We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Head

Hight Street, North Weald, England
+44 1992 525001
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good20%
  • Average17%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“wagyu burger” (3 reviews)
“sea bass” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Hight Street, North Weald, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Great night in the kings head. Food,music and dancing. Great pub, but too convenient, I keep going back.More

Thank Stephen W
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Stephen, We are so glad you had a great visit for a messy night1 Thank you for coming to our Royal Wedding reception and supporting your local pub though I do apologise that it is too convenient for you, unfortunately you will have to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

appalingly overpriced food of a dismal nature. The so called coconut and sweet potato curry was a minuscule helping of white rice squashed in a bowl with a desert spoon full of a curry sauce over it. No svegetables in the sauce with three sweet...More

Thank Jackie M
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Jackie, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We would like to apologise you felt that the dish that you ordered was not up to the expected standard, this is the specification for the dish however we would be happy to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the Kings Head this evening for dinner. My husband had a steak and mushroom pie and I had the salmon fish cakes. Both meals were very tasty with lovely fresh vegetables. We then shared a raspberry milkshake cheesecake which was delicious. The two...More

Thank Sandra J
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, We love to get great feedback especially about our great service and tasty meals. If your husband enjoyed the Steak and Mushroom Pie then you should 100% come and try our pie...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just been charged £9.60 for 2 drinks that usually cost £7.60! Full of herself barmaid, apparently in charge while Emma is away. 12 ounce glass with spirit and loads of ice charged for 12 ounces of diet Pepsi!!! Seriously she needs training!!!More

Thank Ann H
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ann, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your concerns over pricing. Whilst I appreciate previously you have been charged a certain amount unfortunately this is n longer the correct sum of money. This change is due...More

Reviewed 20 April 2018

Booked a table for four on on sunday Had to Queue to get are drink at the bar. The bar the bar was very busy at that time..There was only one barmaid trying to serve us .In the restaurant there was only one waitress trying...More

Thank David M
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi David, I would like to apologise if you experienced a long wait on your visit and assure you that this isn't our usual standard of service at the Kings Head. I am glad however, that you enjoyed the food & would reccomend us. Thank...More

Reviewed 12 April 2018

Popped in for lunch at 13:30 on Thursday, car park was busy and restaurant full, but plenty of table in the bar which were nice, and the open fire was welcoming. Only 2 staff on which was a shame as it meant bit of a...More

Thank Rick E
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Rick, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to us - is is good to hear that you enjoyed the food & atmopshere on the day. I will pass your comments along to the team who will be pleased to know...More

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Booked table for 8 on a rainy Monday lunchtime and was surprised how busy the restaurant was. Delicious mushroom starter and garlic sticks. Proper thick ham with eggs and chips, cod and chips with mushy peas deemed to be yummy. Good selection of puds and...More

Thank winchmoren21
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit here and hope you will be back soon. It is always good to receive feedback on where we can improve as we continually aim to provide excellent service. Regards, The Kings Head

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I had planned a visit to a country pub for a family lunch on bank holiday Monday. I did my research online and came across the King's Head. They have an extensive menu and also a separate vegan menu, which I thought was quite impressive....More

1  Thank Lucy H
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Lucy, Firstly, please let me apologise for everything you have mentioned in your above comment. I appreciate the honest feedback and I am truly sorry that these matters weren't dealt with correctly on the day of your visit - so that you may have...More

Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I vist kings head today the staff are amazing (Ricky and Michelle ) I take my hat of to the manager Emma she has turned the pub/ restaurant round in such a short time great foodMore

Thank Simon H
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Simon, Thank you for leaving us such an amazing 5 star review, we always love hearing such good feedback and its great to know we are still hitting the expectation for our guests . We love to be recognised for all the hard work...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere friendly staff nothing fancy tables well spaced no overcrowding good service . Good selection of beers drinks etc

Thank wendyphillips709
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, if there is anything we could do to get a 5 star from you please feel free to contact us and we would love your feedback. Many Thanks The Kings Head Team

Nearby HotelsSee all North Weald Hotels
Elmcroft Guest House
54 reviews
.03 km away
Harlow North Weald
9 reviews
.56 km away
The Bell Hotel Epping
435 reviews
5.23 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
675 reviews
5.38 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cinnamon Restaurant
270 reviews
.26 km away
Naafi Restaurant &The Squadron Mess Bar
40 reviews
1.27 km away
The Kings Head
40 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Car Limits
147 reviews
.56 km away
North Weald Airfield Museum
12 reviews
.59 km away
Chigwell Tours and Visits
26 reviews
.22 km away
Hover Limits
9 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Becca R
5 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Phil E | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I dont have a dog so cant say , suggest you give them a call
8 March 2016|
Response from Chickie68 | Reviewed this property |
I think many people feel the same way. What was once a great village pub, great food, friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere. Is now the total opposite. It's filthy! There is an awful smell coming From around the end of... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hight Street, North Weald, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  North Weald
  • Phone Number: +44 1992 525001
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing