We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lime Kiln

Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
+44 1506 410661
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good19%
  • Average14%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“play area” (11 reviews)
“food was lovely” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

In with friends for lunch was a fab meal. Ashley was very patient at the bar with us. Good atmosphere for catching up. Chloe was great checking on us and getting us more sauce. Both ladies are a credit to ur establishment

Thank housefreesoon1togo
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi thank you for you great review we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I will be sure to let the ladies know how pleased you were with their service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time visit and we will not be hurrying back. The food was poor with what appeared to be cooked frozen chicken for the roast dinner. The haggis was hard round the edge and the mashed tatties had a definite skin on the top. Bar...More

Thank Colin W
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Colin thank you for your feedback. we are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal and the bar service was slow. If you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here on spur of the moment and wished we hadn't. Food was bland and tasteless. Service was okay though. Stars are for service and definitely not for the food. Such a shame because this used to be a lovely place to eat

Thank lynne m
LimeKilnHungryHorse, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi we are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal .it would be interesting to know which you had as our menu is so big . We will always pass feedback to our catering team for their consideration

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

3 mains arrived - chips were served with gammon steak, despite specific request for no chips; request for mushy peas with scampi was ignored. Gammon steak was raw in the middle at the thicker end which we told the waitress about. She looked panicked when...More

Thank Fiona S
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Fiona I'm sorry you had a bad experience on you recent visit with us. If you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

food was served quick;ly and was ok nothing to make me want to return. Staff were very friendly though and there was a small play area for children, so if you're looking for basic food for you and the kids, it's probably worth a visit....More

Thank lynnmacmum
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lynn I'm sorry you feel that your time with us left you feel like it's not worth a return visit. If you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us directly. Thank you

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for quick bite to eat. Food and service good. Prices very reasonable. .We did visit at a fairly quiet time but have been on busier occasions and never had a problem.

Thank Dianne Watson
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dianne thank you for you great review we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm sorry but this was absolutely the worst experience we have had at this eatery, the table was dirty, we ordered a sharer starter it had items which should have been battered chillies but they were like buttons hard and tastles, my wife and daughter...More

Thank Gavin J
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gavin I'm sorry you were unhappy with your visit with is, if you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awful food. How can they serve burnt scampi from a freezer? How did my daughter's fish and chips look like they had fallen into a washing up bowl of water? Indifferent staff and service. Even McDonald's must be better than this!!!!

Thank slaterhats
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi I'm sorry you were unhappy with your recent visit with us, if you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Lime Kiln tonight & was my first time & to say I wasn't disappointed is an understatement. My partner had already been before & raved about it....he wasn't wrong. Excellent service, excellent food & excellent value for money. The staff were all...More

Thank angelamckenna
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Angela first off I'd like to say thank you for your wonderful review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and welcome to the Lime Kiln 😁 I will be let Laura and Ashley know you were happy with your first visit...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a meal with my family on Friday 22nd September. Service was excellent, food was lovely, very large portions, would defiantly return. Enjoyed ourselves.

Thank Scott W
LimeKilnHungryHorse, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Scott thank you for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Terrace Restaurant
266 reviews
.31 km away
Hot Flame
943 reviews
.23 km away
Tony Macaroni - Livingston
1,120 reviews
.32 km away
ASK Italian - Livingston
229 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Livingston Designer Outlet
362 reviews
.23 km away
Tony Macaroni Arena
17 reviews
.38 km away
Howden Park Centre
17 reviews
.93 km away
Escape Livingston
78 reviews
.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrina106
16 December 2016|
Answer
Response from LimeKilnHungryHorse | Property representative |
Thank you for clarifying this for me I will now be able to speak with staff concerned and ensure that they realise the importance of bringing meals out together if they are on the sane check There is no excuse for this not... More
0
Votes
Vodkaswillin
17 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from LimeKilnHungryHorse | Property representative |
hi yes we are wheelchair friendly , we do have many tables on a lower level and a disabled bathroom
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston EH54 6QT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: +44 1506 410661
  • E-mail
Description
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £8.99 Mon-Fri .Curry club on a Wednesday, free starter or sundae on a Thursday, Kids eat from a £1 on Mondays and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables . We look forward to seeing you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing