We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach & Horses

) #35 of 78 Restaurants in Deal $$ - $$$ , British,
The Coach & Horses Sandwich Road | Hacklinge, Deal CT14 0AT, England
+44 1304 617063
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“meat pie” (2 reviews)
“sundae” (2 reviews)
“garlic bread” (2 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Coach & Horses Sandwich Road | Hacklinge, Deal CT14 0AT, England
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Our daughter has driven past this pub many times and decided to take us there for Fathers Day. There were seven of us including 3 children. We booked (thankfully) as they did not serve food in the garden today -being Father's Day - as they...More

Thank Christeys
Reviewed 1 week ago

This family-run pub and restaurant is conveniently located between Sandwich and Deal. The staff are friendly and obliging. The owners have created several little private nooks and crannies, and the garden room is very inviting, as well as the wider garden being child and family...More

Thank pymmumford
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I don't live far from here and have visited 10+ times over the last few years. It is a nice pub/restaurant to look at, and sit in. Unfortunately it is hard to feel welcome there. The Owners are nice enough, but unfortunately don't seem to...More

Thank PigsandBread
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great atmosphere, great food, great prices Fruity Beth helped my mother find her long lost kiwi in her knickerbocker glory ! And it didn't taste bad either Well done Beth, made my mother laugh 😎

Thank Michael T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had roast beef, my mother had the roast turkey, it was hot, perfectly edible but probably not a memorable gastronomic experience. Very busy and backed up in the kitchen. Staff pleasant though.

Thank Anna F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called in here for lunch after cycling at nearby Betteshanger Country Park. From the moment we walked in, the staff were welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The pub has a lovely beer garden with plenty of seating. The menu is...More

1  Thank B1r1yani
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with my husband today and we both enjoyed plaice and prawn parcels served with a sauce and perfectly cooked vegetables. Widely varied menu caters for all thus making the Coach and Horses a good venue for families. Vegetarians also well catered for. The Staff...More

2  Thank Linda W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eight of us stopped here for lunch after visiting Betteshangar Park. The garden was absolutely lovely and the staff very friendly. All the food, from an interesting and varied menu, was very good indeed. My rare steak was cooked perfectly. This place is easy to...More

1  Thank andy s
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went with my mother in law and niece for lunch today, and what a glorious, sunny day we had! We sat in the garden, and it was superb. The atmosphere was so relaxed, and the staff were all so, so friendly. In particular Gemma...More

1  Thank Heidi I
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Stopped at this pub for a Sunday lunch as they advertise all day dining. Got there at 2.45 to be told that they have run out of Sunday Roast but had their other many available. so, we ordered Sausages and mash and i had meat...More

Thank traveller01274
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Blue Pigeons Brasserie
230 reviews
2.18 km away
Samphire Restaurant at The Blazing Donkey
259 reviews
2.29 km away
Appie's Tearoom & Gallery
27 reviews
3.34 km away
The Five Bells Eastry Restaurant
55 reviews
3.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Church of St Peter & St Paul
6 reviews
2.18 km away
The Blue Pigeons Bar
5 reviews
2.18 km away
Deal Maritime & Local History Museum
66 reviews
3.51 km away
Betteshanger Park
129 reviews
1.33 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Mondewel
Been here last weekend. Worst place I've ever been. Would never go back. Owners tight as anything. All measured even the sauces in little pots. Food tiny portions& tasteless. Bloody misers. Friendly waitress though. They probably paying her pittance bless her. U know by the look of them they're tight. Signs everywhere for what?!?
27 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Mondewel |
I agree. Wouldn't go back there. Very disappointing
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$18
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Coach & Horses Sandwich Road | Hacklinge, Deal CT14 0AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Deal
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 617063
  • E-mail
Description
Family friendly restaurant with a traditional menu and specials every day. Dog Friendly. We serve food all day every day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing