We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Picture Playhouse

36/38 Western Road | Weathersppon, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1DY, England
+44 1424 819500
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (10 reviews)
“burger” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
36/38 Western Road | Weathersppon, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1DY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Been to many wetherspoon pubs now this has too be one of the best we've visited clean and service first class no waiting at bar and food served quickly staff are on the ball with service and all have ear pieces in to communicate to...More

Thank dicokent
Reviewed 3 days ago

In their usual way, Wetherspoons have moved into a large building of note, this time the Old Cinema in a main street , so parking was somewhat difficult. Also we should have booked because it was extremely busy even on a Thursday (curry night), so...More

Thank B F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We tried going on a Monday but the place was packed due to Quiznight. Tried again a couple days later and were not disappointed. The interior looks amazing. Staff is super friendly and even let us move some tables to accommodate our lager group of...More

Thank Cora H
georgehotel6284, Manager at The Picture Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for a great review. The Quiz is a event we have just launched every Monday and is proving very popular. However I’m glad it didn’t Interupt your visit and that you enjoyed your time with us . We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was in Wetherspoons Bexhill last week and thoroughly enjoyed so we took visiting family for lunch today. How disappointing ! The app to order doesn't cater for soft drinks, these had to be ordered and paid for separately at the bar. The British beef chilli...More

Thank Voyager707066
georgehotel6284, Manager at The Picture Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly we are very sorry that your visit didn’t meet expectations. The app does offer soft drinks however you have to navigate around the app to find them. Our full menu range is available on the app. I’m sorry that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in here for dinner on Saturday as on holiday... It's clean ,tidy n lovely surroundings.... upstairs is an outdoor area were you can sit with no fear from birds...lol....it's covered in netting.... As a lovely day we sat upstairs....staff were friendly n chatty... Food...More

Thank gingermags181267
georgehotel6284, Manager at The Picture Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a great review. We are glad we could offer a great place for you to eat and relax whilst on holiday . The seagull protection in the garden is a great addition to the outdoor area as it means you can eat...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived early for lunch on a Saturday which was a good move as it is obviously very popular for couples and families. Extensive choice of food and drink, nicely presented and served with a smile. Prices very reasonable compared to other places in the town....More

Thank tazzat7
georgehotel6284, Manager at The Picture Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for a great review. It Was definetly a good choice to arrive just that little bit earlier as we do experience very high volumes on a Saturday.. We look forward to your next visit Many Thanks Becky Dunkley Pub Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Usual selection of real ales and ciders but the gin fest caught the trouble and strife’s eye whilst passing by for a quick lunch. Tanquery No.10 & Gordons Pink at excellent prices whilst I had the Old Buzzard dark ale from the Cotleigh Brewery in...More

Thank TheGuv-and-Bolli
georgehotel6284, Manager at The Picture Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for a fantastic review. Gin Festival was a new event for us this year and with great success although we have extended our gin range overall within the pub because of the increased popularity. We are glad we was able to provide a pleasant...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to find a good restaurant you don’t know , just go to the toilet and check is it clean or not. It’s a good place with lot of food and drinks with cheap prize.

Thank tomthachett
georgehotel6284, Manager at The Picture Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for a great review , we are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and are glad you find all aspects of the pub clean. Hope to see you again soon Many Thanks Becky Dunkley Pub Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sadly this place is going downhill. It started very well with good food and excellent service. On our last visit I thought it was a glitch. But, the service has deteriorated, they are slow to clear tables and dont even wipe them down.On our last...More

Thank Philip B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What you'd expect a Wetherspoons to be. Good range of beers, very reasonably priced, usual food. Very good roof garden, restaurant is separate. Dodgy fag smokers outside on a Saturday afternoon.

Thank terrysingh
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Northern Hotel
47 reviews
.45 km away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
1,122 reviews
3.22 km away
Royal Victoria Hotel
964 reviews
5.96 km away
Eagle House Hotel
171 reviews
6.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Wickham Bistro
135 reviews
.16 km away
The Culinaire
212 reviews
.12 km away
Athena's Fish & Chips
340 reviews
.09 km away
Bentleys Steakhouse
566 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Egerton Park
248 reviews
.45 km away
Bexhill Beach
510 reviews
.39 km away
Bexhill Museum
155 reviews
.47 km away
De La Warr Pavilion
783 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James D
9 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from georgehotel6284 | Property representative |
Thanks for your question . We have a special food and nutrition guideline and check sheet which lists every item we sell and it's content so you can look and check every item of food we sell to see it's content. if we are... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36/38 Western Road | Weathersppon, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1DY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bexhill-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 819500
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing