We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant

4 High Street, Sandwich CT13 9EA, England
+44 1304 621967
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“goat curry” (39 reviews)
“jerk pork” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 High Street, Sandwich CT13 9EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

our meal was excellent ,could not fault anything .everything ran smoothly as they was 14 of us.i had the roast beef it was the best i have ever had eaten out and they was plenty of vegatables.thank you so much for making my partners mum...More

Thank belsonjane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just kicked off the festive season with a fantastic meal here. I opted for the traditional choice from the menu and couldn't fault it in anyway, delicious, well cooked and plenty of it!! Service was brilliant and the wonderful landlady made us feel...More

Thank dunny42017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first Christmas meal out on Monday evening, the Crispin really pushed the boat with it's beautiful & stylish decorations. We had a super 3 course meal... Especially the sweet potato croquettes. Excellent service and finishing with coffee in the snug. We were made to...More

Thank KImMcLean-Carvell
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Kim for your lovely comments and the plug for the Caribbean food. we are really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas meal out and look forward to seeing you again in the near future Pam and Terry

A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently visited The Crispin for our Christmas dinner.. the food was excellent I can highly recommend it.... staff friendly and very helpful... we were looked after so well it made our evening extra special....

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to review The Crispin, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed you Xmas meal and had a nice time Pam and Terry

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Date night disaster! Doorbell continually goes off to alert staff food is ready. Advised rump steak not on menu 10 minutes after order taken. Swapped for sirloin well done which was red and cold inside. Bill was wrong charged for wine we didn’t have. Service...More

Thank _kate17874
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry we "ruined your night" but I don't think you were going to enjoy your evening wherever you had gone. The irritating door bell lets the staff know that food is in the lift. we tried telepathy but it was not very successful. I...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Only wanted a beer and a tea, but persuaded to have the sausage roll. BRILLIANT. Very friendly bar staff. Would return.

Thank Malcolm G
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Malcolm I'm glad you were tempted by our homemade sausage rolls, ill pass on your comments to Sam who makes them.And thank you for your kind words about the staff Pam and Terry

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Had a really good Sunday lunch here. Caribbean pork and chicken. Lovely flavours and huge portions. Excellent dessert as well. Friendly staff and good service. Will definitely be back.

Thank mmb2018
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The Caribbean roasts are proving to be very popular with people who like a little twist to a traditional roast, so thank you for giving us your feedback. we look forward to seeing you again soon Pam and Terry

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a really good Sunday lunch here. She had a tuna baguette flavoured nicely with dill; I had a roast beef. The food was good and the service excellent. The waitresses were attentive. It's good value too. £9 for a decent...More

Thank John W
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I went here with friends as they had been before. I was not disappointed with the Caribbean cuisine. Large portions and really traditional, you could ask for your dishes to be spicer/hotter if you wanted to. The atmosphere was relaxed and staff smiley and helpful....More

Thank AnnVS
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ann , firstly can I apologise for any delay you had in your service. unfortunately we don't get a lot of bookings and we do get a lot of walk ins which can slow things down. We do warn people if there is a...More

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Saturday night, walked in and found a table straight away. The place was comfortably busy, always a good sign. There is a special board and a lovely menu which also sells Caribbean food. We both had the Rotti Caribbean food and it was delicious. Service...More

Thank Andi F
Tmw4, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Andi Thank you for your review. we are pleased you enjoyed your meals and you found everything to your satisfaction Pam and Terry

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Luigi's
647 reviews
.04 km away
The George & Dragon
680 reviews
.18 km away
Papas The Deep Blue
222 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Salutation Gardens
234 reviews
.27 km away
The Guildhall Museum
44 reviews
.24 km away
St Peter's Church
60 reviews
.34 km away
St Clement's Church
24 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 High Street, Sandwich CT13 9EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sandwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 621967
Description
Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing