We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Oak

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
19 Langstone High Street, Havant PO9 1RY, England
+44 23 9248 3125
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 451: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We'd love to see what the service & food is like here, but have been twice in recent months & stood waiting at the bar for ages to be served & ended up walking out due to lack of staff. Both times have been extremely busy, so presumably a reflection on the poularity of the place. If we're doing a... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevoCar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited with a friend on Saturday evening and although we hadn't booked, a table was found and cleared within minutes. We shared a calamari starter which was very tasty and to our relief, not overcooked. For mains we had the fish and chips which was both delicious and substantial, a large piece of cod in batter and plentiful chips.... More 

Helpful?
Thank HellenHighwater
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon and next time feel free to ask for more custard, or request a good size portion when you order, we are always happy to do this (I too am a believer that desserts should be swimming in custard) More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

if this pub wasn't so convenient for us to walk to, we would never even drink in it again. We went early evening intending to eat from the value menu ( from previous experience £5 - £7 for a meal in this pub is the most we are prepared to pay for such poor quality food). We weren't offered this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and thank you for bringing these issues to my attention, we will take your comments on board. I am very sorry to hear that one bad experience is enough to put you off returning. More 

kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was a last minute choice for a weekday lunch & we were pleased to get a nice table & be able to bring our dogs with us. The atmosphere is friendly with a mix of locals & visitors. It's a nice place to be snug by the open fire with the rain blowing against the windows! There is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sidneycarton
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are always glad to provide shelter from the rain. I am glad you enjoyed your meals and see you soon. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely pub, excellent food and attention from staff. Looking forward to the next trip to the coast to visit the Royal Oak once again.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyM1943
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your visit. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for a morning coffee and were easily convinced by a friendly local to sample the ales, glad we did as the bath gem was superb. Fantastic location too.

Helpful?
Thank chris b
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad you liked the ales, Gem is one of our guest ales which we have regularly on rotation More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a table by the fire and window. Table available as requested. Good selection of meals. Both the ladies had Chicken Tika. I had fish pie. All meals very good severed well by very polite and chatty staff. We visit this pub most weekends in winter,brilliant view and a nice roaring fire. Will be returning

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterB472013
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your meals we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Positives Location Negatives clueless staff, couldn't answer easy 7 questions Horrific food, example £5.49 for 3 calamari rings ( fatty frozen Iceland quality) garlic mushrooms the same! Restaurant prices for sub Wetherspoon food Nothing whatsoever was home made Greene kink pub, say no more but well hidden in all literature Please do not waste any of your time, respect or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham S
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you felt dissatisfied with your meals and your service we will take your comments on board and I will issue further training to my staff, they certainly should not have told you that we stock soya milk as we don't and never have nor do we advertise that we do.... More 

Hants, Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quaint pub, friendly staff, good service. We had Sunday roast and unfortunately, the plate was filled with potatoes (roasted and mash) with a small piece of broccoli, one piece of parsnip and cold carrots and meat. We did not complain about the cold carrots as they were edible and guests at another table had complained about their meals being cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank nevsha
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please never worry about making a fuss. Had you informed us at the time we could have made you fresh hot meals, or even heated your up and brought you some extra veg. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely atmosphere great service thank you for a lovely break on a long walk. Nice size beer garden and you can sit out on the wall with your drink and some chips happy days.

Helpful?
Thank Daisymoouk
Royal O, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we hope to see you again soon, it is lovely to sit in the beer garden or out on the wall in the summer More 

Travellers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 Langstone High Street, Havant PO9 1RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Havant
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9248 3125

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Royal Oak and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Havant, United Kingdom
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Oak staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?