We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell & Barge

) #135 of 161 Restaurants in Rugby $$ - $$$ , British,
Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
+44 1788 569466
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good31%
  • Average23%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I visited here with family for a meal and thought the whole experience was average. When we first arrived we were met by a lovely man who took us to our table and made us feel welcome which was lovely. However our waitress didn't seem...More

Thank amberf04
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always helps towards your 5 a day to get unlimited salad with your meal! I'm not a vegetarian but eat a lot of veggie food and the newer veggie options they've introduced are a bit more interesting than the norm. Plenty of choice for everyone...More

Thank Gemma_Raisbeck
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your brilliant feedback and rating and I'm so pleased you had a great time with us .

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

most of the staff were friendly, my chicken came out raw, even though they explained that it works on a timer?? my partners steak was cooked to a cinder? his beer smelt of pipe cleaner, they admitted that the pipes had been cleaned that day!!...More

1  Thank Theresa S
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you for your feedback and rating

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First off, despite being next to the canal, mentioning "barge" in its name, and there being a bridge that looks like it goes to the Harvester, access is via a rough path along a main road bridge, accessed by scrambling up a grass bank. The...More

1  Thank Trevor L
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great feedback and rating, unfortunately the bridge you mentioned is the property of the waterways and we can't alter how this is. I'm sorry things weren't to the standard you were expecting but we will endeavour to make sure we improve...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid at all costs! Came here after seeing it on the telegraph canal side pubs in the top 10 in Warwickshire and was bitterly disappointed. Outside all you could hear was the motorway and the garden had used bottles and rubbish in it. Seating area...More

Thank Fiona M
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm really sorry you didn't have a great experience and we would have been happy to sort out any problems on the day I hope you give us another chance as I have just taken over this business and I am in the process of...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017

We were two couples stopping next door at the Premier Inn for 3 nights whilst attending Silverstone. The first night due to circumstance we didn't eat there but my brother and partner did. They ordered the ultimate burger and said it was very poor value...More

Thank tafer2uk
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the fantastic review and rating, I am sorry you had issues the first night, but I am really pleased you enjoyed your visits subsequently. We really look forward to seeing you again next year and I hope you enjoyed the weekends racing

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Before I start let me just say this is by far one of the best restaurants attached to a Premier Inn I have eaten in (and if I add my job means I have stayed in and therefore eaten in a lot, you should appreciate...More

Thank TONY G
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your great feedback and brilliant rating we look forward to seeing you again soon and I will pass on your feedback to our IT team but I am sure they are already working on the next evolution of the ordering system

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Excellent visit for lunch with family. Food and Service were both excellent along with the value. Thank you and we will return.

Thank oliver1813
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for your great feedback and brilliant rating we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 28 June 2017

We have been to The Harvester many times in Rugby and always feel we receive value for money and a friendly reception. Today we went to celebrate my daughter finishing her exams and after being away camping for 5 days she was missing good food....More

Thank EKendell
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hello Ekendell, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 28 June 2017

The Bell and Barge is situated in a lovely canal side location with an open air balcony overlooking the canal. The interior is tastefully decorated and a warm welcome awaits you as you wait to be seated at your table. The waitress ( Amy) was...More

Thank Dougie K
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you Dougie for your amazing comments on our restaurant! Hope to see you again very soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nando's
68 reviews
.29 km away
Steam Turbine
151 reviews
.83 km away
Brownsover Fish Bar
28 reviews
.71 km away
Dilruba Restaurant
260 reviews
1.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rugby Theatre
63 reviews
1.82 km away
The Webb Ellis Rugby Football Museum
31 reviews
2.21 km away
Rugby Art Gallery & Museum
64 reviews
2.10 km away
Elliotts Field Retail Park Rugby
18 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Megan H
31 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from AS_Happy_hols | Reviewed this property |
will ask next time I am in, as I am looking for places which dogs are allowed. Baco lounge in town centre allow dogs and even sell treats for them too.
0
Votes
Helen M
Why on earth when you are next to a canal, is there not easier access to your restaurant? We tried tonight having seen your establishment, as we cruised along. We moored our boat almost directly across from your decking and lovely looking garden. We got all 3 kids rounded up along with my elderly, poorly parents. Wandered slowly over the foot bridge which appeared to be the way in, this took us to another bit of abandoned canal, where my partner got scratched to bits with the overgrown plants. We tried the other path which took us into the middle of an industrial estate with no signs, again my partner went ahead to try to find us the way and found that it was a long way to a bridge which appeared to go into a housing estate. Finally, we all came back over the foot bridge and attempted to try to walk round, this however seemed to involve climbing a fence, followed by walk up a steep hill that arrived at the side of a dual carriageway which was simply impossible for our party. At this point we changed tack and went to the easily accessible Ed's Diner. We talked to several other parties moored up beside us who all had the same conundrum and all solved it the same way. Very surprised, that you would want to miss out on all the passing trade ....
22 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
I agree that it is indeed very unfortunate that we have no direct connection to the canal path. It is something that I will be looking into as we have had increased comments since the new shopping centre has opened. I am... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Rugby
  • Phone Number: +44 1788 569466
Description
At The Bell and Barge Harvester in Rugby food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing