We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aston Marina

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lichfield Road, Stone, England
+44 1785 819702
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Sun 10:00 - 20:00
Mon 10:00 - 17:00
Tue - Thu 09:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 409: English reviews
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a quick soup or sandwich. Such a lovely little Bistro we decided to have something more substantial. I ordered the plaice and Samphire from the specials menu. It was absolutely delicious. My husband ordered the special burger, he said it was wonderful. A quick stop ended up being a leisurely lunch in a fabulous location with very... More 

Thank pelicanqueen
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a local I simply love a trip to the Marina, the bistro is fab and serves excellent hot chocolate! The staff are really friendly and polite. The farm shop is excellent especially at this time of year, lots of Christmas gifts available to buy too. Can highly recommend the cracked blacked pepper sausages from the butcher's counter.

Thank Kathryn B
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here with my wife and the location is nice. We had a good look round the farm shop and bought a few bits ,fairly pricey but no different from most farm shops and the butchery items looked good quality,if it had been bbq time i would have been very tempted. I think we were expecting a bit more from... More 

Thank JonandNik
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a while since we had been to Aston Marina for a Sunday lunch, so we thought it was high time to rectify that. We both opted for the roast beef and it was excellent, the roast potatoes and vegetables were equally good. Desserts matched the main in terms of quality. Service was welcoming and friendly, so top marks... More 

Thank CharloBungle
Management response:

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent Sunday lunch and look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Although I generally love the food at Aston Marina Bistro (Fish & Chips especially!) the afternoon tea I booked for friends & my family who were over from Kentucky was very disappointing. Everything was so dense & the scones were definitely not freshly cooked that day. The sandwiches were dry around the edges & the sausage rolls were just a... More 

2 Thank Allison M
neilnicholls, Manager at Aston Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you usually enjoy the food at Aston Marina and are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your recent afternoon tea. As a result of your feedback we have decided to change our afternoon tea menu seasonally to reflect the seasonal changes on our A La Carte and Set Menus.... More 

Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Definitely not to my taste. Very chic, modern and unappealing. Dogs not allowed so waitress had to fetch my drink, a pint of Peroni at an outrageous £4.95 which I consumed outside on the patio. I think she was surprised not to get a tip!

neilnicholls, Owner at Aston Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcomed and greatly appreciated. Unfortunately, we do not allow dogs in to the Bistro due to food hygiene restrictions, however, we do provide a large covered seating area in the courtyard that all of our dog walking customers use regularly. We also provide a water bowl for dogs to ensure they get... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

Our son was lucky enough to choose the Boathouse for his September wedding. We could not have chosen better. The venue is first class and enabled us to make a late decision to hold the ceremony outside. The food (spit roast buffet but with plenty of variety) was excellent. However it was the relaxed but professional nature of the staff... More 

1 Thank Mike W
Management response:

Dear Mike, Thank you for you excellent review, we’re so pleased you enjoyed the day as much as we enjoyed you being here. Hope to see you again soon here at Aston Marina. Regards, Aston Marina info@astonmarina.co.uk More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

A party of 8 sat in one of the outdoor huts, had to pay an extra £5 for heating which I think was a bit mean. But the food was excellent and our waitress (Jess) was dead chatty and friendly.

Thank mark m
Management response:

Dear Mark, Thank you for your review. In regards to the surcharge for the heating; this is only added when requested by the customer as we aim to keep the hire charge down during warmer months. However, are currently reviewing our prices and will change this for the cooler months. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We will pass on you... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Went for a drink here on a summers evening. Service was incredibly slow. Waited 20 minutes to get drinks. The man behind me waited that long ready to order food to be told they were not accepting orders as the kitchen was overwhelmed. The place was half empty. Beautiful scenery. Just shocking service

Thank 5537800
Management response:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are surprised to learn of the poor service that you experienced at Aston Marina. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly in order to ensure the same problem cannot occur again. It would be interesting for us to learn when you visited and at what time... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

We used to eat here a lot but have not been in a while. We have just returned from a really disappointing Sunday lunch. Service has never been great here (bored teenagers) but was worse than usual today. When we arrived we just stood waiting for someone to seat us for a long time. We were ignored until a waiter... More 

Thank MidlandsLass999
Management response:

Thank you for your detailed review highlighting your areas of concern. We are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your Sunday lunch. Very occasionally we do become exceptionally busy during Sunday lunch times when the weather is at its best, however, this is by no way an excuse for the level of service you received. We have just... More 

Travellers who viewed Aston Marina also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire

Been to Aston Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$24
British, European
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
10:00 - 20:00
10:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lichfield Road, Stone, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Stone
  • Phone Number: +44 1785 819702

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Aston Marina and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Aston Marina staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?