We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Read more
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Waterfront Inn
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Occasion Dining, View, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
305
100
55
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
305
100
55
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger onion rings mash fish and chips the pub greene king decking area hunters chicken sit outside quick lunch warm welcome sarah landlady pint disco gin establishment
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

We popped in for a drink and saw the menu the deals are fantastic we dad steak sandwich smothered in cheese with seasoned fries I had a Guinness my wife had wine My friends had hunters chicken and his wife had another main The meals...were fantastic and drinks great Our meals with drinks were £9 .99 each great deals We will visit againMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We really enjoyed a family get together meal overlooking the Mere last night. The food was decent pub grub and also catered for a vegan member of the party. The service was good. We will be back!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday

Had forgotten just how good the salt beef burger was! So good to return and sit out in the sunshine, seeing your customers laughing and enjoying themselves. Despite being busy and the challenges you face, your staff were so welcoming and smiling and genuinely happy...to see us. Good on you all and thanks for great food and service. Back to being a regular again I’m sure of that!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the waterfront twice last week while staying in Diss all very covid safe. Staff were very good taking our food & Drink orders. Although it was busy we did not have to wait long for the food to arrive all freshly cooked and...good value for money. Would definitely recommend the Waterfront Inn for just a drink or a full meal. Full marks to all the staff in there difficult times.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a table for food and to watch England vs Italy. Food was superb, great service and staff couldn't do enough. Pub itself was clean and had beautiful hanging baskets and a lovely terrace to view the Mere. The staff tried to book a taxi...to take us back to our holiday accommodation but unfortunately were unable too. The lovely Jade offered to take us back which was greatly appreciated. Thank you for the landlady and staff for looking after us, we will definitely come again when visiting.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So glad you enjoyed yourselves and definitely pop in next times your visiting x

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the waterfront on the weekend we were welcomed at the front of the pub where we were given clear directions on how to track and trace which was a easy process we then sat down and ordered food on the app drinks arrived...in less than 2 minutes which was good and I ordered the large fish and chips and well what can I say I enjoyed the fish more than more local chippy and they have been my favorite for years I finished every single bite which is unusual for me my partner had the Katsu chicken burger which he said was really good and wouldn’t definitely have again overall staff were really helpful and friendly would definitely recommend and looking forward to my next visitMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for your kind review we hope to see you soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great staff - so friendly. We had family meal there with lots of us and it was greta! Pies esecoially - get in.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi thank you for this review it literally made me smile so glad that you enjoyed your pie and time here we really hope to see you all again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered drinks. Was upsold on the order without being informed. They charged us for more expensive options at every opportunity. We questioned the bill and the staff said we should have used the app. However eventually they did refund us for the extra charges we...didn't ask for.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Joseph you weren’t overcharged you consumed everything we gave you then decided you wanted the cheaper option You were asked if the tanqueray 10 was ok due to us not having tanquaray you said yes You made no preference to tonic so we gave...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a meal with my partner and friend to celebrate my partners birthday. Had some wonderful food. The Mac and cheese and bacon, salt beef burger and the rump steak skewers. Was amazing food service and drinks. Definitely go there again.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So pleased you had a good time and happy birthday

Reviewed 18 June 2021

The Waterfront Inn is situated on Diss mere, with stunning views across the water. I ordered a katsu chicken burger and Hendricks gin and tonic via their app to my table by the water's edge. My husband ordered a beef burger and a beer. The...food was delicious and although a little more expensive than your standard pub food, was worth every penny! It's a shame to say our hostess was incredibly rude - rolling her eyes, sighing loudly and making comments under her breath while we were entering our track and trace information, which made us feel uncomfortable. Nevertheless, once seated we didn't let this spoil our relaxing, sunny afternoon. Our other waitress - a younger woman - was very helpful and friendly and went above and beyond to give us good service. It's worth mentioning the prices on the app don't match those on the menu, with those on the app being more expensive. It also isn't clear to add a tonic separately to your gin order, which is in a different tab of the app. Perhaps this could be looked at? The quality of food was excellent and we would visit again.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

So glad you enjoyed your katsu it is really delicious see you again soon

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Park hotel
309 reviews
.38 km away
Scole Inn
347 reviews
3.34 km away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
830 reviews
3.70 km away
The Oaksmere Hotel
754 reviews
3.95 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Turkuaz
230 reviews
.20 km away
Number 11
162 reviews
.29 km away
Weavers Wine Bar & Eating House
300 reviews
.22 km away
Les Amandines Vegetarian Restaurants
328 reviews
.28 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Diss Mere
137 reviews
.16 km away
Diss Museum
26 reviews
.23 km away
Diss Greyhound
7 reviews
.27 km away
The Corn Hall
42 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jerry N
5 October 2020|
Answer
Response from swright1982 |
We parked in Morrison’s nearby, parking is free upto 3 hours.
0
Votes
POLLY333
25 November 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Garrett2015 | Reviewed this property |
I’m not very familiar with Diss but we parked near to the duck pond and it was a short walk and you end up in the high street. You can’t miss it from there
0
Votes
MrandMrsL_11
5 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from sarah c | Property representative |
No dogs aren't allowed in or out. Due to the high volume of food they sell
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Waterfront Inn

Yes, The Waterfront Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Waterfront Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4