We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke of Wellington

The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
+44 1245 380246
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good20%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (7 reviews)
“fish and chips” (11 reviews)
“sea bass” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not a big choice of beers and sadly they didn't have some of the menu available (we visited on a Tuesday at about 7pm), also one of our party had an hour wait for a burger - otherwise pretty good. Staff is friendly and helpful...More

Thank Goda G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit hit and miss despite having a typical pub grub menu that does not change. We have had some reasonable food here in the past but tonight will go down as a miss. Cold food that had to be returned served in a semi...More

Thank Roy T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My brother and I stopped here on the way back from watching West Ham. He had passed before and not gone in. He ordered sausage and mash which arrived quickly and he said it was gorgeous. I opted for scampi and chips which was excellent....More

Thank Pamela F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much to Sarah and her team for making NYE at the Duke a happy place to be. The food and service was top notch. Well served and skilfully paced to match the flow of the evening. Our table looked delightful. Perfectly laid...More

Thank Hatfield4563
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review. Without you our guest we can’t make the difference, so thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have dined in many various establishments at high end as well as at the pub. This restaurant most certainly is excellent. Firstly we asked for the surf & turf, was 86 as was many other items on the menu. We settled for the rib...More

Thank leslie m
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We have investigated the incident and have addressed the issue we are sorry this spoiled your occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Another visit to the duke to see if things have improved with the new manager.we were still disappointed to find our pre booked table was not honoured and so many items of food and drink on the menu not available.when can we have the service...More

Thank Catfoo
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Unfortunately over our busiest season there are a lot of item which become unavailable. I do hope that we can welcome you back on another occasion.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Everything is average, no complaints, standard fair without flair, reasonably cheap. Have been a few times if cant be bothered to cook and price reflects what you get. So its OK nothing further to say.

Thank nickrutter2016
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon to cook you a wonderful meal and of course we do the washing up too.

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Visited the Duke for a work's Christmas meal. Sarah made organising everything really easy. The atmosphere was lovely and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was good and we didn't have to wait long, even though the pub was...More

Thank Jane O
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 15 December 2017

Great atmosphere with a good selection of meals including vegan and vegetarian. Service was great as usual, especially Freija who always has a big smile whenever i go in.

Thank dsdshopping
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 11 December 2017

Sarah has really turned the Duke of Wellington around, the service is very good the food is cooked to your liking and is fresh and presented well, the staff are very helpful and attentive. We use the Duke of Wellington two or more times a...More

Thank 34ringo
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Both myself and my team have worked hard to make some changes and we are so pleased that these are noticed and recognised by our wonderful guests. We look forward to welcoming you back always

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hatfield Peverel Hotels
White Hart Hotel
141 reviews
3.78 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
498 reviews
5.66 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
692 reviews
6.07 km away
Rivenhall Hotel
412 reviews
6.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wheatsheaf Pub
122 reviews
.72 km away
William B
527 reviews
.76 km away
D's Cafe Diner
6 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
River Walk
55 reviews
3.81 km away
Witham Library
23 reviews
3.92 km away
Dorothy L Sayers Statue
20 reviews
4.09 km away
Witham Town Hall
10 reviews
3.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KDCK13
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LabOwner33 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, the garden is a good area for children (though noisy, it's right next to the A12)
1
Vote
viv b
4 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rich W | Property representative |
Many thanks for letting us know, sadly we are unable to change this. If you contact the Trip Advisor team then I'm sure that they will be able to assist. We look forward to seeing you again.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Hatfield Peverel
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 380246
  • E-mail
Description
The Duke of Wellington is a busy pub in the heart of Hatfield Peverel. It is just 7 miles outside Chelmsford, and the perfect place for anything from a light lunch to a three course dinner. We have an exstensive wine menu with a range of world wines, and a cask marque for our real ale. Recently rated 4star by the food assosiation and environmental health.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing