We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant

St. Austell Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England
+44 1726 812889
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“beef stew” (7 reviews)
“pavlova” (9 reviews)
“burger” (17 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 11:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St. Austell Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Stopped by on a trip to Charlestown. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had the cirnish steak ciabatta with red onion marmalade, which was served with a few chips and salad. The steak was plentiful in the sandwich and very tasty, the chips...More

Thank Judith A
Reviewed 6 days ago

We stayed at the Britannia Inn for 3 nights in February. The room (Tregrehen) was huge and the bathroom was well appointed. The shower cubicle was very cosy and bigger people might have struggled to shower comfortably. The towels were good quality and the room...More

Thank RubyCurry
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. Thank you so much for all your lovely and positive comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and even more pleased to hear that you would...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I have eaten at the Britannia numerous times over the years and have recommended it to friends and family visiting the St Austell area. As we were passing through St Austell we decided to pop in for a bit of lunch. Unfortunately the lunch menu...More

Thank Tynan_12
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. We really are so sorry that you were disappointed on your last visit to us, and we will look into the matter with our chefs. Please could you email info@britanniainn.com so...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have driven past the Britannia dozens of times without calling in. On a recommendation from another local public an who did not serve food we gave it a try. It is on a main road with a large car park and a play area...More

Thank Ian J
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. Thank you so much for all your lovely and positive comments regarding our food, service, and price. We are really pleased that you chose to visit us twice and that you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were too late for the traditional Sunday roast, but there was still plenty to choose from off the menu. My partner had the chicken with bacon and bbq sauce, he said it was tasty and the chicken was nicely cooked, crispy chips too. I...More

Thank Alice G
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. Thank you so much for all your lovely and positive comments, we are really pleased that you both enjoyed your meals with us, and it is lovely to hear that you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely little place to stay. Friendly helpful staff. Great food with generous portions The room was lovely spacious, clean with all amenities. Very close to beaches. Eden project and many more places to visit. Lots of car parking space Supermarkets close by....More

1  Thank cloud9smiles
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. Thank you so much for all your lovely positive comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and even more pleased to hear that you would stay...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Their varied menu is both good value, pleasantly served and at whatever time of day you visit. Best in the area.

Thank Roger B
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we very much hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent quality food ,great friendly staff, great service value for money, clean and nice decoration, recommended.

2  Thank alfred t
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. Thank you so much for all your lovely positive comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your birthday meal with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 7 January 2018

We were a party of 4 today and had a very good carvery meal , beef was beautifully cooked and the pork looked good too - ideally we would have liked a poultry alternative but never mind - i'm sure someone was thinking strategically about...More

Thank Ron E
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. Lovely to hear that your party of four chose to dine with us for Sunday carvery and we are really pleased that you all enjoyed your food, and it is always...More

Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

As a regular visitor to the Brit for food and drinks when we visit We were pleased to see that Santa was going to be there while we were here What a great experience for all the family meeting Belle Cinderella and Spider-Man as well...More

Thank ALFIE99TAUNTON
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. What a pleasure your comments are to read, thank you so much! Lovely to hear that your family enjoyed the Santa's Magical Kingdom and we will pass your fantastic comments onto...More

PreviousNext
12345668
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Par Hotels
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
676 reviews
.40 km away
The Carlyon Bay
1,646 reviews
1.09 km away
Porth Avallen Hotel
290 reviews
1.52 km away
The Pier House Hotel
533 reviews
2.00 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Boscundle Manor
79 reviews
.40 km away
Biscovey Fish Bar
12 reviews
.89 km away
Edie's Kitchen
36 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cornwall Football Golf
700 reviews
.83 km away
Pinetum Gardens
316 reviews
.79 km away
Finesse Chauffeurs Tours
14 reviews
1.05 km away
Cornish Market World
248 reviews
.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stephanie W
15 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Michael I | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can take dogs in the pub & beer garden but not in the restaurant.
1
Vote
chelseaboy57
15 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from He C | Reviewed this property |
I believe they serve food from midday until 9 pm . Book as they are very popular,foods very good,worth a visit.Hope the concert is good,my friend saw him at Glastonbury and loved him!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Austell Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell  >  Par
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 812889
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing