We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Braunton Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Braunton road, Braunton, England
+44 1271 816547
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good21%
  • Average13%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible29%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (9 reviews)
“chain pub” (7 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Braunton road, Braunton, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We didn’t have a reservation but called up and they were very helpful and advised us to be there by a certain time which we were. Our waitress couldn’t do enough for us from organising our table and making sure the fire was lit. Ordered...More

Thank Wedding33
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for leaving us a great review. We are very happy to hear that your waitress gave you the high level of service you received. We are also very pleased you found our pricing at a good value. We hope to see you all...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here the other night for dinner. We ate quite early because of smaller kids however we did find that there were hardly any people round which was surprising! The atmosphere was great they had a couple of fires going and gave us the option...More

Thank toby b
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Toby B, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Braunton Inn. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great views across the estuary from the gardens and car park. The food at all vintage inns is the same, it is only the service and surroundings that vary, I was pleasantly surprised by the Braunton Inn, the good was well presented and the staff...More

Thank Linda_Laleston
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Great setting to take visitors but on the last two occasions we've been there they have not had the local draught beer. First time due to late delivery and 2nd time no reason! The food is good for the price. The main restaurant doesn't have...More

Thank messymassey
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place with lovely food that is reasonably priced. Unfortunately the staff are all on their phones behind the bar, talking really loudly amongst each other and even swearing!!! People walking in and out of the kitchen kick opening the door and shouting whilst wearing...More

3  Thank OlyaPiano
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please contact us at 01271816547 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around. Regards Craig

Reviewed 31 October 2017

A reasonably well cooked lunch , good variety of vegetables but paying an extra 2.50 for what was clearly packet sauce anaemic cauliflower cheese was too much .Thankfully the customer friendly staff responded and took this off the bill when we challenged . Its a...More

Thank andywestonwebb2016
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry that the Cauliflower Cheese was not up to standard. I can assure you that it is not a "packet sauce" but never the less it shouldn't be as you have described. I'm glad the issue was...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

This is a chain pub and with that you’ve got to assume that things won’t be perfect. To start with the good points. Great location on the river. It was a lovely sunny day on our visit and we sat in the late autumn sun...More

Thank eatatblock
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Our local for many years now, going down hill more and more every time. Arrived today for a family lunch, greeted with a harassed lady who in a panicked tone said that they weren't serving food as the kitchen couldn't cope! There were about 10...More

2  Thank mumablue G
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to learn that you were disappointed. Having spoken to the team on duty last Sunday I believe we had been very busy and the Kitchen team needed a few minutes to catch up after which normal...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

We have visited this restaurant for many years in its beautiful location - when Simon ran this place everything worked well - food and service was excellent. Since he left everything has gone down and down hill. On the occasions we visited last year, there...More

4  Thank alcudiaman
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hello alcudiaman, Thank you for your review. We always appreciate honest and open feedback, thank you, and I'm very sorry to learn that when you visited us last year we didn't meet your expectations. It is in unclear in your review whether or not you...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on a Monday afternoon. Menu was nice (Vintage Inns Standard), service was friendly. Had burgers that were nice and kids meal was massive. Cucumber in the salad looked like it had been frozen, but apart from that it was all fine. We...More

Thank MJKBrizzle1980
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello, Thanks for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon,. Stuart Deputy Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fremington Quay Cafe
680 reviews
1.67 km away
The Riverside
527 reviews
3.17 km away
Cedars Inn
304 reviews
3.63 km away
The Corner Bistro
362 reviews
3.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Biketrail Cycle Shop & Cycle Hire
76 reviews
1.65 km away
Marwood Hill Gardens
216 reviews
4.12 km away
Walking On Waves Surf School
54 reviews
4.26 km away
Saunton Sands Beach
760 reviews
4.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ryan S
30 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Louise G | Reviewed this property |
I think so but not 100% sure, probably best to give them a call
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Braunton road, Braunton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Braunton
  • Phone Number: +44 1271 816547
Description
The Braunton Inn in Barnstaple is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing