We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kingham Plough Restaurant

Kingham, Kingham OX7 6YD, England
+44 1608 658327
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“hanger steak” (26 reviews)
“pork pie” (17 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kingham, Kingham OX7 6YD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us ate here Saturday evening. Service was excellent, especially the young waiters, very polite. Food was tasty but my favourite was the ice cream sandwich ! Wow delicious creation! Could eat that everyday 😊More

Thank Frenchfay
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent meal. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal here and, in particular, the ice-cream sandwich. We very much look forward to welcoming you again and hope that the ice-cream...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been eating here for around 7 years and I must say I highly recommend a visit. The staff and food are normally excellent, however on our last visit when we sat down we were told they are closing at 2pm, Little disappointed that...More

Thank shaun d
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at The Kingham Plough. We are open daily from midday until close (at 11pm), with food served between 12-2:30 and 6-9pm. However, it would seem that you arrived for lunch on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Kingham Plough for Saturday lunch. The food was delicious - particularly the cauliflower soup and the sea bream. The bread that comes with orange-y rich butter is divine. We wanted to stay for dessert but our 4 year old was starting...More

Thank LondonZoeJ
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us so much and we do hope you will be able to return soon, at a time you can sample our desserts as well! Thank you once...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great atmosphere. Great menu. Quality food. Customer service excellent. Children made very welcome. Quite expensive and smaller portions than you might expectMore

Thank jac1245
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and service so much. We do very much welcome families so it is wonderful to hear that the children in your group were made very welcome. We do hope you will...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great beer, my wife really enjoyed her steak, I ordered Cotswold Lamb £23, but must have been road kill!. A portion of finely chopped Savoy cabbage, a nice slice a salt baked celeriac with something like a goats cheese Kurd piped on, and two very...More

Thank Simons-the-Pie-Man
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all customer feedback as it is a vital part of ensuring that we maintain and, where possible, improve upon our high standards. I am always disappointed to hear of any customer that has...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Because of the appalling weather this trip, non stop rain with snow added in from beginning to end, we decided to have an early lunch and make our way back to Essex. We paid our second visit to this beautiful establishment our first being when...More

2  Thank Robert H
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us so much and very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards The Kingham Plough Management Team

Reviewed 9 January 2018

I booked a table at the Kingham Slough, having read that it ranked 32nd in the best 50 gastropubs. We arrived late because we got and the staff was very understanding. We had lunch in the dining room and not in the pub area and...More

Thank happytime7
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to note that the staff were helpful and understanding. It is always disappointing to hear of any experiences that don't meet our customer's expectation and we will of course note all of...More

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We were thoroughly looking forward to ending our Christmas break with a nice meal out, and having visited for a couple of pints earlier in the week, sitting by the fire were even more eagerly anticipating it. I must caveat, the staff did what they...More

Thank Paul M
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your meal with us. It is always disappointing to hear of any experience that does not meet our customer's expectation. I have noted all of your comments and fed them back to the relevant...More

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

I went to The Plough last week for lunch. The place is very sympathetically decorated and the service was excellent, but I would have to say that my meal was very disappointing, especially for the price. I had a potato and Jerusalem artichoke starter, which...More

Thank Michael L
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Customer feedback is really important to us and I have of course noted all of your comments. Wherever possible we will address the issues raised. Thank you once again. Kind regards The Kingham Plough Management...More

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely evening spent with friends .Good food attentive staff and local produce on the menu. The pub itself was inviting with a roaring fire, and very accommodating for children.

Thank Jinny F
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and do hope you will come and visit us again soon. Kind regards The Kingham Plough Management Team

PreviousNext
12345665
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Kingham Hotels
Bruern Cottages
44 reviews
3.67 km away
The Fox
233 reviews
6.00 km away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
740 reviews
6.15 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
1,522 reviews
6.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wild Rabbit
704 reviews
.32 km away
Daylesford Organic Farm Cafe
563 reviews
2.09 km away
The Chequers
404 reviews
2.15 km away
The Kings Head Inn
431 reviews
2.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Windrush Cycle Tours
6 reviews
.08 km away
The King’s Head Inn
6 reviews
2.21 km away
The Cookery School at Daylesford
27 reviews
2.64 km away
St Nicholas Church
27 reviews
2.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
susieb1968
8 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ploughman08 | Property representative |
Dear Susieb, I can confirm that dogs are accepted in the bar area and we even have pigs ears behind the bar so the dogs can enjoy a snack while you enjoy your meal! Kind regards The Kingham Plough Management Team
0
Votes
susieb1968
8 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Murphysdi | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are made very welcome, the staff very kindly gave our dog a pig's ear while we waited for a table.
0
Votes
susieb1968
8 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from mary k | Reviewed this property |
Not sure sorry,
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$56
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kingham, Kingham OX7 6YD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kingham
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 658327
  • E-mail
Description
In 2007 Executive chef Emily Watkins and her husband, Miles Lampson, opened The Kingham Plough, a quintessential Cotswold Inn and award winning restaurant. Their aim was to create somewhere that they themselves would like to visit; excellent modern British and comfortable rooms set within a warm and relaxed environment. The food quickly gained critical acclaim and has been awarded numerous accolades including the prestigious third AA Rosette, awarded in 2015. The Kingham Plough regularly features in the UKs Top 100 Restaurants and Top 50 Gastropubs and with six beautiful, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms it is the perfect place for a Cotswold getaway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing