We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dobbies Garden World

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Melville Gate, Lasswade, Scotland
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 354: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely coffee. And lovely, but very overpriced cakes. Food lukewarm at best. Had to even take chips back. Nothing worse that cold cheap frozen chips!! Good for a nice sandwich. But food leaves a lot to b desired. Pensioners get cheap lunch/ dinner deals. So gets quite busy late afternoon. Breakfast pretty decent though for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
Dobbiescc, Customer Care at Dobbies Garden World, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read about your visit. That is certainly not the standard we look to achieve with the food we have on offer. Please feel free to highlight the problems to the Store team on your next visit, they will be more that happy to look into this and avoid it happening... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love going for afternoon tea here. It is such good value but you do have to book at least the day before as they don't take walk-ins. They also do a nice pannini to order but it is always extremely busy here so finding a seat can be difficult.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
Musselburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea, fantastic value, my grandson was delighted with his own cake stand of treats, and they gave him a cake box to take home what he couldn't eat. We were served by a very friendly young girl, so helpful, excellent customer service, all credit to her

Helpful?
Thank Conways70
Dobbiescc, Customer Care at Dobbies Garden World, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your message. I am pleased to hear that you had a lovely afternoon tea at Dobbies and that you had an excellent customer experience. With kind regards, Karen Customer Service Advisor More 

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Butterfly Farm was part of the Dobbies Garden Centre complex. We visited it on Sunday 5 March 2017, with our grandchildren. It was a wonderful experience and of particular note were the young female helpers/ experts who were extremely knowledgable and friendly. The butterflies, Terrapins , reptiles and other insects were easily accessible with the help from the experienced... More 

Helpful?
Thank campbellfife
Dobbiescc, Customer Care at Dobbies Garden World, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience when you recently visited the Butterfly Farm at our Edinburgh store and that the helpers/experts were very knowledgeable. With kind regards, Julie Customer Service Advisor More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every time I visit the garden centre here I cannot leave until I have had one of their delicious Cherry and Coconut scones. Love them with some strawberry jam - heavenly. A nice cup of coffee to wash it down and at a reasonable price. Hard to find a free table as it was so busy but fortunately some one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nocera1
Dobbiescc, Customer Care at Dobbies Garden World, responded to this review

Hi, We are delighted to hear that you really enjoy the cherry and coconut scones when you visit our restaurant. Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. With kind regards, Julie Customer Service Advisor More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Recently attended Dobbies for a nice Sunday lunch with the family and although it was busy we got a table no bother and the staff where great even though they where working at full pelt. Great price for how much we ate will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
Dobbiescc, Customer Care at Dobbies Garden World, responded to this review

Hi, We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely Sunday lunch when you recently visited our restaurant. Feedback is very important to us and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. With kind regards, Julie Customer Service Advisor More 

Fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017

We booked in for High Tea yesterday at 1.30. We were a large party Two great grannies, two grannies, my two daughters and my grandaughter aged 2. Within minutes of arriving a member of staff came to take my grandaughter's order, then ours. We were astounded when Rowan then received her very own 3 tier cakestand- her eyes about popped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dot F
Dobbiescc, Customer Care at Dobbies Garden World, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time when you recently visited our restaurant for afternoon tea and had a great day out doing some retail therapy! Regards, Julie Customer Service Advisor More 

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

It was our monthly visit to hubby's cousin in Prestonpans and we always go out for lunch. We thought we would try somewhere different so decided on Dobbies Garden World in Lasswade. It was very busy and noisy being mid term school holidays in Scotland,, however, we duly joined the queue and were served quicker than we thought we would... More 

Helpful?
Thank harvess
Dobbiescc, Customer Care at Dobbies Garden World, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. Feedback is very important to us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch at our restaurant and the wonderful selection of cakes we had available at your visit. It was good to hear that you were also served quickly. Regards, Julie Customer Service Advisor More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Took 2 grandchildren who enjoyed the selection for children's lunch box. They are small enough not to clock the chocolate bars. Glad we went early as got very busy (half term). Staff very helpful. Good toilets. Only downsides - took ages to toast my panini and play area had a lot of litter.

Helpful?
Thank Lorna P
Dobbiescc, Customer Care at Dobbies Garden World, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is very important to us. With kind regards, Julie Customer Care More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
952 reviews
577 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Dropped in on a busy end of Jan Saturday & the place had been hammered. No crockery, trays etc left but staff were coping well. Food is always average. Cakes look synthetic but it's a popular place. Had a tomato soup & fizzy water for just under £6, not cheap for a cafe. Could be better but big enough portions.

Helpful?
Thank McAnnie1

Travellers who viewed Dobbies Garden World also viewed

Lasswade, Midlothian
Lasswade, Midlothian
 
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to Dobbies Garden World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Melville Gate, Lasswade, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Midlothian  >  Lasswade

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dobbies Garden World staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?