We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hurdles

Brockbridge, Droxford SO32 3QT, England
+44 1489 290003
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“bread” (26 reviews)
“sunday roast” (17 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Brockbridge, Droxford SO32 3QT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 392 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This place used to be great then a new owner took it backwards. The new team have a great reputation & delivered great food twice in a week. Hope it works out but building owners have a poor reputation locally.

Thank shamus33
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely delicious food; felt much more like a restaurant than a pub, which suited our group well. Super evening and bill wasn’t scary! :)

1  Thank rachelg809
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely to see the hurdles back open again. Had an amazing sunday lunch today (beef followed by a devine cheese board) everything from food to service was execeptional. Cant wait to eat here again

Thank cls2o08
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only been open a couple of days since closing down in the summer, and I'm delighted to say the new proprietor, Edward, has got off to a great start. My wife and I called in on the off-chance, hoping they would reopen before Christmas, and...More

Thank Miles H
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This is a very good place for Sunday Lunch, found a loverly area, dogs weclcome. Great tasty food with fresh vegetables. Have been here several times and never been disappointedMore

Thank tinadudley23
EddHUSK, Owner at The Hurdles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Hurdles and we're glad youve had a good experience, however... its about to get even better... it is now under new ownership. We took the keys in October and are busy busy working on...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Visited here today because the pub we usually go to has a beer festival this weekend and aren't doing food. When we arrived, my husband asked what beers they had and was told that the only beer they have is Doombar or lager. My husband...More

2  Thank hellyb186299774
EddHUSK, Owner at The Hurdles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hurdles. I'm sorry you had such a bad experience when you visited... however... it is now under new ownership. We took the keys in October and are busy busy working on opening mid November....More

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I are visiting from Australia and were staying in a nearby bnb. This hotel was on their recommend list of places to eat. We were very happy with duck meal served. The young man in charge provided great service and was very...More

Thank Shane C
EddHUSK, Owner at The Hurdles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Hurdles and we're glad youve had a good experience, however... its about to get even better... it is now under new ownership. We took the keys in October and are busy busy working on...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stopped by on a Sunday walk for lunch, with our dog. I had an amazing lamb shank lunch, which was delightful. Our Dalmatian loved the bone, too! My partner had sea bass which was rather disappointing in quantity of food, especially when seen side-by-side...More

Thank kevinfff
EddHUSK, Owner at The Hurdles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Hurdles and we're glad youve had a good experience, however... its about to get even better... it is now under new ownership. We took the keys in October and are busy busy working on...More

A TripAdvisor Member
112
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Looks like a restaurant but serves up pub food. Would not recommend to friends to eat. Pop in for a drink but that would be it. Staff are fine..... just wanted a bit moreMore

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EddHUSK, Owner at The Hurdles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hurdles. I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience when you visited... however... it is now under new ownership. We took the keys in October and are busy busy working on opening mid November. Our...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017

What a great shame that this place has gone so down hill.The only good thing about it was the two ladies who were front of house.Our instinct on arrival was was accurate and we should have left there and then but we had brought a...More

3  Thank geoffrey h
EddHUSK, Owner at The Hurdles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hurdles. I'm sorry you had such an awful experience when you visited... however... it is now under new ownership. We took the keys in October and are busy busy working on opening mid November....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bakers Arms
319 reviews
.63 km away
The White Lion
202 reviews
1.81 km away
The Shoe Inn
418 reviews
2.29 km away
The Brickmakers
191 reviews
4.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
The White Horse Droxford
22 reviews
.83 km away
Hambledon Vineyard
38 reviews
4.55 km away
Bishop's Waltham Palace
74 reviews
6.33 km away
HealthSpace
19 reviews
6.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LizBudd
19 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Miles H | Reviewed this property |
Yes, visited tonight, great food and service, review to follow...
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Brockbridge, Droxford SO32 3QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Droxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 290003
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing