We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Great Western Arms

) #2 of 3 Restaurants in Blockley $$ - $$$ , British,
Station Road, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9DT, England
+44 1386 700362
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (23 reviews)
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Station Road, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9DT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on a Saturday having walked across the fields from Greystone Farm with our dog. The food was beautifully presented and wad possibly the best fish and chips I have ever had. Pleasant court yard garden.

2  Thank GailVSmith
Reviewed 1 week ago

Could not have been nicer! Friendly service. Great food and drink, buzzing atmosphere and dog friendly. Everything a family country pub should be!

1  Thank Sunny E
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great pub with good bar food with a warm welcome. Ordered lunch for the 7 of us and it arrived quickly and well presented. Food was all as described and was both plentiful and tasty. Nice atmosphere with attentive staff

2  Thank Oyster42
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have eaten here three times while visiting the area and not been disappointed once. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the food is great, the cider is great and the staff amazing.

1  Thank TrishH248
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We'd been traveling for about 30 hours before arriving at Blockley. All we wanted was something quick and simple. So we ordered a hamburger - what could go wrong - and waited for quite a long time. The reason was later revealed when we exposed...More

Thank John B
Steve A, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John, please accept my sincere apologies, whilst i was not working monday night, is no excuse . I have spoken to our chef regarding this matter. This is a very very rare incident,and has been dealt with , im certainly glad you were not...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a very average Sunday lunch here. Sadly the food wasn't great but the reason I gave 3 points instead of 2 was that the meat that we had for the roast dinners was very good and cooked beautifully. The starters were just ok. I...More

Thank KimSned
Steve A, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kim, i accept your personal review and have taken on board all of your comments, thank you for the positives regarding the staff the service and our ales. I apologise that you were not happy with the food. You were offered a full refund...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were lovely but very inexpierienced and appeared a bit confused. Offered tuna sandwiches with a rotting smell, which I sent back, I then received ''chips' obviously pre-frozen from a packet and a child sized slither of fish in cardboardy 'batter'. No wonder the place...More

Thank Peter D
Steve A, Owner at The Great Western Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Peter, I too am a little confused !! 1) we do not sell sandwiches on our menu 2) we do not employ inexperienced staff 3) our fresh cod fillets come from the fishmonger are all filleted to the same size. Although your awareness on...More

Reviewed 24 June 2017

A friendly local pub. Nice well prepared food. Great friendly service. Would recommend if in the area.

2  Thank B W
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Desperate for supper, we pulled into The Great Western Arms and fully satisfied our palates and our hunger on delicious peppery chicken - it was so moist and a generous helping - fresh, delectable salmon - full of flavour with a variety of well cooked...More

1  Thank Swaygnome
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Fabulous meal, service excellent. Really busy on a Tuesday night which is always a good sign. Can't recommend it highly enough.

1  Thank judedep
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Churchill Arms
290 reviews
1.76 km away
Blockley Village Shop & Cafe
167 reviews
1.83 km away
Horse and Groom
841 reviews
3.66 km away
The Ebrington Arms Restaurant
475 reviews
3.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Freestyle360
25 reviews
.94 km away
Cotswold Falconry Centre
729 reviews
2.96 km away
Bourton House Garden
147 reviews
3.82 km away
Mill Dene Garden
73 reviews
2.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Coleen S
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from OC13 | Reviewed this property |
Plenty of parking within the pub car park
0
Votes
Elaine507
15 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Steve W | Reviewed this property |
12-11pm
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9DT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Moreton-in-Marsh  >  Blockley
  • Phone Number: +44 1386 700362
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing