We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nellie Crumb

17 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LR, England
+44 1929 552524
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good24%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (32 reviews)
“clotted cream” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read the reviews about this place and thought 3.6 was harsh ..... until I got there. We stopped on our way to Weymouth - 20 odd years since we'd had a cream tea in wareham so we thought hey, why not stop on the...More

2  Thank TraceyNottag
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank for your recent review about your visit to our tearooms. Our scones are usually home made and occasionally if the baker is off we may buy them from another bakery. However, as you didn't mention that you were unhappy with them when you had...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

During a holiday in Dorset we visited this tea shop. It was very busy which was a good sign and there were a lot of people eating meals. The staff were very friendly and courteous even though they were busy. We chose Dorset Apple Cake...More

Thank 701wendy
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope that you enjoyed your holiday in Dorset and we are pleased that you were happy with the service you received when you visited us even though it sounds like we were busy at the time. Our apple...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017

I'm a regular but had never had a cream tea here before. I took my parents there and we were not disappointed! The tea came with 2 scones per person at a much lower price than I've paid for one per person in the area....More

Thank 218clares
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

What a lovely review - thank you. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your cream teas they are certainly popular with the clotted cream coming from a local farm at Osmington. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 2 September 2017

living not far from Wareham I have been to Nellie crumb often over the last 20 years and always paid cash, this time as the bill came to £33 I gave the young man at the counter my card he looked at the machine and...More

3  Thank sueA280
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

We were very sorry to see your comments. We were made aware of the situation after you had left. We do tell our younger members of staff to speak to either myself or my husband if there is a problem so that we can try...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch all the waiters and waitresses were lovely however when we came to pay we used a card and they had already said the connection in there wasn't good the card machine voided the transaction the nice young boy who served...More

2  Thank Michaela A
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

I'm glad that you enjoyed your lunch and I am sorry that there were problems either with the card or the card machine when your Mother came to pay I have replied to your Mother so you will be able to read this and hopefully...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Went for a light lunch which was very tasty and were served by a young man called Michael. ( a young man still at school) He was absolutely charming, polite, helpful and very friendly. It certainly was service with a smile. I would recommend this...More

1  Thank Anne B
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your review about your recent visit. We do have our junior staff during the holidays and at weekends and I know Michael will really appreciate your kind words as they have worked hard during the summer and it won't be long before...More

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Toys for little one to play with which was nice, half the tables had dirty plates and cups on them no nice, service was good, my omelette a little greasy. We decided to take cakes with us, I think the cakes are a little dated,...More

Thank aljones3711
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to put on a review - I am sorry that some of the tables hadn't been cleared when you arrived we have had a busy few weeks but the staff do try to keep on top of this but...More

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Wareham by boat and had just over one hour in town. Whilst walking around we found Nellie Crumb which looked clean and inviting. We were seated immediately in the only vacant table. The staff were excellent and asked if we had a...More

Thank Robert C
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review - we hope you enjoyed your boat trip and are pleased that you were served quickly even though we were busy. We do try to get every-one served promptly when the boat arrives as we know no-one wants to...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived as a party of seven and were seated immediately. We had a range of cooked food and sandwiches, all of which were tasty. The building is quaint, good service by Jessie and the price was reasonable. We didn't sample the cakes but they...More

Thank Sarahbird33
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your review - we glad that you enjoyed the food that you had with us and I know that Jessie will be pleased that you felt you were well looked after by her when you visited us recently. Hopefully next time you...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had a lovely lunch here after a long drive down on holiday. Great choice of sandwiches, paninis, toasties, hot dishes. Good service and friendly staff. We went back a few days later for a cream tea which was nice, but slightly let down by...More

Thank Jane B
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to put your review on our page - we're pleased that you enjoyed your lunch when you visited us recently. I guess every-one likes there scones served differently - we find that most people like them slightly warmed and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Italian Kitchen
314 reviews
.10 km away
The Quay Inn
413 reviews
.09 km away
The Salt Pig
440 reviews
.14 km away
The Old Granary
854 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wareham Saxon Wall Walk
49 reviews
.39 km away
Wareham Town Museum
27 reviews
.11 km away
St Martin On The Walls Church
11 reviews
.12 km away
The Creative Gallery
6 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Nellie Crumb staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 552524
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing