We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Epsom Downs, Epsom KT18 5LE, England
+44 1372 722330
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

631 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 628: English reviews
Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Went today as guests of my son and his wife. Three of us ordered roast beef ..... service was slow but not too bad. Roast beef was over cooked and tough, Yorkshire pudding was burnt. The waitress asked if it was ok, I told her what I had found. She did go to the kitchen and returned saying she could... More 

Helpful?
Thank EileenPortugal
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Quality food, beautiful presentation, unique items on menu, good ambiance in restaurant, tables well spaced, welcoming staff

Helpful?
Thank jf1031
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for writing such a lovely review for us! We aim to delivery high quality food and a high standard of service and I am so pleased to hear that both met expectations on your recent visit to us. I must agree that we do have a fantastic menu with some lovely dishes on! I will certainly... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

They have recently expanded the area in which you can take your dog, good food, great beer and your best friend is very welcome

Helpful?
Thank kimshros
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us- we really do appreciate it! We do have a large bar area which dogs are welcome and I'm so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic experience here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Alex More 

Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Not enough staff, shocking bar service. Staff more interested in chatting and walking past customers and avoiding eye contact. Mitchells & Butler seem to fail at all of their local pubs we've been to. This is now the third where it's been necessary to complain. If you charge £12 for a beer and a wine the least you could do... More 

Helpful?
Thank CheekyAllan
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience on your recent visit to the Derby Arms. We aim to deliver a high quality of service, and I do apologise that this fell short. I will pass your comments on to the team to ensure all our guests receive quick and efficient service. I would certainly like... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The tables were not cleared the whole time we were there! People had to move the dirty glasses and plates themselves and the tables had not been wiped. The plant on the table was dead and had clearly not been watered in days! The management need to realise they have an outside and organise staff more effectively!! The pub is... More 

Helpful?
Thank joulesedwards
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to us. We aim to deliver high quality service, and I do apologise that we fell short of expectations. I will most certainly pass your comments on to the team to ensure that we are delivering a fantastic experience for all our guests and will use... More 

Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a walk in group of 9 that they were happy to accommodate. drink service was a tad slow, but again we were a large group so nothing too unexpected. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Donald B
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Donald, Thank you very much for writing a review for us- we really do appreciate it! I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to us- I will certainly pass your comments on to the team. We are always aiming to improve so I will also feed back to the team that that the service... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the Derby Arms with my wife, daughter and her boyfriend. Having read a number negative reviews I was a bit concerned but I need not have worried. The pre-booked table was ready for us, the food was excellent and the service second to none. Our waitress, Darcy, was superb and one of the managers, Rob was really pleasant... More 

Helpful?
Thank wildrapid47
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us! I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to us here at the Derby Arms. I will certainly pass your comments on to the kitchen team, and also to Darcy and Rob- I must agree that they are... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Understaffed with young waiting staff being rushed off their feet. Food plain and seemed like it was microwaved? the dishes are £15+ and we get bland, microwaved food...in 2017? I do wonder if these are trained chefs or just 'microwave technicians' working min wage, no passion in the cooking and you can tell. When you pay peanuts... Might pop in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mighty A
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meals on your recent visit to us. We aim to deliver high quality food and I do apologise that it did not meet expectations. Please do be sure to tell us if you aren't happy with your meal as we will certainly replace any meal that is not... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would rate this restaurant as average. The sweet potato soup started off promising, and the deep-fried cod was good, but the chips were over-cooked, soggy and not hot. The peas were a little odd. A salmon dish was very over-cooked and did not come with potatoes, but deep-fried broccoli instead. Deep-frying broccoli detracts from what is otherwise a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank TripMember03232016
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that your recent experience here with us was not up to standard. We aim to deliver high quality food and service and I do apologise that it was not up to expectations. I will certainly pass your comments on to the kitchen team in order to keep improving! Please ensure you tell us if... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for dinner with friends for the first time since been refurbished. Took ages for waitress to sort drinks, mix up with order and then wine we ordered (Cloudy Bay) not available. Starters were ok - 2 sharing platters - but nothing more than that. T bone steak was good but it should have been for £26.00. My fish... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SharpyG
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience here with us. We, as a team, aim to deliver a high standard of service and high quality food and I do apologise that neither met your expectations. We do have new team members who we are training for the up coming summer months, and I am sorry... More 

Travellers who viewed The Derby Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Derby Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Epsom Downs, Epsom KT18 5LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Epsom
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 722330

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Derby Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Derby Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?