed atmosphere and a great night out. The service was great, will be back definitely:)

Thank CaptainNic
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

I spent valentines day with my partner here and it was so nice to find such great food in a small town. The staff looked after us so well and food was incredible. I had a hot rock steak and i must say the steak...More

Thank Dan C
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Basic menu. Basic service. Over priced. If you were staying at motel and didn't feel like wandering off somewhere else for a meal then it may suit?

Thank Pete4eats
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We were there with a group of about 8. Took an hour to get our drinks and they weren't even busy. A shame because it has really nice decor and the food was pretty good too.

Thank tenaxious_j
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I went with my friends from school for the Tapa hours from 4-6pm for a baby shower. We put in money together to enjoy all the nice food. The golden sweet potatoes were the best, & other nibbles. The food was made pretty quickly. I...More

1  Thank Rosemarie583
Anthony C, Owner at Western Gateway Motel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Thank you for coming along Rosemarie583. I am so pleased you enjoyed it. Yes our Tapas is growing with the music every week and a lot of fun. Cheers Phillipa Comino

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed 2 weeks at the Apartments attached to this Motel/Restaurant . We were a group of 6 and ate every night here. The steaks on the stone were amazing, really good quality . The seafood was extremely fresh and awesome quality. Oysters in particular...More

Thank Oldnewguy
Anthony C, General Manager at Western Gateway Motel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Works both ways, you guys were awesome too. Thanks for choosing us for your business. Cheers Phillipa & staff

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Had the two course dinner, our selection, a party of five. Walked away hungry, shame really , enough said.More

Thank IntheBay_12
Anthony C, Owner at Western Gateway Motel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

I am disappointed to read that you did not have a pleasant experience at our restaurant. I find it strange that you walked away hungry fro our Friday and Saturday night special. Two courses for $35.00. This proves to be very popular with our customers....More

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We were not impressed with the meals, service was uneven on the table, some orders were missed, and we were treated like fools when we queried a wine supplied to our table. Certainly won't be returning in the near future.More

1  Thank David O
Anthony C, Owner at Western Gateway Motel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Hmmmm That does seem to be extreme. Most of our customers have an awesome experience, awesome food, awesome service, awesome wine, awesome wait staff. Occasionally we don't get it right but we always try really really hard. I would not be buying a lotto ticket...More

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic place for a birthday celebration, spacious function room, very well catered delicious 3 course meal and staff that couldn't do enough for you. Very obliging, wonderful host, congratulations Anthony on a brilliant venue 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Thank Elaine N
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Have dined here for both breakfast and dinner and always recommend the Stone Grill to anyone visiting Emerald. The wine selection is also worthy of mention. The service is never lacking. Breakfast is generous and comes with a proper coffee or juice. The stone grill...More

Thank Ickfred
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Le Porte Rosse
213 reviews
.80 km away
Theo's Cafe
153 reviews
.78 km away
Vybe Cafe
24 reviews
.09 km away
Capricornian Restaurant
118 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Botanic Gardens
67 reviews
2.07 km away
Sunflower Painting
65 reviews
1.66 km away
Central Highlands Visitor Information Centre
45 reviews
.65 km away
The Village at Emerald
7 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Western Gateway Motel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Australian
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Hospital Rd Theresa St, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Emerald
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4980 0500
  • E-mail
Description
We have a cook to order breakfast available from 5.30am to 11am and Dinner with stone grill dining and an a la carte menu from 6.00pm to 9.00pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing