We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cleave Public House

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9TJ, England
+44 1647 277223
Today
12:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 462: English reviews
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Always a friendly welcome at the bar no matter who is working. Very busy Easter Sunday and we had to move around to get a decent table but the staff kept up with us. Starters were all very good, Blackened Aubergine was great as was the Smoked Salmon. Main course Lamb was cooked perfectly, the Coconut + Chicken curry was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as we stepped in the door we were greeted by the welcoming, humorous, and affable landlord, like we were regular customers (our first visit) - so refreshing! We were kept entertained by his delightful quips and friendly banter to all and sundry and enjoyed a light lunch, a generously filled baguette, fresh and nicely presented, and local beer.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MaryRose S
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

went for a walk and fell upon this pub in the middle of a quaint village, the landlord is very talkative and the staff very pleasant and attentive.worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank 634lane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my family have been coming to The Cleave now for the last 6 or so years. It's one of our favourite places to visit when staying with family in Devon. Ben the landlord is always cheery; as are the rest of the staff. We always have the 'Croque-Monsieur'; which is absolutely to die for! Our two young boys... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LSN1979
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Following on from the other reviews, I was intrigued to find out if Ben the owner was as rude as described. Well, i guess it all depends on your sense of humour as he made us feel welcome and the food was great. I highly recommend the Sticky Whiskey Pig created by Head Chef Matt, I had to say thanks... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyPM1710
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took a visit to The Cleave over the weekend and was lovely sat outside and enjoyed the sun, food was cooked fresh abc was very enjoyable would go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous1328
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here within the last month to dine. Firstly the pub is in a gorgeous village. Its a beautiful thatched property in a lovely setting. We arrived on what we thought would be a very busy evening for dinner - a Friday. There were only two other tables eating which we thought was a bit odd for the location... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank katiejames2017
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although staff were welcoming, albeit forced, we were moved from the bright bar area to a musty back room that smelt of damp and mould. It look longer than usual for food to be served, despite the pub not being particularly busy and our food being served in 5 minute intervals really gave the impression that we weren't being cared... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Hamaroxy
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Extremely limited menu. Ben the landlord was arrogant, rude and obnoxious. It appears in this establishment the customer is not king. One of the worst meals out I have endured and over priced.To pay£16 for a burger I would have expected something better than oven chips and a plate of rocket He then paraded our desserts before another group of... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank potter7749
bwhitton, Owner at The Cleave Public House, responded to this review

Weeeeeellll......... It is an enduring truth in the catering industry 'That you can't please all of the people all of the time'. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience here at the Cleave. Lets address a few issues here...... 1. The burger..... £13.25, not served with rocket in any shape or form. We use oven chips as we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had remembered this sweet little village and local pub from 20 years ago when I went to visit. It is just as charming now as it was then. I was on a time scheduled so just popped in for a cup of tea, they could not have been more accommodating to me had I been for a 5 course... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoyfulMomentsCoach

Travellers who viewed The Cleave Public House also viewed

Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park
 
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Cleave Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9TJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Lustleigh
  • Phone Number: +44 1647 277223

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cleave Public House and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cleave Public House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?