We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clwyd Gate

$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
A494 Ruthin Rd | Llanbedr DC, Ruthin LL15 1YF, Wales
+44 1824 703532
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 105: English reviews
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked this for mum s birthday as a treat. We thought £13 a head should produce a decent Sunday lunch. Meal wasn't very hot, Yorkshire s and stuffing were overdone , some of us had new potatoes and the unlucky ones didn't! Manager never spoke or smiled while we were there and the waitresses were either inexperienced or just incompetent!... More 

Thank MoldAjb
Gronant, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had been to the Clwyd Gate on a previous occasion so when thinking about where to eat Sunday lunch for my birthday I decided to return to the Clwyd Gate. When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely front of house staff who took our drinks order and showed us to our table with the menus to peruse... More 

Thank sammigee75
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went again to the Clwyd Gate, with a group of friends. The free bottle of wine just to be dressed up was a brilliant idea. Food was good very tasty and good value for money. Service was excellent all staff polite and courteous. Certain members go over and above to ensure a good time is had by all.

Thank mandyl451
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Great value lunch menu with stunning sights across the valley. Pleasant dining area with friendly and efficient service. Great portions you will not leave here hungry! We had starters and maind- didn't try desserts but they looked good. Well worth a visit for lunch and there is a walk over the valley just opposite if you want to work off... More 

Thank Rosemary M
Steve J, Owner at Clwyd Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and it was good to see you both again so soon afterwards More 

North Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

Decided to support local for a Saturday early evening meal. Arrived and was given a table by the window. Whilst we were about to order drinks by bar before being seated the waitress stated she would be with us to seat us as she was seeing to other customers. Then I take it a man appeared in casual dirty clothing.... More 

1 Thank welshy70
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Having eaten here twice for Sunday lunch, one evening meal and a 40th party I didn't hesitate to accept my invitation to lunch!! I can't eat gluten which has never been an issue before today!!! But today it was a very big issue. I suspect they don't have an allergens book which legislation states they should have. After several trips... More 

4 Thank Ceri K
Steve J, Manager at Clwyd Gate, responded to this review

How unfortunate that you chose to vent your anger at a member of staff by shouting at her before you left the premises, having been rude not once but twice to that same person who had gone that extra mile to try and please you. Although we do not specialise in catering for people with allergens, we will always do... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We called in at lunchtime for a snack as we'd been walking with the hound in the area. The weather was mixed and we were prepared to sit outside with mutt; but as it was quiet, and we were in a corner, Steve the friendly proprietor allowed our (well behaved) companion to sit under the table whilst we consumed our... More 

1 Thank Patrick K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016

Lovely views from car park etc, arrived for a Sunday lunch. Tables are in two rows the ones nearest the Windows must be for special guests! We arrived and waitress was showing us to the window seats but then stopped by the manager so we then had an inside table, still lovely views, after say 15 mins another three guests... More 

1 Thank kazWales
Steve J, Manager at Clwyd Gate, responded to this review

I find this review quite strange, no complaints about the food apart from the vegetables not been to your liking. You called in without booking on a very busy Sunday, but we still managed to accommodate you. The people that got allocated the window table had gone to the trouble of picking up the phone and booking in advance. But... More 

Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016

The food was simple but delicious! I had a mackerel pate for starter and fan fried bream for main, my partner enjoyed mussels in white wine, I tried and loved it! The pate was amazing, peppery, served with bread, home made mayonnaise and a splash of sweet vinegar. All beautifully served on a slate plate (Welsh style). The service is... More 

1 Thank Lidia_Michal
Steve J, Owner at Clwyd Gate, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive feedback, hopefully you will return soon More 

Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

Took my father there for Sunday lunch couple of days ago as a birthday treat for him. The location and views both lovely, but same cannot be said for the food, unfortunately. The quality of our meals were very poor, seems that the food bought in by the kitchen manager is of poor standard, whilst charging not so cheap prices... More 

Thank gjones192
Steve J, Manager at Clwyd Gate, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch with us, it's just a shame that you didn't pass on your concerns at the time, because I'm sure a member of staff would have checked to make sure everything was to your satisfaction. Would also like to confirm that all foods are freshly produced on the premises, and nothing is out of a... More 

Travellers who viewed Clwyd Gate also viewed

Ruthin, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire

Been to Clwyd Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$34
British, Welsh, International, European
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A494 Ruthin Rd | Llanbedr DC, Ruthin LL15 1YF, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Denbighshire  >  Ruthin
  • Phone Number: +44 1824 703532
Our restaurant was opened by the new owner in mid September 2015 with an exciting head chef, fantastic team both front of house and in the kitchen. We are offering both lunch and dinner meals and traditional Sunday roasts as well as specials. Come join us for food or just a drink in our lounge area and see what delights we have to offer.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clwyd Gate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?