We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Birdcage

$$ - $$$, British,
4 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 3DX, England
+44 1844 217911
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (27 reviews)
“mash” (11 reviews)
“steak” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 3DX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped for a quick drink with friends - what an amazing old building. Very compact inside but it had a friendly atmosphere, I think it was mainly locals but will try the food when I have more time. Looked ideal for a casual light bite...More

1  Thank regulartraveller01
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have visited this pub in the past, usually mid week. My husband and I arrived on Saturday around 6pm for a relaxing drink. The pub looked busy on arrival, we found a seat. It soon became obvious that all the clientel had been there...More

1  Thank Shiraz64
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit this time. As you mentioned we did have lot of sports clientele in this day due to the Rugby which led to a lot of drinkers. We hope that you will visit...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited at 4pm. Pub is very small but thats fine. It was clear that the walk in trade was mostly those just off work. The air was slightly blue. Waitress was lovely and nothing too much trouble. The food however, was luke warm,over cooked,...More

Thank bakerr1983
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We have taken on board your bad experience with the food and will work with the staff in resolving this. We hope that you will visit us again and...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

My review is simply this: a good selection of beers, all served well but a little pricey for my liking.More

Thank Bill_The_Butcher007
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back, we are pleased you like our selection of beers. We however have no control on our pricing but we do have many deals going on throughout the week of BOGOFs and 10% off days. We hope you will come...More

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

As you walk down the High Street in Thame the Birdcage building leans into the street just enough to announce its presence. Built around 650 years ago and a pub since 1787, the interior of exposed old timber and the ‘wonky’ walls create a great...More

Thank SteveCairns
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you again. Many Thanks The Birdcage

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Per my previous review, the pub was indeed closed, but reopened later by a new company and a different menu. Last week was my first visit with a friend for lunch. My friend ordered the Beef and Stilton pie which came served on a bed...More

1  Thank Tilly41
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and the staff made you welcome and were friendly. Look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks The Birdcage

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We were here on a Sunday and had a really nice beer and a pie. Although busy, there was still enough options left for everyone. Try the chorizo and butterbean one.

Thank Lloyd T
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and recommending beer and pies. Look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks The Birdcage

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We have had a great time as some the recent events put on by The Birdcage. The Rock and Roll Bingo evening last night was brilliant. The staff are friendly and helpful - supposedly haunted yet I've sadly not seen anything yet.

Thank Oxfordshiregirl1630
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed The Rock and Roll Bingo evening. And the staff made you welcome. Look forward to seeing you again Many Thanks The Birdcage

Reviewed 2 September 2017

It's very very old, I think it dates back to the 12th or 13th century. There's such a lovely warm welcoming atmosphere there, and a good range of ales and cider on tap. It is very much haunted throughout, but don't let that put you...More

Thank Aren2
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you enjoyed your experience. Look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks The Birdcage.

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Nice pub in the centre of Thame, staff very friendly and welcoming. My G&T was fabulous . Pies were ok but I thought they were going to be homemade so was surprised to see the brand being sold in Waitrose! To be honest I was...More

Thank Trish M
David F, General Manager at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back, we are sorry that you were disappointed by the portion sizes you received and you felt let down by the pies not being home made. We hope you will come back and have a better experience. Many Thanks The...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Thatch
674 reviews
.34 km away
Pad Thai at The Rising Sun
252 reviews
.28 km away
Jack & Alice
204 reviews
.05 km away
James Figg
208 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Thame Museum
22 reviews
.10 km away
Weekly Tuesday Market
18 reviews
.11 km away
Whizz Kidz
19 reviews
1.12 km away
The James Figg
12 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Birdcage staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 3DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Thame
  • Phone Number: +44 1844 217911
  • E-mail
Description
The Birdcage, serving award winning pies by Pieminister and premium Craft & Speciality beer is located in Thame's town centre. Built around 1300 it has fortunately retained its structural character and many of the elm beams, once covered in ancient plaster, have been exposed creating the historical atmosphere inside and out. During the Napoleonic wars, the Birdcage housed French prisoners who incidentally founded the local Masons. In fact, for many years it was used as a holding house for petty thieves and criminals, even lepers on the upper floors! Of course stories handed down from generation to generation have only enhanced its eerie reputation of being haunted by some of these troubled souls!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing