We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sweeney's Steakhouse

$$ - $$$
Bar, Steakhouse
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1713 Rostraver Rd., Belle Vernon, PA 15012-4000
+1 724-929-8383
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 - 00:00
Thu - Sat 11:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The overall experience was jusk OK, pretty average. It took us a while to get seated as there was no one at the hostess station. I started with the house salad which was good but not memorable. For my Entree, being at a steakhouse, I had the NY strip. It was over cooked ( ordered medium) and had lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevenLee13
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

I hadn't been here for quite a while. Heard they had a new Chef and some of the menu was revised, so we gave it another try. SO GLAD we went back!!!! Prior to the new Chef the food was mediocre, service was slow and items were over price for the quality. Well, all that has changed!! It was fantastic!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jody B
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Despite the bad reviews we were very pleased with the quality of the food; the new cook they have seems to really know what he's doing. My wife and I cam to eat Thursday afternoon around two, everything tasted great. The server/bartender ( a lady in her thirties, she didn't tell us her name) was far from pleasant though. She... More 

Helpful?
Thank John8930
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Came in for lunch today with my husband and mother food was good but our waitress Barbara was amazing I was choking pretty bad on my food and without hesitation she helped me and I coughed it out with one squeeze for her. We never had to wait for anything or even ask. She was the only one Bartending and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz_M_7890
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner around 7 pm on a Sunday. Waitress and chef came out and said they'd take us. Kids enjoyed their selections, chicken and spaghetti. Wife said chicken salad was above average and their wings were great.

Helpful?
Thank JarJarFinks
Monongahela
Level Contributor
134 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2016

Stopped by yesterday for dinner with family. What a surprise there was no one in the place! Don't know what was up with that , maybe it was too hot out for people to be out! That was okay with us, it was like they opened just for us, service was excellent, the food was great! No noise just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roseann M
PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2016

We read the mediocre to bad reviews the place received on Yelp and we were passing by with an Enjoy Book coupon in hand, so we decided to give the place a shot for lunch on a Saturday. Restrooms are near the entrance - relatively clean and well designed. However, the ladies room was out of soap. We were greeted... More 

Helpful?
Thank The_Olde_Boy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2016

We ate here a few times and food was really good and service was fine. Last time we visited however we were seated at a dirty sticky table, when the waitress brought our drinks and menus over, the menus had food stuck to them. We got up and left.

Helpful?
Thank Snidsl
Sweeneys S, Manager at Sweeney's Steakhouse, responded to this review

We apologize for this, and please assure that this is not the quality of work we are looking for from our servers. We thank you for bringing this to our attention. Can you please tell me what time you were in the building so I can hold the correct server accountable. As you have been here in the past and... More 

Elizabeth, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2015

After an ~10 year hiatus, my husband and I ate at Sweeney's tonight. First, we were greeted by 3 unwanted dancing fleas at our table. Next, we noticed a very distinct haze and stench that was in the air. Either the restaurant exhaust system doesn't work or it wasn't turned on. We both ordered sandwiches, but I had onion rings... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember09172015
Perryopolis, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2015

Been there 3 times in the last couple weeks. Food is always good. BUT, First time kitchen hood wasn't working had to do laundry and shower because we smelled like kitchen smoke. Second time, ate at bar and had to do laundry and shower because of smell. Third time nobody in the place, ate at the bar came home and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
Sweeneys S, Manager at Sweeney's Steakhouse, responded to this review

We have just been able to claim our business on trip adviser so we do apologize for the delay. We apologize for the Hood system not working and extra Smoke from the kitchen. This issue was resolved a week later when the company was able to order the part in. The bar is a smoking bar and unfortunately that does... More 

Travellers who viewed Sweeney's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sweeney's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, Steakhouse
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 02:00
Friday
11:00 - 02:00
Saturday
11:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1713 Rostraver Rd., Belle Vernon, PA 15012-4000
  • Location: United States  >  Pennsylvania (PA)  >  Belle Vernon
  • Phone Number: +1 724-929-8383
Description
Sweeny's Steakhouse began as a small roadside eating place with a policy of "good service and good food". The restaurant has grown, but the Hardy family is committed to carrying on the tradition that has made it a local landmark. The Sweeney's Club Sandwich which has been famous for over 45 years is still on the menu until this day. The large sports bar and lounge that features weekly entertainment including live bands, karaoke, DJ's and more! The friendly atmosphere makes it a great place to watch your local Pittsburgh teams as well as any other sporting interests! Sweeney's was voted #1 Happy Hour around for two years running and has received the gold award from the Mon Valley Independent. With two full size pool tables, a dart board, and a variety of entertainment, there is non stop fun and excitement! The lower level of the steakhouse features two beautiful newly renovated banquet rooms with accommodations for any of your event needs. Before the team of chef's opened the doors of Sweeney's Steakhouse in the spring of 2011. Before even creating the first dish, they vowed to only use the finest ingredients, and prepare each dish with an infusion of passion and creativity. Critics and locals have been raving ever since. Diners agree. Sweeney's Steakhouse is the best kept secret around. Sweeney's Steakhouse is committed to serving only the finest foods, made with the freshest ingredients. All of our dishes are made from top quality selections. Our newly renovated unique décor and friendly servers create a memorable dining experience. We invite you to come and experience the best kept secret in the Pittsburgh Area. We have listed the Bar hours, the full kitchen hours can be found on our website Thank You

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sweeney's Steakhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?