We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bell & Barge

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Brownsover Road, Rugby, England
+44 1788 569466
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 287: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My friend and I went to the Rugby Harvester today, 2nd December. Service was EXTREMELY SLOW. I ordered the Christmas dinner and pudding at £12.99 - was charged separately £9.99 then £3.99 but didn't realise until we had left. CHECK YOUR BILL. Christmas dinner was EXTREMELY POOR. The turkey meat was unrecognisable and very fatty. Mushy soggy vegetables. Dry stuffing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine163
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for a family meal of 6,boneless beef rib, combi meal, 3 way chicken a normal cheese burger, pork belly slices and a steak.. Followed by 2 of the biggest slices of chocolate fudge cake I've ever seen. All food was absolutely lovely and no moan there.. Luckily I checked the bill after and a round of drinks totaling... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the food. I am sorry that there was an issue with your bill. We do always ask our guests to check their bill before paying. Unfortunately, we do make mistakes at times. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. Many thanks More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

While I would not go out of my way to visit this establishment it can be quite nice on a summers day to sit outside and hear the world go by on the busy road nearby and if your lucky watch the barges chug slowly by with all the time in the world. The meals are what you might expect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
General Manager A, General Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Dear Patrick G Thank you for your review. It's so true, that we have a lovely spot outside perfect for lazy days in the summer. We do try to ensure that team levels suit the trade, but unfortunately on occasion we do have to pick up the pace to keep up with the volume of guests. Thank you for recognising... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Let's be honest and face facts harvester is gross isn't it? When do you ever come away think that was really nice, I know I don't and have ended up going there many times with family members who insisted it isn't that bad. It is that bad it's worse, no matter if it's a weird burger which tastes microwaved or... More 

Helpful?
Thank legoflow
General Manager A, General Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Dear Legoflow Thank you for your comments, It is very disappointing to read a response such as this. I really hope that you passed on your concerns whilst you were visiting us. I would like to think that we had a chance to resolve any issues for you. We welcome any feedback is it does give us an opportunity to... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Opted for the offer £10.99 for a 2-course meal per person. My husband and I shared the usual Harvester chicken with starters - prawns and fried cheese of some sort. As always, the salad bar was good although the bread was stone hard. The meal was decent, did not particularly liked the cheese as it tasted of uncooked flour; prawns... More 

Helpful?
Thank 347mariaelena16
General Manager A, General Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Dear 347mariaelena Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you were happy with the service and our famous Chicken. Please feel free on your next visit to ask for fresh bread if you would like it with your salad, our salad chef will be more than happy to accommodate. Many Thanks More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was staying at the premiere inn next door, with Hobson choice to where to eat, tonight was the second night of my stay and I was not disappointed, the food served was just as cold as the previous evening. Was served a mixed grill which arrived without the steak! Then to find the black pudding was cold, the sausage... More 

Helpful?
Thank David S
General Manager A, General Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Dear David S I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your meal on your visit to us. I hope that your concerns were dealt with at the time of your visit, as we appreciate the chance to put any issues right whilst you are with us, but I have passed on your comments to my kitchen... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Four Adults and four children all had a good breakfast here. The cooked breakfast was tasty but when I went to choose the continental breakfast nothing was labelled!! So I had to taste 3 juices before getting apple as they were very similar in colour!! The fruit was very nearly empty with mush at the bottom and again no labels!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate W
General Manager A, General Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Dear Kate W Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to us for breakfast. I am very glad that you enjoyed your visit. I take on board your comments with regards to the juices and will get some labels made up from them for future visits. Many thanks More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were nice. Breakfast was rank, staff failed to notice that I only ate the hash browns and didn't touch the rest of it. Didn't ask how it was or offer any type of refund etc.

Helpful?
Thank Andmolly
General Manager A, General Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Dear Andmolly I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your breakfast. As part of our guest journey all team are asked to carry out a check back on meals and I am very sorry that this didn't happen on this occasion. We are happy to receive guest feedback whilst you are visiting with us as... More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Came for breakfast and it was great! You pay next to nothing and you get so much choice and you get the continental included at no extra cost. I have been three times in the last month, one of the best places I have found for breakfast. Only thing I personally didn't like was the coffee but there is plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
General Manager A, General Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Dear Hannah D Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We have a great range of meals on the menu and if you log onto our Harvester App there is lots of information and offers that you can sign up for. It would be lovely to see you sometime... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We were wanting somewhere local to go for a meal so we thought we'd give the harvester another go. We were met by Amy who took us to a table who then looked after us for the evening. They were out of a few items on the menu luckily they had what we wanted. The drink & food order was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
General Manager A, General Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Dear Bryan P Thank you so much for your recent review. I am glad to hear that you were happy with your visit look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks More 

Travellers who viewed The Bell & Barge also viewed

 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Bell & Barge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Brownsover Road, Rugby, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Rugby
  • Phone Number: +44 1788 569466
Description
At The Bell and Barge Harvester in Rugby food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell & Barge and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell & Barge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?