We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lytton's

Letchworth Lane | Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel, Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
+44 1462 683747
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (25 reviews)
“ham hock” (5 reviews)
“steak” (18 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Letchworth Lane | Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel, Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Excellent food and friendly staff, i had fish of the day and my husband had rib eye steak. our deal was three courses from a set menu plenty of choice, you could have anything off the other menu with small supplement.More

Thank Sam K
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Sam K, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The chef and I are very pleased to hear you were happy with the variety of food choices from our Dinner Inclusive/Set Menu. We always strive to give each guest the best...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I purchased a Groupon voucher for two nights at the dissapointing Letchworth Hall Hotel. The voucher included a three course dinner and breakfast each morning: both were very good, although the waitress was new and wasn't trained or briefed on the menu...More

Thank Chris G
Management response:Responded 5 days ago

Dear Chris G, Thank you for taking the time to review Lyttons Restaurant which seemed to serve you well during your stay. I have seen your review regarding the noise that evening and can only express my sincere apologies. I will be using this review...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a meal with a large group of friends and family here, the food was very nice and well presented. The staff were very attentive and professional, giving us what felt like the VIP treatment. Very pleased with the experience here all round and woudl...More

Thank Honest_Traveller85
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Honest_Traveller85, Firstly, thank you for your lovely comments regarding the food, the chef will be very pleased to hear his work is appreciated and works tirelessly to provide the best he can. I will be passing your comments onto the whole restaurant team as...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As part of our Groupon deal stay at the adjoining Letchworth Hall Hotel, we were treated to a three course dinner in the Lytton's restaurant. After a warm welcome from the host we were seated immediately and offered drinks and a roll. The meal was...More

Thank BenJamInnVG
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear BenJamInnVG, Can I say how fantastic it is to read such a positive and in-depth review about both the food and service. The chef will be delighted to hear your comments with regards to his dishes that he strives to perfect, even with them...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017

We went for my Mum's birthday lunch on Sunday. The food was terrible, very poor quality and cold. The Sunday dinner roast dinner was a pile of cold mashed potatoes, 2 roast potatoes (awful), Yorkshire pudding, over cooked cold meat and one kale leaf. No...More

2  Thank mandymw2017
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Mandymw2017, Firstly, may I express my sincere apologies with regards to the food you received on this day. Here at Lyttons, we pride ourselves on a classic Sunday roast and I will be passing your comments onto the chef to ensure that this does...More

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

The food was out of this world. The staff were so friendly Steak cooked just as my husband asked Could not say one faultMore

Thank tracyHatfield
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear tracyHatfield, Being a big fan of steak myself, I couldn't agree more with how perfect it is when the cut comes out just as you like it. Thank you for this fantastic review as the chef is always appreciative of any comments made regarding...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017

No service at all, had to walk out due to feeling invisable....had to ask for a drink after waiting 40 minutes from being seated. Food terrible, waited 40 minutes for desert just got up and walked out. Absolutely discusseded.More

1  Thank gt223
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear gt223, I can only express my sincere apologies for the service you recieved during your visit. I will be taking these comments up with the team and we only strive to deliver excellence to all of our guests. Wherever possible, we aim to rectify...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Very clean and good food set menu with about 4 choices on each starters mains and desserts good choice of beers wines and soft drinks. Excellent service and very well presentedMore

Thank rcooper404
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear rcooper404, I am pleased to hear you were happy with the variety of food we offer for our set menu guests. These comments will be passed onto the team as a reward for their hard work and so as they constantly strive to deliver...More

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

A group of us went here for afternoon tea on Mothers Day, even though they were very busy the staff were attentive and helpful. We had my two grandchildren with us and they even made some extra sandwiches for them that they loved (Nutella was...More

Thank Susan D
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Susan D, Thank you for your kind words within your review, I am certain the staff will be over joyed to know that their hard work is recognised. We strive to provide excellent service for all our guests, even being versatile for any Little...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Booked an afternoon tea for mother's day and was pretty disappointed with the experience. The exterior of the hotel isn't particularly pleasing. It looks like a higgeldy piggeldy collection of extensions in different styles. The grounds are pretty non -existent - there was a fountain...More

Thank srubes_80
Jake B, Manager at Lytton's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear srubes_80 I was deeply saddened to hear that you experienced service which we do not usually provide. I will be speaking to the team regarding this and use it as a training tool in order to ensure it does not happen again. With regards...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fox at Willian
592 reviews
.70 km away
Three Horseshoes
90 reviews
1.41 km away
The Broadway Carvery
159 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Broadway Cinema
337 reviews
1.72 km away
Chesfield Downs Golf Club
32 reviews
2.49 km away
Hitchin Lavender
480 reviews
3.08 km away
Virgin Balloon Flights - Graveley
5 reviews
2.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Richard W
What time does the restaurant open in the evenings?
5 September 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from NelliePhant | Reviewed this property |
Officially it opens at 7pm however they opened at 6.30pm for us as we were a large group. Food is always available at the Bar.
1
Vote
tracey f
What is the dress code please
11 November 2015|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from Fleacolvin | Reviewed this property |
Smart Casual. But there will be some in jeans etc
0
Votes
Lienite1
Hello, we are staying at Letchworth Hall Hotel in March and would like to have a birthday dinner on Saturday night in your restaurant. Where can I view the menu, I do not seem to find it. Do you accept tastecard for 4 people on Sat night? Thank you!
10 February 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from ChrissieEssex | Reviewed this property |
Hi I am not sure about the Tastecard but you can view menu on line on the Letchworth Hall Hotel website re Lyttons Restaurant. Hope you find it as good as we did
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Letchworth Lane | Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel, Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Letchworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 683747
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Mercure Letchworth Hall
Description
Restaurant of the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel, which has its own tripAdvisor page for review:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g503876-d248884-Reviews-Mercure_Letchworth_Hall-Letchworth_Hertfordshire_England.html
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing