We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
129 Bradford Road | Menston, Ilkley LS29 6EB, England
441943873024
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 335: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had Sunday lunch with my sister and friend and enjoyed the ambience in the restaurant area and the staff were friendly. Nice decor and cosy feel with the fireplaces lit on a cold Winter's afternoon. Had the nut roast which was delicious, only down side is I had new potatoes rather than roast potatoes as they cook theirs in goose... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnRMcH
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lunch here with an old friend and was really looking forward to lunch.But.......I found the food quite bland and very stodgy. My friend had a different dish but considered his bland and stodgy too. Sorry

Helpful?
Thank jaruska2015
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff n Gaff really great can't fault. Shame abt the chef n poor quality sub standard food. My wife's Sunday Lunch (veg/yorks pud/roasts) was aired at best an chicken warm not hot. We returned to kitchen an some 5m later was presented with a microwaved I reckon hotter lunch....the veg as you can see were as limp as a wet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steviepud
The Fox M, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hello Steviepud, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear about the experience that you had yesterday. As you can imagine this is not the quality of food we wish for our guests to receive. I would like to speak with you further regarding your visit. Please could you email me with a contact number and a convenient... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice atmosphere and decor Can only comment on the sticky chicken dish as we both had this ....dry chicken with sweet chilli sauce poured over it and some chopped spring onion over the top ... Ok but won't rush back unless for drinks

Helpful?
1 Thank roxynaylor
The Fox M, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hello roxynaylor, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our sticky chicken dish, we have taken your feedback on board, our kitchen team will be working to improve this dish and make this improvement a consistent occurrence. I would like to hope that you will return soon to give us another chance to give you the quality... More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good size car park and easy to locate via sat nav. Decor was good. Service was attentive and the food was reasonable pub fare. Arrived at 12.15 and reasonably quiet on a Monday but busy by 1pm.

Helpful?
Thank Steve_Grant1
The Fox M, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hello Steve_Grant1, Thank you for your feedback, we aim to provide our services for all manor guests and reasons to visit, including for business lunches. I hope that you will use us again for your next business lunch and if you ever feel that the restaurant is too busy for your meeting, please feel free to ask a member of... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not enough staff on duty to provide acceptable service. Took 3 hours to have a 2 course Sunday lunch with 1 hour wait for main course to arrive. We were seated behind a pillar and it was a case of out of sight,out of mind. After long waits for everything, when I asked the waitress if we could have our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Locky912
The Fox M, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hello Locky912, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience on Sunday. As you can imagine this is not the quality of service we wish to provide, I would like to speak with you further to hear more about the experience that you had so that we can work to further... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sunday evening meal. At least it was taking orders beyond 6pm, which many around here aren't - which is why we went. Chose the roast dinner. Choice of beef or chicken only. We wanted the beef anyway. Basically by an hour in we'd only had our artisan rustic bread starter. The meal was below par. All a bit cold really,... More 

Helpful?
Thank gordon s
The Fox M, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hello gordon s, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that your Sunday experience was not up to par, I will be speaking with our suppliers about the quality of the meat they supply and i have already spoken with the kitchen team to properly check our meat products when they are delivered. As for the service... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a table today for 4 adults for Sunday lunch. Very positive experience we all ordered different dishes all were of excellent quality, service was a little slow but it was very busy. Nice atmosphere and a good overall dining experience .

Helpful?
Thank CMC2000
The Fox M, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hello CMC2000, Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you had a 'lovely' experience I hope that this was one of many more visits to come. We look forward to seeing you again at The Fox, Thanks Shane General Manager More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I treated my daughter to a birthday lunch last Tuesday accompanied by her one year old son. The bar/dining area was spacious but cosy. We chose a bay-window seat overlooking the A65 - the road between Leeds and Ilkley. We opted for the three course fixed price (£14.95) menu which was a se!section from the main a la carte menu.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnathan Y
The Fox M, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hello Johnathan Y, Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you had a delightful experience, especially on such an occasion. I am also glad to hear that Jo your waitress made your experience the little bit more delightful. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Shane General Manager More 

Bradford,West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a table at this restaurant on at 1930 on a Tuesday for my wife's birthday. We arrived a bit early and ordered drinks at the bar. We all then decided that we were hungry and I asked if we could go to our table earlier than the time I had booked (15 mins) only to be told that... More 

Helpful?
Thank GHA

Travellers who viewed The Fox also viewed

Otley, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Menston, West Yorkshire
Menston, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 129 Bradford Road | Menston, Ilkley LS29 6EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Ilkley
  • Phone Number: 441943873024
Description
traditional Yorkshire village pub & restaurant

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fox staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?