We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hop Pole Inn

) #2 of 34 Restaurants in Bewdley $$ - $$$ , British,
Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
+44 1299 401295
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good16%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“trifle” (16 reviews)
“sea bass” (20 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Almost 30 people with some of their children were able to sit outside and literally watch great, quality food being cooked in front of us. (The weather was kind) Accompanying salads and deserts were tasty and fresh. Nothing was too much trouble, from the time...More

1  Thank GayleStourbridge
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

It was a pleasure looking after you. Such a nice event for you to organise for all your staff.

Reviewed 4 days ago

The sharing starters are very generous and having ordered the baked Camembert and the bread we had carb overload. Food good and friendly staff. One of my daughters said, 'if you ran a restaurant then she (the waitress) is exactly the sort of person that...More

1  Thank Peter K
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Bless her she obviously felt nice and relaxed with us to make her feel she wanted to work here. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewed 4 days ago

We went to the Hop Pole on recommendation of a local and were expecting a better than average pub meal. The restaurant area is at the back of the pub which is one large space. The pub was busy but not overcrowded and it was...More

3  Thank TheKeeg
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

The thing is with Tripadvisor there is a free rein for people to come along and just say what they jolly well like and the restaurant then has to take it right there on the chin! I spoke to my staff as Daren and I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a great place to go to for a meal! We were firstly welcomed with great smiles from the bar. After a cheeky cocktail we were taken to our table promptly. The pub was busy so we were happy to catch up with all our...More

2  Thank hannah_lemme
Reviewed 1 week ago

As far as pub grub goes, the food wasn't bad but quite pricey. In regards to staff, service was diabolical:( the blonde woman kept giving me dirty looks which made me feel uncomfortable.More

3  Thank Lauren S
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I think this review is totally weird and crazy. What is the point of it and what is it telling anyone apart from we've had a guest come to The Hop that is paranoid about a Blonde waitresses. I've reported it as suspicious. In the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met friends here for Sunday lunch as it approx half way between us, what a nice little pub ! The staff were really friendly and welcoming, inside is slightly quirky in a good way, not bog standard bland, outside, they grow a lot of the...More

2  Thank sandstone1812
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Fantastic. Chefs make a great effort with our English Tradition. So many people say eating Sunday lunch at The Hop is always as good as your favourite home cooked meal and you don't have to contend with the washing up neither!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed with our meal today . Vegetarian option was onion bharji ! ...which I find quite a strange choice for a Sunday lunch ... We did ask if they could do the vegatarian starter as a main and have it with the vegetables.. This...More

4  Thank Louise S
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Unfortunately you came to visit whilst we were on holiday and although all of my staff usually know what to do, I can only apologise for the mishap on the portion size. The vegetables should not of been charged for as they form part of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great time at the Bastille night at The Hop. The menu was superb and I loved the chicken especially, although my husband's beef bourguignon was really tasty too. The music and atmosphere, was a fun way to start the weekend. Thanks to...More

2  Thank Sonia1809
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We love a good themed night. Watch out on our FB and website for more events. Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought we'd try visiting the Hop Pole on steak night and as usual we weren't disappointed. Thanks chefs, the steaks were amazing. All the staff were kind, considerate and very attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and will be back soon.

1  Thank hazehall2000
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are loving the Steak night. We all love a steak. Great atmosphere for our cheeky mid week escape! Thanks for your review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here many times for a special meal On certain evenings they have great entertainment Great food Friendly staff Good value

1  Thank Andrew D
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks Andrew. We have live music every Friday so always a great atmosphere.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant
416 reviews
1.21 km away
Clementines Coffee
262 reviews
1.15 km away
The Mulberry Restaurant
252 reviews
1.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bewdley Museum
327 reviews
1.22 km away
Go Ape at Wyre Forest
156 reviews
.57 km away
Bewdley Brewery
47 reviews
1.38 km away
St. George's Hall
18 reviews
1.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jodie A
2 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Lou1968Lou | Property representative |
Hi, yes we have Rachel Abbots and friends. Good lively band with different artists playing. Email is on our website for bookings. Or call 01299 401295. Many Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$23
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 11:00
Monday
12:00 - 11:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 11:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 11:00
Thursday
12:00 - 11:00
Friday
12:00 - 11:00
Saturday
12:00 - 11:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Bewdley
  • Phone Number: +44 1299 401295
  • E-mail
Description
Family run Restaurant and Bar situated in the Georgian town of Bewdley. Menu ranges from Pub Food Favourites to Gastro pub so something for everyone. Real Ales and Chilled lagers with a interesting Wine List. Nice relaxed atmosphere with friendly attentive staff.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing