We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Three Mariners

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
509 Lower Rainham Road | Lower Rainham, Gillingham ME8 7TN, England
+44 1634 231137
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 16:00
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Wed - Sat 18:00 - 20:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
Durham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having discovered it by chance, now I aim to eat at The Three Mariners for every special occasion. However, you should be aware that you must book well in advance because they are very popular! The food is great, one of the greatest I tested in the area. It loosely follow pub food but don't let yourself deceived by this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Picatura
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having booked a table by phone for 6 people we were looking forward to a glorious dinner. Unfortunately on arrival we were informed outside by a young man that no food was served after 4pm but that they hadn't saved my contact details to inform us. He apologised for his error. I have been here before and recognised the manager... More 

Helpful?
Thank LJT646
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your planned visit was cut short. disappointed yes I'm sure you were. We have always served Sunday Lunch till 4pm and at the time you arrived our kitchen staff had left for the day. Your booking was taken be a new member of our team for 5pm in error but using the telephone call back... More 

kent
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A group of friends came for a catch up and dinner here. The pub has a lovely warm atmosphere (and log fire!) with a nice mix of people. All our food was freshly cooked and tasty and reasonably priced too. There is one obvious star of the pub is Poppy the dog!! What a cutie. We will all be back!... More 

Helpful?
Thank mandybkent
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

Yes Poppy is the Star of the Pub and always offers a friendly welcome More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went on a Sunday for a roast dinner after going for a walk at the nearby coastal walk. We had not booked but there were a couple of tables available. I would recommend booking as I think we were just very lucky that day. There is a good selection of cask ales and all the usual pub drinks. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank richiesmithgore
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

We thank you for your full and frank review and hoping that you will return soon More 

Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

Nice pub with large garden & large parking. The lunchtime meals were very good, big hamburgers and sandwiches. The staff was very friendly and helpful !

Helpful?
Thank ericboonphoto
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

We hope you made it to London. Thank you for stopping in at The Three Mariners More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

Just had a lovely home cooked Christmas dinner with all the trimmings, proper turkey breast fresh vegetables and plenty of gravy. Very good 3 course meal followed by coffee and mince pies and then a bowl of chocolates! The staff are always friendly and welcoming , highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Maxine U
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review More 

Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

I visited this pub several times over this summer with friends and have enjoyed lovely cold beers and delicious lunchtime meals in the large garden. This time we booked an evening Christmas meal as we have always be pleased with the generous home cooked meals and friendly welcome. We had a great evening and will definitely be visiting again soon.

Helpful?
Thank debbieyork222
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

we had an amazing Christmas dinner it was cooked perfectly ,the cauliflower cheese was to die for and the staff could not do enough for us which made the whole experience wonderful if you are looking for a place to have your Christmas party you would not do better than here

Helpful?
Thank GRAHAMEYERS
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

Returning customers are always good to see More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

This pub does a cost effective meal for OAP's at lunch times and is very friendly. A lot of work is obviously being put in to improve the outside parking and decoration. Anyway, the curry I had today was outstanding. Very tasty and meat on a fine bed of rice. I didn't try any beer but there was a varied... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kees D
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

Many thanks for your glowing review More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Called in on the hope that they had a table for my husband and me,will say a very warm welcome and fairly busy.Shared a starter of whitebait as a general rule I don't do two courses,clean plates cooked right...now the biggest let down on the Sunday roast,choice of beef or chicken breast wrapped in bacon,opted for roast beef...well what can... More 

Helpful?
Thank PAULA T
Steve B, Owner at The Three Mariners, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. You have raised several points all of which we have taken on board. Firstly the Beef served to you was a major disappointment and we are very sorry, the joint concerned was taken out of service as soon as I became aware, we will take issue with our butchers. Our roast potatoes are never... More 

Travellers who viewed The Three Mariners also viewed

 

Been to The Three Mariners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 509 Lower Rainham Road | Lower Rainham, Gillingham ME8 7TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Gillingham
  • Phone Number: +44 1634 231137

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Three Mariners and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Kent, UK
Gillingham, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Three Mariners staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?