We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
+44 1643 831229
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good23%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (20 reviews)
“baguette” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb choice of food excellent service comprehensive wine cellar at affordable prices nothing is too much trouble

Thank PaulRichards2
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the Hostel across the road for several days but came to eat here. like the ambience and the food.. had several dishes throughout the days I was there but the food and service was always great. Also provided packed lunches for the hikes...More

Thank Thomas W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent food and wine and brilliant service from very attentive staff. All in a lovely dining room.

Thank Brian S
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at a local B&B and the host booked us a table at this pub/restaurant I had the venison pie and my wife the breaded scampi - both were very good. They have a good choice of beers, wines and spirits The prices were reasonable...More

Thank Mike48
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you so much, we try to offer something for everyone and to do so with a smile, so it gives us great pleasure when this is recognized. We hope we have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Reviewed 18 October 2017

We visited the White Horse yesterday evening with the intention of eating there. On arrival we were show to a table right away from the bar, the tables weren't set and it was not at all welcoming so we went and sat at another table....More

Thank Patriot12
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

We were saddened to read your review and feel that some confusion has arisen around your table booking. We offer 2 options for dining here at the Exmoor White Horse Inn, we have Fine Dining in the Restaurant or we offer tables in our Bar,...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017

We ordered the pate starter each. It was revolting so I put it in a doggy bag for my dogs at home! Then the Venison pie came but looked like a heated up frozen beef pie and the ham ploughmans and salad was full of...More

Thank Oceanlife76
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We are never "rude" in reply to genuine reviews on this site. We take all feedback very seriously and try to use all feedback to continually try to improve the service that we offer and we will be the first to apologise if we have...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Firstly I would like to say our break had been rearranged from the August bank holiday weekend to Sept 17th due to circumstances out of our control. On contacting the White Horse to explain, Emma was fantastic accepted that things happen and asked if we...More

Thank Joanne O
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you. Apologies about the cobwebs, we all know what spiders are like at this time of year! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that is what we are all here for, to ensure that all our guests...More

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Ate in the restaurant 2 nights and the bar area 1 night, food and service excellent. Good choice on the menu and a carvery on Sunday and Wednesday.

Thank AndreaT T
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you. Please return again soon

Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stopped here for the Sunday lunchtime carvery having seen it advertised in the Exmoor newspaper. The carpark was very full and we were lucky to find a space. The bar eating area was also quite busy but the carvery itself was not as by...More

Thank Lucky13s
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

We were sorry to read your comments as our traditional Sunday Carvery is very popular, far and wide! We had a function on this Sunday lunchtime, hence the car park, although we are always busy- Sunday, function or otherwise. We were disappointed to read your...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Usually stop here at least once when we're in the area as the pub serves reasonable food and good beer and has a lovely seating area by the river. Food is decent enough, baguettes for my wife and I this time but a little pricey...More

Thank Martin S
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

We try to offer our customers both quality and value for money, which we feel is reflected in our prices.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown Hotel
96 reviews
.15 km away
Withypool Tea Rooms
123 reviews
2.98 km away
The Royal Oak
168 reviews
6.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Exmoor Safari
28 reviews
.07 km away
Dunkery Beacon
149 reviews
5.06 km away
Tarr Steps
208 reviews
6.43 km away
Exmoor Barle Valley Wildlife Safari - Day Tours
68 reviews
6.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Harvey2319
1 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PeterHendrie | Property representative |
Hi, Well behaved dogs on leads are always welcome in our Bar area, we area very dog friendly establishment, both in the Bar and Hotel. For Health and Hygeine reasons we cannot allow dogs in our restaurant but for any... More
1
Vote
Robert P
3 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PeterHendrie | Property representative |
Hi, We offer an extensive Bar Food and Evening Restaurant Menu every day, with Carvery being served as an extra choice on Weds and Sunday evenings and Sunday lunchtimes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Exford
  • Phone Number: +44 1643 831229
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing