We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Junior Poon

16 Hill Road, Clevedon BS21 7NZ, England
+44 1275 341900
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good17%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crispy duck” (22 reviews)
“spring rolls” (9 reviews)
“noodles” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Hill Road, Clevedon BS21 7NZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I planned a VERY special Valentine's Day surprise for my partner of 15 years. We have been coming to this restaurant for years, and NEVER had anything but a fantastic experience. I loved entering via the wine bar downstairs! I waited here, nervously, for my...More

Thank Charlotte V
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our party of four had a really lovely evening, enjoyed our food and beverage choices, the service, ambiance and a chat with the Boss, Junior Poon.

Thank Peter B
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your 5-Star review. It's always our pleasure having you with us. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for a work colleagues leaving do , great service and food as enjoyable as ever , thanks Junior

Thank Mark B
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5-Star review. Pleased to hear that you all have enjoyed your time with us. Thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bit of a weird entrance - from down below through a wine bar and the decor is very tired, however the staff said it is about to be refurbished. We ordered crispy duck for starters and then 4 main courses each and mixed. The quality...More

1  Thank Mark D
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you have found our food and service very good. We do close our main front door entrance into our restaurant during cold weather and direct our customers coming in via the wine bar...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were expecting exciting and excellent food after reading the reviews, but left feeling disappointed. Most of the food was rather nice, like most Chinese restaurants turn out, but nothing special. Staff were very good and the service was prompt.More

Thank Clare P
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Please to hear that you found our food rather nice and our staff and service very good. We do offer the classic dishes in order not to disappoint most customers expecting them (sweet & sour, black bean etc) when visiting a Chinese restaurant hence we...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

We love this family run restaurant - just celebrating 25 years. Always happy with our choices (usually Set C with a few changes with two of the Mains). Was very busy 3 days after the 25th which was surprising) but I guess the cooks needed...More

Thank PammyJane24
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for your 5-Star review and your support throughout these years. Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to be of service to you again soon.

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

There are several places to eat on Hill Rd Clevedon, the street where parts on Broadchurch are filmed. We have been visiting Junior Poon for over 20 years and little changes: good food, a team of people focussed on your experience and Junior always busy...More

Thank M4zkin
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for taking your time to review us and your loyal support throughout all these years. We look forward towards your next visit. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 January 2018

Ate here over weekend. We had early bird menu and it was fine. Staff are aways very pleasant. We just can't believe that this place is still so dire in need of a major internal refurbishment and new toilets. Surely you have made enough money...More

Thank 524ANON
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our early evening menu and found our staff pleasant. A major refurbishment was scheduled for last year after having the plan drawn up by our interior designer. But due to a slight hiccup we have to postpone the...More

Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Our local Chinese restaurant- wow , we are lucky ! Dinner for 5, such freshly prepared food , and a great friendly , relaxed atmosphere - the simple spring roll elevated to sublime by its flavour and sheer home madeness!! All the food was this...More

Thank Sorrybarcelona
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We do work very hard and try our utmost best to please everyone each and every time. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit and thank...More

Reviewed 28 December 2017

Quarter portion of Crispy Duck as a starter was an exceptional portion and boded well for maina. Main dishes were very average, glutinous and bland.More

Thank askrichardarts
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the Crispy Duck. With regards to the dish being glutinous; Chinese dishes are varied, some are cooked dry, some have thin runny sauce while others the sauce are thicken with corn flour hence...More

PreviousNext
12345649
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Clevedon Hotels
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
1,124 reviews
.68 km away
Warrens Village
218 reviews
2.48 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
2,632 reviews
7.62 km away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
810 reviews
7.91 km away
Nearby Restaurants
New Red Rose
361 reviews
.75 km away
Number Five The Beach
600 reviews
.36 km away
Il Giardino
275 reviews
.33 km away
Puro
91 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clevedon Pier and Heritage Centre
622 reviews
.33 km away
Clevedon Marine Lake
31 reviews
1.24 km away
Toll House Gallery
9 reviews
.36 km away
Lovers Walk Clevedon
8 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Junior Poon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$21 - US$70
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Hill Road, Clevedon BS21 7NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Clevedon
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 341900
  • E-mail
Description
We are a privately owned restaurant operating since 1992. Junior Poon never been about stars, glitz or gimmicks. It's about the simple old fashion traditional qualities that really matters most to their guests - serving well cooked exquisite classic food with care and attention. It is a venue for people who appreciate fine food, good old fashion friendly service in a stylish yet informal and comfortable elegant surrounding at an affordable price.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing