We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holmbush Inn

101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
+44 1726 68691
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (49 reviews)
“mixed grill” (13 reviews)
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had friends from the Lancashire come to stay so we decided to take them out for lunch we decided on the Holmbush Inn because it's always reliability....oh dear sad mistake Homity Pie no flavour very poor...... 10oz rump was very tough and how difficult...More

Thank Glyn T
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely to find a well ran pub with excellent food, a great drinks selection in a clean and tidy pub! Great to find the pub quiz

Thank sadiehoneys12
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food (and the quiz!) and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’ve been coming to the Holmbush for many years. It’s one of those easy option pubs to eat in. We know the menu off by heart because it never really changes. Staff are friendly, which makes all the difference! I ate here on Friday 5th...More

Thank Debbie B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely to just walk down and eat for a lazy evening! Varied many to choose from and very helpful friendly staff

Thank Shiraz1306
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not a bad pub but not the best of St Austell Brewery’s offerings. The fish was huge I had there and chips are always good, however avoid the steaks, my last one looked like it was chewed by a malnourished goat for a month and...More

Thank madrugbyboy
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for the Holmbush Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your fish, although we would like to apologise that you felt the steak was not up to standard. All information will be passed on to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Usually meet friends here . always good food and prompt service.Menu could do with a change more frequently especially veggie options

Thank niceone2
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoy your time with us. Customer feedback is a crucial factor in improving our service standards so we are very grateful that you have taken the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended to us by the staff at carlyon bay campsite and I'm glad we took their advice a group of 4 of us went and it is 1 of the rare occasions that everyone of us couldn't fault the food which was tasty and cooked...More

Thank C_J_P_1972
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for this fantastic review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and do hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Had lovely meal with all the family for my sons 21 birthday food was good pub food and all of us enjoyed it. Thank you

Thank Jason S
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, we are pleased your enjoyed your meal with and hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 5 September 2018

Friends and colleagues told me the Holmbush has really gone down in recent months and, alas, I agree. The food is poor. The salad bar looks as if it should come with a health warning. Curled, dry lettuce/salad leaves that look as if they've been...More

Thank Daisychain53
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are happy you thought the team were so great! However we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your food on your recent visit with us, we can only apologise and assure you...More

Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

I popped in as passing for dinner, looked busy so thought this was a good sign. Very friendly welcome from the staff, it was busy but still found a table. Ordered food from another friendly member of staff. Food came quickly and was lovely and...More

Thank Anna S
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in St Austell
The Pier House Hotel
616 reviews
.96 km away
Porth Avallen Hotel
317 reviews
1.04 km away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
710 reviews
1.16 km away
The Carlyon Bay
1,759 reviews
1.37 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Old Kerrow Farm Park
5 reviews
.61 km away
Edie's Kitchen
169 reviews
.66 km away
Charlie's Coffee House
323 reviews
.71 km away
Tall Ships Creamery
166 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Roche Rock & Hermitage
33 reviews
.61 km away
Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
1,228 reviews
.78 km away
Cornwall Football Golf
803 reviews
.94 km away
The Harbourside Inn
64 reviews
.93 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stephanie W
15 January 2018|
Answer
Response from PeteGiles | Reviewed this property |
yes there....All dogs are welcome.....
2
Votes
Dave G
16 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from StAustellManagement | Property representative |
Hello, They have 2 sitting for Sunday Lunch one at 12pm and the other at 1.30pm. We cannot guarantee there will be any roast free after the second sitting. it is advisable to book in advance. Contact them on 01726 68691 or... More
2
Votes
losgigs18
23 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from OsborneDavid | Reviewed this property |
Not 100% sure know in past we've eaten first so would suggest a quick call to check
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Holmbush Road, St Austell PL25 3LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 68691
  • E-mail
Description
The Holmbush is a lively and friendly pub, situated in St Austell. It is a family pub with a delightful beer garden and conservatory. Other facilities include an excellent pool area and wide screen TV's showing terrestrial sporting events. There is also a good sized car park on site. Peta and her team look forward to welcoming you to the Holmbush Inn!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing