We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Stables

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Fontwell Park Fontwell Avenue | Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England
+44 1243 543082
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 360: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Eaten here many times and the food is quite good. The last time I visited it was quiet and the service was very good. But I have visited when it is busy and you can wait a long time to be served.

Helpful?
Thank Kelvyn D
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on our way to Arundel for a spot of lunch when we passed this place. My wife noticed before me and it looked very quaint, so we decided to go here instead. It is larger than you imagine and geared up for the restaurant business, with tables everywhere (although not on top of each other, so each table... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank AndyandJackie
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my second visit to the Stables with my parents. We were greeted the minute we stepped in the door and Julie and Sheila were absolutely wonderful. We were given adequate time to peruse the menu, the food was fantastic and reasonably priced. The disabled toilet was ever so clean. The whole place was clean.

Helpful?
1 Thank Toni1510
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would recommend The old stables to any body. The staff was professional and the food was-great. The staff make you feel very comfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank 506dennis
somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good selection of food, although on 2 nights running they did not have any Pizza.(we were informed of this before ordering).Pleasant staff and food was enjoyable on both evenings. Clean and atmospheric pub.would recommend ringing and booking just to make sure of a table .

Helpful?
1 Thank adelaide60
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for Saturday lunch with friends, lovely warm sunny day. Was surprised to see that they only had one member of staff working inside. We sat in the garden to eat and waited 45 minutes for the starter to turn up (which was very nice). Finished that in a couple of minutes and 25 minutes later still waiting for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom_Surrey2015
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this review

Hi Tom, thank you for your response, as you mentioned Saturday was a delightful day and unfortunately on my part I wasn't aware that in April we would have such beautiful weather, typical British weather I suppose and unfortunately hadn't got extra staff on to be able fulfil all the garden needs as to the waitress quickly disappearing in order... More 

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called ahead to ensure they had space for a party of 6. I shouldn't have worried as there were loads of free tables. It started badly with the poor waiter having to tell us what wasn't on the menu which was quite a list! The waiting staff should be on danger money as I'm sure some patrons of the establishment... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MPCor
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this review

Hi, After reading your review MPCor I believe I was the waitress that served you that Sunday, I can only apologise about the unavailable items the majority of our food is cooked fresh and not from frozen therefore we do sometimes run out of items quicker than others, and in regards to the roast dinners this is something that is... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met friends for lunch here,lovely welcome and good service from bar,that's the good bit.we ordered 3 roast beef dinners and another meal,the taste of the roasts were wonderful but spoilt by being served on Cold plates so it was stone cold before I'd eaten even half.I have since read reviews and it seems to be a frequent complaint,with the response... More 

Helpful?
Thank 201daisysue
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this review

Hello Daisy, I'm sorry to see that the meals you were served on this occasion weren't entirely satisfactory, I'm glad you enjoyed your meals. Roasts on a Sunday are annoying for me situation, due to the high volume of roasts we go through it can sometimes to difficult to allow the plates to heat up under the lights before serving,... More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for lunch - Although be aware on race days you will have to pay £10 for the car park which IS REFUNDED IN full or taken off your food bill whichever you prefer, but may catch you out if you don't carry cash!! I can totally see why they do this though as racegoers would fill the car... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette504216
chichester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you to Kathy, Ben and all the lovely staff, we had a lovely family get together for a 50th birthday celebration. Food was excellent, as was the service. Thank you all once again Christine and Malcolm xx

Helpful?
1 Thank christine s

Travellers who viewed The Old Stables also viewed

Climping, Arun District
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Arundel, Arun District
 
Bosham, Chichester
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to The Old Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fontwell Park Fontwell Avenue | Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Fontwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 543082
Description
The Old Stables in Fontwell is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Stables and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Stables staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?