We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sparrowhawk

$$ - $$$, British,
Wheatley Lane Road | Fence, Burnley BB12 9QG, England
+44 1282 603034
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wheatley Lane Road | Fence, Burnley BB12 9QG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had the most special wedding meal at the Sparrowhawk. The management went out of their way to accommodate our small wedding party. As per any standard visit, the food was beautiful and the staff were exceptional. Going out of their way to ensure that...More

Thank Chris B
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Chris, Thankyou for taking the time to post your positive review. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and we are extremely pleased that we were able to satisfy your expectations on all levels. Your comments are greatly appreciated and as always will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The pub is very attractively set and is well presented inside. The pub has a good feel about it with a wide range of ales. I had s nice pint of pale ale. Our Sunday lunch was disappointing. We both had roasts. My roast beef...More

Thank Daniel I
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Daniel, Thankyou for taking the time to post your recent review of the Sparrowhawk. It's great to hear your comments about our pub and our fine ales etc. however we are dissapointed that you did not enjoy your Sunday roasts. It would appear that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic food. Could not fault the quality of the food and service. Would definitely recommend to all.More

Thank BurnleyChristine
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Christine, Thankyou very much for taking the time to post your positive review. We are very pleased to see your comments regarding both food and service. Thankyou also for the recommendation. Have a very Merry Christmas and we hope to see you again over...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s not easy to be so categorical - but yes, it was perfect. From the courteous way we were dealt with on the phone (last minute booking) to the final moment we said ‘goodbye’ after a wonderfully satisfying evening. Great welcome (our first visit for...More

Thank ComposerM
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi ComposerM, Thankyou for taking the time to post your positive review. We really appreciate your positive comments concerning food, service and of course our wonderful staff. It's great know that you will be returning, hopefully sooner than another twenty years, and when you do...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Five ‘ladies who lunch’ enjoyed a lovely lunch here yesterday. A friendly welcome, a round table (always better for conversation), a cosy fire, good service, good food and a good price! What is there not to like? We’ll definitely be back.More

Thank SueC1010
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sue Great to read that you and your four friends really enjoyed your recent visit. Your comments will be passed on to all concerned. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the very near future. Please be sure to book to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I popped into the Sparrowhawk on Friday night for an impromptu dinner and, as usual, we were not disappointed. After chatting to the staff we were told the new menu had been launched that day and there were a few new dishes...More

Thank MrsRH86
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MrsRH86, Thankyou very much for posting your recent positive review of The Sparrowhawk. Its good to hear that you and your husband enjoyed our Chefs new menu dishes of hake and steak along with our new desserts. We also appreciate your comments about staff,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say I've been coming to the Sparrowhawk for sometime now but I've only just got over the shock of the food l was served up last Saturday. The place seems to go down hill when Shirley's on leave.... The food l was...More

Thank marcusesmyth
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Marcusesmyth, Firstly thankyou for taking the time to post your review albeit more negative than we would have liked. Having looked into your experience at our end I can confirm the following. The Sparrowhawk does not revolve around one member of staff, quite the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came for a lunch date and hadn't been here for a while. The food was great; I had a really meaty steak and ale pie and the Mrs had duck wraps followed by an amazing sticky toffee pudding. Would definitely visit again soon! Good...More

Thank Russell H
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Russel H, Thankyou very much for taking the time to post your review of the Sparrowhawk. The dishes you mention are just three of our best sellers and it would appear that they all hit the spot yet again. It will be a pleasure...More

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

No decent cider available. Put lime in a drink after asking if I wanted lemon!!. The splash of coke in a large vodka was as flat as water. Prosecco £6:95 was undrinkable. Despite being almost empty in the dining area we were seated inches away...More

Thank Sue L
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sue L Wow, It would appear that you didn't enjoy any part of your recent visit. For clarification purposes I would respond to your criticism as follows. Our Cider range includes four well known popular brands. If they are "not decent", in your opinion,...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

We recently hosted a private Celebration of Life event for about 40 family and friends. The Sparrowhawk staff went out of their way to assist us in planning, setting up and also during our time there. We used the upstairs function room which was beautifully...More

Thank davidormerod1949
LancashireFlatcap, Guest Relations Manager at The Sparrowhawk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi davidormerod 1949 What a fantastic review. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. It's great to hear that we achieved all of your expectations regarding venue, food and staff. Your comments will be passed on to all concerned. We look forward...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Swan
400 reviews
.60 km away
The Bay Horse Inn
258 reviews
1.80 km away
Pendle Village Mill
21 reviews
1.83 km away
Forest Fence
304 reviews
1.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pendle Village Mill
49 reviews
1.75 km away
Inside Spa
140 reviews
2.29 km away
Alice Nutter Statue
22 reviews
2.34 km away
Pendle Heritage Centre
148 reviews
2.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Coral J
16 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from LancashireFlatcap | Property representative |
To avoid confusion we have always been dog friendly in specific areas. Sparrowhawk management.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wheatley Lane Road | Fence, Burnley BB12 9QG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Burnley
  • Phone Number: +44 1282 603034
  • E-mail
Description
Our food is fresh & sourced locally to embrace the flavours of the region. We are Taste Lancashire Highest Quality Assured & members of Made in Lancashire. We offer an extensive wine & also cask ales for which we achieved The Cask Marque Award. Upstairs we have a separate function room for private dining or business occasion. You can always be guaranteed a warm welcome & friendly service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing