We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Company of Weavers

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
31 Market Square, Witney OX28 6AD, England
+44 1993 777930
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Wed 08:00 - 00:00
Thu - Sat 08:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 257: English reviews
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We were attracted to this pub as it looked light and airy with a chilled out feeling. Good prices as expected from a spoons pub. Nice friendly staff.The only downside was the food was clearly reheated , and although perfectly edible, wasn't the best , then again ,like I said very reasonably priced

Thank Vickster15
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Picture the scene, a sunny Wednesday lunchtime two days before Easter weekend in school holidays, lots of visitors to the area and yes only two rather slow bar staff and a queue of customers waiting to be served running the length of the bar. I was one of the 'lucky ones' as I only had a 10 minute queue time... More 

Thank squiboo
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

one can always get a decent cup of tea here along with a yummy cake.The menu is always full of lovely dishes of food all at a good price the food is cooked to order and is always lovely and fresh the portion sizes are generous too.the staff are friendly and kind.

Thank AngelaandRichard47
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

great food quick and easy looks good inside sometimes hard to get seats but foods always nice. has a different feel to it then most weatherspoons

Thank secret s
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We pride ourselves on looking a little bit different from the norm and strive to be friendly - we are currently addressing the lack of tables, please watch this space. ~ J More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always great value food , it's nothing fancy but we go here regularly and have never had a bad meal .

Thank 110delia23
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you support. We look forward to your next visit. ~ J More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the weavers. Normally don't like weatherspoon pubs but this is good. They have craft ciders you cant get elsewhere in witney or oxford and only £2.50 a pint - for Old Rosie or Cheddar Valley or Black Dragon - these ciders generally when you can find them are £5 a pint. Gin selection is great and cheap. Food is... More 

Thank Melissa Q
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you very much. A lot of work has gone into expanding our gin range (mostly with some staff feedback), and the recent addition of our rum shack. Glad to see you like to craft cider range. We are please to report Old Rosie and Hogfather and now both permanent features. We hope you'll join us for our Cider festival... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink with friends at 9.30 ish on a Friday.Dirty Glasses piled up on every table. The bar was floating in liquid so that you could not stand next to it. Given a dirty glass that still had some ones lipstick on it. The establishment had barely 30 people and 3 members of staff behind the... More 

Thank WitneyHamblins
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Hello Sir/Madame. You are quite right in that the descriptions you have given (based on your visit) are not up to our standards and expectations. We can only strive to do better - and we apologise that this visit was sub par. We only hope you'll be willing to give us another chance in the future to redeem ourselves. Many... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I visited the COW recently for Sunday brunch. Menu choice was good - especially bashed avocado bagel! And the free coffee refills were a bonus. Terrific value. The building is interesting as it was the old cinema and you can still the shape of the building in this sympathetic restoration. The weaving/ knitting theme included knitted lampshades!

Thank Celticbeatrice
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review following your visit. We agree. The building is fantastic and contains so much history - right down to the woollen lampshades. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves, and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We visited Weatherspoons for breakfast as we had had breakfast the previous week which was delicious. That was the worst decision ever to go back! I went up to the bar to order eggs benedict and eggs royale. When I gave the order to the waitrose I was told that there were no poached eggs. I then asked you have... More 

Thank Joeluc_Lucjoe
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Hello, Sorry to hear of your disappointing visit. Especially after a previous acceptable trip to The Company of Weavers. I'm afraid it is not within the remit of the business for us to poach eggs to order - and we're very sorry, on this occasion we ran out. As always we aim for perfection, but sometimes fall short, and although... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

As an adult family travelling from around the country, we needed a place to meet and enjoy a meal, without the pressure you feel in more formal places, as we are all from witney, we found the company of weavers a great place as its our old converted cinema. As usual, the food was good, served by friendly staff and... More 

Thank 107clivef
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Many Thanks for you excellent review. We're glad you enjoyed our famous steak night and hope you'll return for another soon! More 

Travellers who viewed The Company of Weavers also viewed


Been to The Company of Weavers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$17
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Television, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Open Hours
08:00 - 00:00
08:00 - 00:00
08:00 - 00:00
08:00 - 00:00
08:00 - 01:00
08:00 - 01:00
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Market Square, Witney OX28 6AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Witney
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 777930

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Company of Weavers and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Company of Weavers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?