We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Smugglers Inn

27 Teignmouth Road, Dawlish EX7 0LA, England
+44 1626 862301
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Teignmouth Road, Dawlish EX7 0LA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

A group of us were staying nearby out of season and seriously struggling to find any restaurants. After asking at a local costa for recommendations they suggested the Smugglers Inn. When We arrived we were slightly cautious, it was dark and looked less than inviting...More

Thank tjwood2014
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great Food and attentive, friendly Staff - can highly recommend this pub/restaurant - excellent carvery ! Has a lovely sea-view if you eat in the daytime !

Thank John F
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very busy pub/restaurant. Extensive carvery as well as a la cart. Reasonable Real Ale selection. The restaurant has views to the sea, but must be booked ahead. Extensive car parking.

Thank Rob T
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good choice on the menu, and the staff were very welcoming and efficient. On a sunny day the window tables get a good view of the sea and the coast westwards in the distance. Definitely recommended.

Thank Peter M
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Peter, thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoy your visits to us. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love this place. Always have a meal here whenever we visit dawlish for our yearly holiday. Great food great staff

Thank Lindsey D
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lindsey! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoy your visits to us! We hope to see you again when you're next in the area!

Reviewed 1 week ago

I popped down for a short stay in Torquay before Christmas. Despite the cold weather, it was business as usual in the Smugglers for my two visits. Firslyt on the Tuesday lunchtime, greeted by the ever friendly staff and went for the Pork. The crackling...More

Thank JaseyB
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi! Thank you so much for your wonderful review - We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed both of your visits! We'll pass on your thanks to Jess and the rest of the staff. We hope to see you back when you're in the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Always looking for places to take the lads every month - and The Smugglers name came up. Arrangements were made with the manager, Nick, who did a great job of accommodating us. On the day, we had a great welcome - Nick and the staff...More

Thank robertbV5825LX
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Robert! Thank you so much for your wonderful review - We're so glad to hear that you all enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you all back again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for a light lunch on our way to Torquay on a Friday - very busy and seated in the bar area - Excellent soup and amazing prawn sandwiches with so much filling. Carved meat sandwich with roast potatoes and gravy was superb. Will...More

Thank robert W
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Robert! Thank you so much for your kind review - We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your sandwiches. We hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good customer service, lovely Devon cider & beer unfortunately the food let it down, could do with improvement.More

2  Thank Jason O
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jason, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the local ale and cider and the service. We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your food. Did you make the staff aware that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rang in advance to check wheelchair access, tried to book a table, told to come early instead. Arrived just before 5 and told fully booked, then offered a table provided we were out by 6.30. Followed the waved hand to find no table big enough...More

1  Thank Elaine B
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Smugglers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Elaine, Thank you for leaving a review. Friday was our big charity auction night, which is one of our most popular events of the year. Because of this, we do get incredibly busy across the whole restaurant. We are sorry we didn't have any...More

PreviousNext
123456136
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Dawlish Hotels
RCH - Bridge House
2 reviews
1.46 km away
Cliffden Hotel
261 reviews
2.36 km away
Brunswick House
15 reviews
3.16 km away
Bay Hotel
231 reviews
3.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Jack Sprat's
681 reviews
1.43 km away
Gay's Creamery
498 reviews
1.38 km away
The Strand Cafe
151 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dawlish Town Trail
55 reviews
1.48 km away
Dawlish Museum
48 reviews
1.26 km away
Marine Hotel and Tavern
11 reviews
1.33 km away
The White Hart Pub Dawlish
11 reviews
1.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bina h
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from NickStentiford | Property representative |
We are indeed. We allow dogs to our bar and outside areas just not in the restaurant. Thanks We look forward to seeing you soon
2
Votes
Kathleen A
24 April 2017|
Answer
Response from NickStentiford | Property representative |
I am sorry we dont
1
Vote
Rachael L
6 December 2016|
Answer
Response from NickStentiford | Property representative |
Hi there Only for drinks i am afraid from 12-2pm Thanks
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Teignmouth Road, Dawlish EX7 0LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dawlish
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 862301
  • E-mail
Description
The Smugglers Inn provide a full lunch and evening menu alongside our famous 'Farmers Feast Carvery' every day of the week. Situated in the beautiful town of Dawlish in Devon, you can expect to be surrounded by stunning panoramic views of the ocean and the surrounding countryside. A view that is not to be missed. We are also home to some of the best Real Ales and cider on the market including Dartmoor Legend, Teignworthy Reel and our guest pump which changes on a regular basis. We also have a full wine list and a fantastic variety of soft drinks. There is something for everyone. If you would like to book a table with us you can do so in a number of ways: - Telephone: We don't always get a chance to pick up the phone, so please leave a detailed message. We go through our answer phone messages twice daily. - Email: We respond to emails every morning. NB Please don't assume that your booking is confirmed until we have confirmed until we have actually called you back. Thank you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing