We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hogs Head Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
+44 1665 606576
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good30%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (24 reviews)
“stuffing” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 538 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

An absolutely fantastic place to eat with a cosy country atmosphere. All food served at the Hogs Head Inn is of a high quality and very fresh. Shown in the photograph is a pulled pork pizza; this type of pizza is by far my favourite...More

Thank CraigNE
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I booked at the last minute direct from the hotel website which was really easy. As it was a late booking we were not surprised that we were paying a little more but it was a family room an free parking right...More

Thank BrianNortern
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving this great review! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and we would love to welcome you back in again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well stayed here for one night with two teenegers. Rooms were large and airy and beds were comfy. Nice out door seatting area with a mini playground for younger kids.free parking. Food including breakast was of a nice standard with no complaints from us.Prices were...More

Thank Gary S
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for leaving this great review! I am so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us and we do hope to see you returning again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After 3 hours on the road going north and in need of a lunch stop and thirsty quenching drink we found the Hogs Head Inn ideally located by the Alnwick A1 service station. A huge pub with hotels also part of the building located in...More

Thank Dan H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ah, thank you for leaving this review and for your kind words. I am so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us and we do hope to see you returning again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took my daughter here for her birthday, we had a loveky sunny afternoon so sat outside and kids played in the play area (recommend 4+) was quite quiet when we visited at 5, service was quick, food was tasty and we had puds too. We...More

Thank Vikki H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ah, thank you very much for leaving this review, so pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us and we would love to welcome you back in again in the near future!

Reviewed 7 May 2018

Marie, Sally, Lynn and myself stayed at the Hogs Head prior to going to a friend's wedding, Marie had a salad, Sally had fish and chips, Lynn and I had the steak and ale pie. All were lovely

Thank George G
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you very much for leaving this review, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and we do hope to welcome all of you back again soon!

Reviewed 29 April 2018

busy local pub on an industrial estate with a good selection on the menu.It is situated just off the A1

Thank n0rmski
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

£3.70 for a Pineapple and Lemonade.... £2.70 for the pineapple juice and £1 for a shot of lemonade!? Yes, you heard right..... that’s £1 Had Gammon & Chips to eat, which was ok.... had it been on a 2 for £8 menu in a Wetherspoons.........More

Thank Rachilou
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for leaving this review, we do always appreciate feed back and take it on board. We continue to review our price structure and menu and believe we are competitive in our local market.

A TripAdvisor Member
135
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

I left my booking of a hotel until last minute for my friends’ wedding and rang to book a room. Although all standard rooms were booked, the manager who I spoke to was able to give me a family room for the same price, which...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Ah, thank you very much for leaving this great review! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to do that for you. We do supply many taxi company numbers to our guests, it is unfortunate you wern't...More

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

I have been to the hogs head inn for a meal, the food was cold when it got served and the service wasn’t great would not recommend to people!!

Thank Joe M
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Oh no! I am so sorry you feel this way, did you mention to a member of staff about the issues with your food as they would have happily changed it for you? We do hope you come back to give us another try.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Alnwick
The Hog's Head Inn
575 reviews
.00 km away
The White Swan Hotel
1,141 reviews
1.80 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
386 reviews
7.59 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
914 reviews
11.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Station Buffet Barter Books
522 reviews
1.40 km away
The Oaks Hotel
185 reviews
1.13 km away
Earl Grey Tea House
47 reviews
1.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
House of Hardy Fishing Tackle Museum
20 reviews
.63 km away
Willowburn Sports and Leisure Centre
26 reviews
.50 km away
The Bakehouse Gallery
7 reviews
1.59 km away
Barter Books
1,381 reviews
1.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gwilkie69
12 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from northumberlandlad | Reviewed this property |
You will need to talk to the hotel direct as never stayed in a room, just visited for a meal.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 606576
  • This restaurant is at The Hog's Head Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;