We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Swan

$$ - $$$
Pub, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Union Street, Seahouses NE68 7RT, England
+44 1665 720227
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 197: English reviews
Northants
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thought we would give this place a go based on the reviews, but we were disappointed and couldn't believe it was the same place as the reviews! It lacked character and atmosphere and very dated. The TV in the bar was blaring out The Chase and the barman looked fed up. All the people in the pub knew one another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophietuft
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Went to the Black Swan for a few drinks. Very nice pub but very quiet. It is set back from the main street of the village so you would miss it if you didn't know it was there. Landlord was friendly and the beer was great.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to place a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time in the black. we find Thursday Friday and Saturdays are the noisiest and busiest at this time of year. anyway please come back and visit us again soon gill chambers (owner) More 

NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Without doubt the best pub in seahouses,the place is kept immaculately clean. very well run and a good choice of beers,very dog friendly and a nice coal fire burning to add.andrew the manager is a nice lad and talkative as well.this is definitely the best pub in seahouses with nice views over the harbour and sensible prices.

Helpful?
Thank TAXIMAN111
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

Well we are over the moon you had a good experience in your visit to the black.your right you can't beat a coal fire and a good chin wag. Hope you come back and see us again and thanks for taking time to place a review More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Popped into the black swan, had a lovely pint with the landlords son (the manager). Great pub with a coal fire. Proper old fashioned pub! Dogs welcome, great choice of beers and good real ale! Dogs are also welcome. All in all a great watering hole and a great local pub atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking time to place a review. Obviously the beer is a bit stronger than you are used to.the fact that you mentioned we welcome dogs twice kind of gives the game away. Maybe you should just stick to playing golf with bandits and parting with your money that way Merry Christmas gill (OWNER I THINK) More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

The Swan is my local when me and my other half are in Seahouses. It's a wonderful atmosphere with friendly staff that will happy chat for hours with customers. Dogs are welcome and the roaring fire is just right after a walk on the beach. I've read some reviews on here by people complaining about the smell of fish and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

Your always welcome in the black. Your right Sunday lunch is all about fixing the world, and myself and our customers manage this every sunday More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Very friendly, the owners are great. Stairs up to room smelly.Needs painting finishing Room was reasonable.Bed comfortable. Lovely bathroom Very helpful owners Lovely breakfast

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to place a review. I see from your profile you are a level 2 reviewer with over 1000 followers, also international reviewer...Brilliant well done. How do you manage to get through a day without help. Firstly we do not do breakfast Secondly we do not do accommodation. Thirdly we do not have smelly stairs. I... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

It was a lovely fire on a cold night and good choice of real ales, a traditional pub Dogs can go in which is a bonus for us

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon R
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post. your comments are much appreciated please pop in and see us again Cheers gil chambers (owner) More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We called for a lunchtime drink there was only us in yes they do allow dogs in.The bar man was not very friendly at all we had our Drink and then left we go regular to sea houses but have not been back since .

Helpful?
Thank phillsykes
coaster2014, Owner at Black Swan, responded to this review

I am sorry your visit was not a good one I don't know what the problem was with the barman our staff are always courtiers and responsive. Sometimes people only give back what they get in ...A two way street Cheers gil chambers (owner) More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

No food available now, beer ok but prices for the type of pub. Bar staff friendly and they allow dogs in

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
preston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

lovely public house clean friendly and and good ale, would highly recommend not to.modern or busy but dog friendly,

Helpful?
1 Thank shazy85

Travellers who viewed Black Swan also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Pub, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Television, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Union Street, Seahouses NE68 7RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Seahouses
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 720227

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Black Swan and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
northumberland

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Black Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?