We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Head

Hight Street, North Weald, England
+44 1992 525001
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good20%
  • Average18%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible24%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (4 reviews)
“wagyu burger” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hight Street, North Weald, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Waited over an hour to order our food from 4.30 Sunday. There was about 3 roast dinners but they were gone, the pork and chicken pie were also unavailable. After 1.5 hours we saw 2 tables send their cold food back and leave At this...More

Thank GRCom
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Grcom, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Sold out of everything we ordered ham egg chips lamb shank roast chicken Cheese board Steak was cold n tough

1  Thank Natalie B
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Natalie B, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We booked here having tried other Vintage Inns. Whilst a very historic building the services was iffy and food not brilliant. Waitress didn't seem to know how to operate the electronic ordering device. Hence, forgot a starter which arrived after all the others had finished....More

1  Thank ace97
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Ace, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 28 August 2017

This was our third visit to the King’s Head while staying with our family in Essex. We had been there for Sunday lunch twice before and this time we were there for an evening meal. There was a good choice of starters and sharing platters....More

8  Thank Sandygranny
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The King's Head, North Weald. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Operated by the successful Oakman Inns group, I was not disappointed when we had Sunday lunch here.There was a good choice but I opted for the Roast Beef which was delicious and I counted no less than 6 different veg on my plate plus potatoes....More

Thank vincent12089
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Vincent12089, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The King's Head, North Weald!

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

This is a very good pub friendly staff good service good choice of beers but the food lacks the little things that make food stand out the sandwiches lacked any green stuff and are very basic

Thank Mick c
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Mick C, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 30 July 2017

The meal and service was great , although a couple of items on the menu were unavailable , the food was excellent . There was a discrepancy with the final bill as we were charged for two minor items we did not receive .All things...More

1  Thank Debbie W
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Debbie W, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Impromptu lunch. Pleasantly surprised by how much it had changed for the better. Staff were very warm and friendly and food was lovely.

Thank dgregg2017
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 30 June 2017

I didn't know the Kings Head, looked for a pub close to Ashlyns Farm as the kids were going to a birthday and I needed to get some work done. I drove past, thought yes, dropped kids off and headed back for a few hours...More

Thank Suchard12
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 26 June 2017

I use to visit this pub at least twice a month and always the food and staff were amazing. In fact we went so often my family I hosted my Nan's funeral here. Particularly the bar man Danny. He was a real character but the...More

1  Thank ksb9x
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cinnamon Restaurant
248 reviews
.26 km away
Naafi Restaurant &The Squadron Mess Bar
31 reviews
1.27 km away
The Kings Head
29 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Epping Ongar Railway
372 reviews
.22 km away
Car Limits
135 reviews
.55 km away
North Weald Market
28 reviews
1.04 km away
North Weald Airfield Museum
11 reviews
.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Loulou240987
8 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Chickie68 | Reviewed this property |
I think many people feel the same way. What was once a great village pub, great food, friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere. Is now the total opposite. It's filthy! There is an awful smell coming From around the end of... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hight Street, North Weald, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  North Weald
  • Phone Number: +44 1992 525001
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing