We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell

) #1 of 5 Restaurants in Ticehurst $$ - $$$ , British,
High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
+44 1580 200234
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (47 reviews)
“pork belly” (6 reviews)
“the pub” (71 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 465 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

For my husband's birthday lunch yesterday we chose The Bell as it sounded interesting, quirky and the food got good reviews, also dog friendly. Our first visit there for five of us, we were six in total. Good table space, plenty of room and we...More

Thank Sarah T
Reviewed 3 days ago

Some serious effort on the part of the owners has made this a very interesting place. The garden in particular is a wonder of inventiveness. Three good real ales were on draught and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The menu is intriguingly presented...More

Thank Strumplucker
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Strumplucker and thank you for writing your review of the Bell. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you soon. We're aware of the current menu restrictions and are in the process of putting a new menu together. Regards Howard

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Superb. Local produce which was wonderfully cooked and presented. Great advice about local bitter and cider. Happy!

Thank Nik B
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Nik B and thank you for taking the time to review lunch at the Bell. We're happy you're happy! Regards Howard

Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here on the recommendation of my B&B host, and was happy that I did. The pub features very pleasant decor, and the menu was largish and interesting . Had a lovely dinner of hake served with yummy semi-crunchy veg, preceded by a starter of...More

Thank gotboxr
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello gotboxr and thank you for writing your review of dinner at the Bell. On the basis that you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you soon! Regards Howard

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked here after stumbling across it online whilst I booked a trip for a couple of days to view Bewl Water and Bedgebury Gardens etc. I wasn't disappointed and the cabin was fun to stay in. It had a good speaker system in the...More

Thank MouseFoodie
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello MouseFoodie and thank you for reviewing your stay at the Bell. Your review sums us up nicely. Thank you for spreading the word! Regards Howard

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were for a wedding, the place was gorgeous very well decorated.we had the chance to stay the night in one of the room of the pub. The room was up the kitchen, I wouldn't recommand to anyone to choose this room if you want...More

Thank Matt M
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Matt M and thank you reviewing your stay at the Bell. I'm glad you enjoyed the wedding but am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay particularly. We have plenty of other nice quite rooms if you fancy a return visit - and we won't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went last night, on the off chance [isn't that what pubs are for?], got there 8.50, 2 barmaids fuffing around behind bar, had to wait till 9.10 to get there attention, let alone get served [they only managed to serve 2 other people in that...More

Thank sean s
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello sean s and thank you for reviewing your visit to the Bell. I'm sorry your visit didn't go well and I can't imagine why it would have taken 20 minutes for you to get served. I am sorry, and sorry too that we won't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although the Bell seems popular among visitors, the meal I received seemed to suggest otherwise; the burger was not above average and the chips had been served undercooked. Given this, although the staff were friendly and the service relatively quick, I cannot recommend The Bell.More

Thank india_evanss
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello india_evanss and thank you for writing your review of the Bell. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your burger or chips and that you cannot recommend us. We receive many, many good comments from customers who enjoy our homemade burgers and it's...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Based on a review in the Kent and Sussex Courier where it was reported the Bell came first in the region, in the National Pub and Bar Awards, my boyfriend and I decided to have a meal there on Bank Holiday Monday evening. Unfortunately two...More

Thank Susan E
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Susan E and thank you for taking the time to review your meal at the Bell. I really am most terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us and that we were below par. I am sorry that one or two...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We incidentally chose this pub for an overnight stay during our roadtrip of South England. And we absoultely loved it! All. Our room and its stylish decorations, the restaurant, the food we had for dinner, the ambiance, the breakfast next morning. Would definitely come back...More

Thank Tina K
Howard C, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Tina K and thank you for reviewing your stay at the Bell. I'm delighted that your road trip brought you to our doorstep. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Howard

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bull Inn
124 reviews
.93 km away
Spice Cottage
37 reviews
.03 km away
The Greedy Goat Cafe
43 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Arena Pursuits
5 reviews
2.08 km away
Pashley Manor Gardens
242 reviews
2.15 km away
Bedgebury National Pinetum and Forest
489 reviews
4.04 km away
Scotney Castle Garden
1,092 reviews
5.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
lauratuck2017
I have booked a double room at this hotel and I'm sure it comes with breakfast too, As when i booked it said double room or room only! is this right?
27 March 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Ginga_John | Reviewed this property |
To be honest I have no idea, I stayed in a lodge and never made breakfast once as the late nights did not readily transend into early mornings, the staff are really friendly and a quick call should get you the answer you need
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$44
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Ticehurst
  • Phone Number: +44 1580 200234
  • E-mail
Description
The Bell is a truly quirky pub with rather marvellous rooms in the heart of the village of Ticehurst, East Sussex. Warm and comfortable with extraordinary events and intuitive hospitality, weddings and celebrations a bit of a speciality.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing