We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Half Moon

| Melplash, Bridport DT6 3UD, England
+44 1308 488321
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (25 reviews)
“fried rabbit” (3 reviews)
“profiteroles” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
British, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
| Melplash, Bridport DT6 3UD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit since the new management couple took over. A friendly, if confusing greeting (thought we were someone else!), although we noticed that they assumed people must be eating, as, rather than greeting and asking how they could help, it was "have you booked...More

3  Thank Leisah C
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The Team Sir are the owners ,Paul & Sallie Adams, If I am quirky that is because I am an Award Winning Film/TV Makeup/Hair Designer, We apologise if you did not enjoy the time in our restaurant ,maybe a visit to The Harbour @Sidmouth would...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are two couples who go out once a month for a 'Mystery meal' each couple taking it in turns to book a surprise venue, within an hour's driving time of Weymouth. We have been going out for over 6 years and we rate the...More

Thank DorsetMoose
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for your great remarks!! We hope to see you again soon Regards Sallie & Paul

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very poor amounts of food were served. It was not value for money at all. The Coq au vin was just a 4 or 5 chunks of diced chicken under a bit of pastry. A measly bit of veg next to it. and about 6...More

2  Thank crimsonave
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow Deepest Apologies After all the good reports we have had we do wish you had mentioned your complaints at the time of dining as we would have most definitely had rectified all your complaints. My biggest worry is that my waiting staff would have...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Weather had been glorious and we were looking for somewhere to have an evening meal. New Mine Hosts had only been in for a couple of weeks. Lovely friendly feel as soon as we walked in and were shown to our table. Whilst we waited...More

Thank tamsure
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Our first visit with the new owners. We were welcomed by all the staff and felt valued. Food was delicious, unhurried. Decor very tasteful and comfortable. Varied pricing but all in all the best meal we've had locally for a long time.

Thank maggie962
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Maggie962 Thankyou for your valued Remarks, We hope to see you all again soon Sallie &Paul Adams Lorddanebury

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Lovely homely country pub, owners and staff very pleasant and helpful. Beautifully decorated, terrific food, nice area to sit and relax if you just want a drink. Food super and good choices. Everybody made very welcome

Thank mamita11
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Hello Thankyou for your kind remarks We are so happy at this gorgeous 16th century pub and know that with our fantastic team And Henry our a Award winning chef We will do nothing but get better and better Kind Regards Paul & Sallie

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Good quality food from an interesting though short menu. The edge was taken off it by the prices (£60 for the two of us: one starter, two mains, plus drinks is OTT; as is £4 for a small portion of spinach). Slightly odd service. Nothing...More

1  Thank Eat-it-up-wor-Edna
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Sir I'm so sorry you did not enjoy experience with us As you were told we had a full restaurant all bookings and we managed to fit you in at a very busy time As I recall you enjoyed the amuse Bouche which was...More

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely food, lovely atmosphere. Nice and relaxed. Good selection of locally sourced food and drinks.

Thank Fourppm
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

We ate at the Half Moon three times while staying locally for a week. Each occasion was thoroughly enjoyable. Of particular note was the warm and friendly welcome from the new owners who only took the business over in mid April. So good to have...More

1  Thank BOBOK777
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Dear Bobok777 We Thankyou for your kind comments and hope to see you again very soon From all the team @The gorgeous Half Moon Melplash

Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely evening at the Half Moon, great food and very welcoming and attentive owners. Will definitely be coming again in the future.

Thank Cal162
Nearby Restaurants
Brassica Restaurant
212 reviews
3.79 km away
The New Inn
181 reviews
4.41 km away
Red Lion
116 reviews
3.76 km away
The Greyhound Inn
113 reviews
3.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mapperton House & Gardens
155 reviews
2.82 km away
Palmers Brewery
76 reviews
5.78 km away
Bridport Market
81 reviews
4.95 km away
Mangerton Mill
87 reviews
1.88 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
23 June 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Eat-it-up-wor-Edna | Reviewed this property |
Wow! What a response to my question. Publicly threatening to take legal action against a customer for their opinion (and sending it from a 'Lord' to try the make it more intimidating) is certainly a novel approach to public... More
24 August 2016|
Response from Dan C |
No. The previous couple now run The Anvil Inn and have done since April/May this year. They no longer have anything to do with The Half Moon, which has been under new management since 23rd May this year.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Melplash, Bridport DT6 3UD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 488321
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing