We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harvest

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 -22 Old Pacific Highway | Newrybar Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales NSW 2479, Australia
+61 2 6687 2644
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 753: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice to have a light lunch from the bar menu and do a little work o the laptop. I loved the pate and got a delish fresh salad - cost about $20 plus tea. The main seated area is gorgeous but pricey and only worth it for a special occasion unless you have loads of money and I'd say eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonang11
Moira W, General Manager at Harvest, responded to this review

Hi Tonang11, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your experience at Harvest. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our bar service. We believe that our bar menu reflects our belief in 'casual elegance'. Our chefs enjoy creating relaxed bar food that reflects the flavours present in our drinks menu. Harvest's surroundings allow us to put... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Oh My God... We attended my nephew's wedding here. The food was absolutely delicious and plenty of it. The waitstaff were all lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant, grounds and bake house are all so pretty. Do yourself a favour and go there you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
Moira W, General Manager at Harvest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your experience at Harvest. We believe all feedback to be invaluable. I am glad to hear that you had a great experience with us at Harvest. We take pride in the level of service that we offer here at Harvest and are proud of the way we prepare our food. The... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What was once a local favourite with casual, fresh seasonal produce is now a wannabe fine dining restaurant with a menu that makes no sense. Our waitress was trying her best to act professional but forgot about the simple things, a friendly welcome and warm smile. Some of the food was quite good but on every plate there was an... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank KenoJupiters
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

take the time to find Newrybar....and Harvest ! You will not be disappointed. Fabulous food and service. We shall return.

Helpful?
3 Thank shazmcc
Moira W, General Manager at Harvest, responded to this review

Hi Shazmcc, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your experience at Harvest. I'm glad you were able to find Harvest and view all that Newrybar has to offer. We are proud to be located in this historic village and believe that anyone in the surrounding areas should make the trip. Our location allow us to put forward... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

What a shame......whoever is responsible for settling on the luncheon menu at this stalwart in the beautiful north coast NSW hinterland has missed the point as to what has made it so successful over the last decade. It reminds me of the bloke turning up at the school reunion driving an Aston Martin - just inappropriate. Our chef has delusions... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Shane O
Moira W, General Manager at Harvest, responded to this review

Hi Shane O, I would generally open my response by thanking you for your crucial feedback, as I do in fact read and follow up with every single review that is posted here and on other forums. Our mission is and always has been, to not only meet, but to far exceed the expectations of our guests- through food, service,... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We visited again after 12 months ; sat at the same table and couldn't go past the lamb shoulder again. A beautiful day with fine service and lamb that melted in your mouth,complemented by local vegetables. Again, there was plenty over to take home for another meal, so excellent value.

Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingfriend_8
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I get the vibe. Using natural flora and fauna is great,but felt totally suckered with the portion size. I mean picking pig face flowers, saltbush and prickly pear sounds fun, but it cannot be a dedicated pursuit for restaurant leader Peter. A garnish of four pig face flowers sounds exciting but when it comprises a significant proportion of the dish... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew L
Moira W, General Manager at Harvest, responded to this review

Hi Matthew, it was a pleasure to catch up with you on the phone yesterday regarding your important feedback on your recent Wild Harvest experience. I just wanted to let you know that as promised, I have followed up with the chef team regarding the portion size for Wild Harvest Session last Wednesday. Collectively, we have come to the conclusion... More 

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful restaurant with a great ambience and feel. Had been before so was excited to return. Felt really let down when we were shown to a table mid room, when there were others around the edge we would have preferred. No water offered or wine list for at least 15 minutes and it was not busy. Service was really lacking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vmmo2
Moira W, General Manager at Harvest, responded to this review

Hi vmmo2, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. Im so happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambience and feel of Harvest. I am also happy to see that you enjoyed the food. We have always taken extreme pride in our friendly, attentive, and authentic service. I am unsure what might have gone wrong... More 

Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

If only I could live on the fumes of last year's sparkling review, but no, a year later we returned and the chef of a year past may have left the building. The oysters were shockingly not fresh. Not spoiled but limp and on life support. Not an auspicious beginning. The Torched Kingfish appetizer was tough, tasteless and drenched in... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank loveandpeace47
Gold Coast Qld Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went there today for a Birthday lunch with my mother and daughter. What a disappointment! Used to love this place. Menu was not enticing at all, didn't fancy any of it. Choose Fish, which was overlooked and served with Avocado puree and radish ( didn't work) others had Chicken which was just ok. And yes served with radish. Boring. And... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Diane A
Moira W, General Manager at Harvest, responded to this review

Hi Diane, Thank you for taking the time to give us your crucial feedback. I am awfully sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal when you dined with us last week. I have discussed your points with the chef. I regret that your fish was over cooked and would have welcomed your feedback while you were in-house so... More 

Travellers who viewed Harvest also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Harvest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$28
Cuisine
Australian
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 -22 Old Pacific Highway | Newrybar Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales NSW 2479, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Byron Bay
  • Phone Number: +61 2 6687 2644
Description
The Harvest Ethos is Fresh Local Seasonal and Sustainable.We focus on using an abundance of fresh local produce - showcasing the best of what our region has to offer. A majority of our herbs and vegetables are grown on our very own organic farm and on site kitchen garden. A Devine carefully crafted seasonal wine and cocktail list enables our beautiful staff take you on a true dining journey. Located in Newrybar - we are 10 minutes from Byron Bay but in a world all of our own. Time seems to stand still in the hills, come and see for yourself. We also feature a Cellar & Private dining room, Artisan Bakery and Deli. Harvest is also available for Catering and Private events. Welcome to the Festival of Food in the Byron Bay Hinterland.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harvest staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?