We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Paper Mill

Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
+44 1442 288800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good37%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (6 reviews)
“fullers pub” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have been to the papermill many a time, more recently though just for drinks, tonight I went with a group of friends and booked in the restaurant. Several specials were unavailable despite a 6pm seating, ordered a roast beef, when the food came the portion...More

Thank Kelly S
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy our roast, all your comments will be looked into and passed on to our executive chef. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, as it is the...More

A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have never visited this place before. Having just returned back to the UK I was really looking forward to a traditional roast. I was not left disappointed. The variety of vegetables wasn't very good however everything was tasty and well cooked. The service was rather...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for the 4 star review. We are happy to hear you liked our traditional Sunday Roast. Hope to see you back soon. Thanks Sam and Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poor quantity, lacking in taste and what I would call expensive for pub food. Poor menu. I wouldn't go back for food. Be nice for a few drinks outside on a warm evening. Hotel stay nearby, living on expenses, so not as if I paid...More

Thank ChipoSticko
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us here. We pride ourselves on making fresh, seasonal, tasty dishes. Our staff are trained to ask about your meal and I am sorry if that was not the case on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Prior to visit I didn't know this place existed! Great day out. Went with friends ( we had prebooked). On arrival we were greeted with tea/coffee then had a very informative talk about the history of paper, followed by a trip down the canal on...More

Thank Evahertfordshire
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour. Thanks Sam and Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I often use this for business meetings over lunch. There is always room in the car park, the service is quick & the staff are nice. The food is not the cheapest but consistently good with a wide range. It usually comes promptly & I...More

Thank BigblueAl
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Thank you Al, for your feedback. Really happy to hear that you enjoy The Paper Mill and I hope too see you back here soon. Thanks Sam

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had fish and chips my friend had ribs. Very generous portions and freshly made. Couldn't eat it all but waiter packed it up very well for us to take home. Staff very helpful. Only downside is that it's a bit pricey and was a...More

Thank YvonnePrice
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello Yvonne, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, I am glad you enjoyed all the food you had and I will be speaking with the floor staff to make sure we are clearing tables away in a timely manner, Kind...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here; there was a duo playing and the atmosphere was great: we were given a table upstairs quickly. The service was fantastic and the food excellent. Highly recommend this place.

Thank SallyBrown65
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello Salle, Thanks for your amazing review, we have live music at the end of every month, look forward to seeing you again in the ear future, The Paper Mill Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate in the restaurant with a friend who has to have gluten free food. The waitress and the chefs went to great lengths to ensure that our friend had a really good meal and even adapted one of the starters to suit him. Very...More

Thank TheHarrisfamily
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello Harris Family, An amazing review and I will be sure to pass your comments onto all of our staff, See you again soon in the near future, The Paper Mill Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Because we were a party of nineteen, we weren't surprised to be asked by phone, weeks earlier, to select a roast Sunday lunch for all of us for our 2p.m. start. However, when we arrived many of us were pleased that we were all offered...More

Thank Colin S
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hello Colin, Thank you for your review, I believe you were the group that visited us after the Paper Trail don the road. We always do our best to go beyond customers expectations and create a wonderful dining environment. Look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017

ate here twice while staying at a nearby hotel, the 1st day was Mothers Day, there was only a set menu on offer, it was not cheap, but was OK food, the second meal was a lunch which was nice but pretty standard, the place...More

Thank darrenand
David C, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this review

Hi Darren, I do apologise that your visit co-insided with Mother's day due to the volume we like to reduce the menu so that we can keep the quality and consistency throughout the day. We do usually offer our full menu every day plus a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Watling Street Cafe
5 reviews
.68 km away
K2 Balti House
368 reviews
1.26 km away
Bull Rodizio
237 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Snow Centre
1,404 reviews
1.28 km away
Frogmore Paper Mill - The Paper Trail
68 reviews
.74 km away
Planet Ice - Ice Rink
50 reviews
1.23 km away
XC
44 reviews
1.23 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Ian C
Do you put pepper on everything?
5 February 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Maura J | Reviewed this property |
Suggest if you have allergic or dislike of pepper that you contact the Paper Mill direct. I have never experienced an issue with excessive seasoning.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 288800
  • E-mail