We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Melville Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Melville Nursery, Lasswade EH181AR, Scotland
+44 131 660 4925
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 352: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had lunch/early dinner on a Monday, surprised there wasn't a two courses for £10 or something similar. However what I had was excellent. Sharing starter of the baked cheese was lovely, plenty to share. Bread and celery with it. Really nice. I had the curry of the day and I have to say it was delicious. Really impressed with it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norma M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited with family while in Edinburgh. We rang to prebook a table for ten of us, our party ranged across ages 7 to 73 and included a couple of very fussy eaters. Service was good if a little relaxed at times but we werent in a hurry and had a lovely family meal! Food was fab with a good variety... More 

Helpful?
Thank lclisac
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time visiting the Melville, I'd definitely recommend. Staff were friendly nothing was a bother, food came out very quickly I must say and very delicious. I had the roast lamb, I believe roast dinners are only sold on Sunday as it was the Sunday menu, could have done with an extra jug of gravy but the lamb was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank blair1967
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this review

Hi blair1967, Thanks for the great review. We love hearing when our guests have had a wonderful time . Hope to see you again soon Thanks team melville More 

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit to the Melville Inn. Service so slow, only one boy seemed to be serving for a large busy restaurant. After waiting for 15 mins and still not served I went to the counter to ask for a menu. He told me the are I was sitting in was usually not used, I said there was no sign or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cloudy036
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this review

Hi cloudy036, Sorry to read that you did not have a great time with us on your visit. Our team usually have designated areas they serve and look after and our intentions are always to greet guests at the door then follow up with menus and service from there depending on their choices and needs. On occasion we do not... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took a burd here for a late dinner. Staff were very friendly and polite and the food was pretty much spot on.

Helpful?
Thank Ali S
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this review

That's for the great review Alan. Glad you enjoyed it Team melville More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Come on Melville Inn. An otherwise excellent meal spoiled by soft batter on the fish and a cold espresso. No excuse for that guys! And no compensation offered.

Helpful?
Thank John G
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this review

Hi John, Really sorry it appears you did not have a great visit with us. The batter issue I will ensure is addressed straight away with the kitchen team and the cold espresso there is no excuse for. All of the team are fully trained in rectifying errors and ensuring that guests leave happy so it's seems strange that the... More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to the Melville inn on numerous occasions and have always been impressed with there food and there service, but on a visit last weekend I was really disappointed to find it had gone right down hill the food was awful it was presented poorly and the staff didn't seem to care less. You used to get shown... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhyteLight
ashleyc1985, General Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this review

Hi whytelight , Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I can see you have said that you have visited the Melville on numerous occasions and always enjoyed and even been impressed but on this one occasion it seems we failed and for this I apologise. We were short staffed last weekend and as much as we try... More 

Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for lunch whilst on a day off with the Mrs and was slightly disappointed. Food was slow to come from the kitchen and when it did it was cold. Staff didn't seem overly concerned when it was brought to their attention,although they did get it warmed up relatively quickly. Will try it again and hopefully the next time... More 

Helpful?
Thank allang692015
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this review

Hi . I'm really disappointed to read your review about your recent visit with us. It is not up to our usual high standards at all. I am glad you will give us another chance and I am sure we can redeem ourselves Thanks Team melville More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Once again another great night,the staff are all on the ball and friendly, our meal was very good. Starters was the duo pate very tasty, for our main the birthday girl chose the Moroccan lamb, only thing wrong was a bit too much fat, I had the duck super, lovely, (both from the special menu). We both certainly recommend the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bigwull9010
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this review

Hi wullie , Thanks for the great review . We are glad you had such a good time with us but more importantly your wife had a wonderful birthday. Hope to see you both again soon. Thanks Team melville More 

Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Darren always looks after us so well, he's charming and an asset to the Melville inn. Food is always well presented and cooked and I always enjoy their steaks.

Helpful?
1 Thank General Manager A
ashleyc1985, General Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I will be sure Darren see's it and gets the recognition he deserves :-) More 

Travellers who viewed The Melville Inn also viewed

Lasswade, Midlothian
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
Lasswade, Midlothian
 
Lasswade, Midlothian
Danderhall, Midlothian
 

Been to The Melville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Melville Nursery, Lasswade EH181AR, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Midlothian  >  Lasswade
  • Phone Number: +44 131 660 4925
Description
The Melville Inn in Lasswade is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Melville Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Melville Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?