We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
+44 1283 561732
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good27%
  • Average20%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
08:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 364 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Not one of the best Toby Inns. Food cold not very appetising. Had Pimms with no fruit!!!! Beware costs more on a Sunday and not worth it

Thank Woodlands19
Reviewed 1 week ago

went for a carvery for our 25th wedding anniversary was very disappointing meat was very fatty the mash is instant mash the roast parsnips are boiled not roasted do not recommend this carvery at allMore

Thank RachelDavidPlant
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Racheldavidplant, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. I have passed your comments onto our kitchen team to ensure instances like this do not happen again. I can assure you all our food is fresh and our mash is homemade every...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a table only to get there to find it empty only 3 other tables occupied. Carvery was almost gone 730 pm and what was left was dry and shriveled up ends. When I asked for replacement meats was told that there were none so...More

Thank inverclyde12
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Inverclyde12, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I will be speaking to the team who were on shift to find out what...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always know I am guaranteed a fantastic meal when I eat here. The food is fresh and the staff are welcoming Cannot complain!

Thank AmyBowman94
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Amybowman94, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Burton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I shall pass your lovely comments onto your team. Hope to see you again soon kind Regards Toby Carvery Burton

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having enjoyed many meals here we were looking forward to our carvery. However, upon arrival at about 8.45 there were only 4 diners remaining and only what appeared to be one member of staff. After a couple of minutes she came to us and gave...More

Thank Gill S
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Gill, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. After investigating as to what happened on the evening of your visit it appeared that one of our oven's that we cook meat in had malfunctioned which isn't ideal...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Oh dear I don't seem to be having much luck eating out lately? With this being a Toby Carvery I though we would be safe after our last disastrous outing! How wrong was I? Ok firstly again staff friendly and helpful, but the waiter/assistant standing...More

Thank Martina R
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Martina, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We are sorry your server came across as intrusive, we have taken this comment on board and since have been doing more training. We apologise...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my family for a carvery. Service was slow and waiters were rude. Drinks are limited as asked for a Diet Coke, didn't have it, Diet lemonade, didn't have it, didn't have pretty much anything Diet which is an issue for a diabetic....More

Thank daniiemccann
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Daniiemccann, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. I am really sorry to hear that your waiter was rude. I shall investigate this and deal with accordingly. I am...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First visit here on an Armed forces day which was an extra treat as it meant I ate free. Other family members paid around £7 each for their roast. The beef and turkey where gorgeous as always from a Toby. Great selection of veg, green...More

Thank muncher5
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We are so glad to have met your expectation. Thank you for such lovely comments and we shall ensure they are passed onto our team. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another visit to Toby Carvery. Again not disappointed, excellent variety of well cooked Meats & Vegetables. Good choice of sauces and gravy. Yorkshire puddings are HUGE. Very attentive,friendly, efficient staff. We went with 2 friends from out of town & they were both very impressed...More

1  Thank Gordon H
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Gordon H, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! I shall pass you lovely comments onto our team. We can't wait to see you again soon Kind Regards Toby Carvery Burton

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

We come here most weeks, either the two of us or with our 8 year old. The carverys are lovely. The place is always immaculate inside and out. The meat is always really nice, the roast and the mash potatoes are lovely and all of...More

1  Thank APRIL S
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hi April S, thank you so much for your positive comments about Toby Carvery Burton! We are delighted you gave us 5* feedback. I shall pass all your lovely comments onto our team. See you again soon Kind regards Toby Carvery Burton

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pascal at The Old Vicarage
700 reviews
.46 km away
The Bridge Inn Branston
203 reviews
.68 km away
The Pavilion at Branston Golf & Country Club
51 reviews
1.32 km away
Riverside Hotel
130 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Forest Adventure Farm
646 reviews
2.34 km away
Mimi spa
6 reviews
3.07 km away
The National Brewery Centre
449 reviews
3.11 km away
Whiteswan Walton
52 reviews
3.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Del-&-Mags
9 March 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from ginantonic | Reviewed this property |
Yes mate And traffic lights
1
Vote
sarahgertie
23 November 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Smithdryfus | Reviewed this property |
I honestly don't know but wouldn't of thought so, maybe call before you go x
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$16
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Burton upon Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 561732
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Burton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Burton's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing